We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Finnish Food Experience !”
Review of Ravintola Kuu

Ravintola Kuu
Ranked #6 of 1,485 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$45
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Taka-Töölö
Istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Finnish Food Experience !”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The first time in Finland and the first spot we've been. We have taken the set lunch menu and everything is so delicious with warmth of the waitresses as well...

Helpful?
Thank BilgenTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    183
    34
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good food at a decent price”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had the Kuu menu with smoked salmon soup, reindeer fillet, cheese and cheescake dessert. The salmon soup and reindeer were both very good! Highly recommended! The wine prices were also decent at approximately 2x retail price. The finnish cheese was tasteless and warm/sweaty - not impressing. The decomposed cheese cake was very nice, but not spectacular. You would expect a place which serves such good food to have a nicer interior. All in all a very good meal. I will definitively come back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hobiewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Terrific Finnish cuisine in a neighborhood gem”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

One of the best meals we've had on our month-log Scandinavian adventure. Loved the easy and casual ambiance of Ravintola Kuu, and would love to have a place like this in my neighborhood back in Chicago! The salmon soup starter was outstanding, and my husband enjoyed a divine reindeer steak main course, while I delighted in the Arctic char. Our friend tried the flank steak, which was perfect. Pleasant and friendly service and easy street parking. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneLRooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good honest Finnish food but poor ambiance.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Recommended by our hotel, we visited Kuu. The exterior and interior are very basic and dated, but the food was really good. Especially the salmon soup and the rendeer steak were excellent. The service was ok.
For a good Finnish meal this is a fine restaurant. Not for an full evening out as the ambiance is too old and not real entertaining.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Finnish cuisine”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Located behind Crowne Plaza hotel Helsinki. Must try the salmon soup for starter and reindeer as main course.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hui88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ravintola Kuu also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Ravintola Kuu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing