We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Upplands-Vasby, Sweden
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I can really recommend this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights, had a De Luxe room with excellent view of the Market square and the harbour. The beds are so comfortable, the bathrooms luxurious and all is very good. The only thing and that is what stopping me from giving the highest grade is that when we returned after a long day out at around 4PM wanting to take a shower and dress for dinner our room wasn't cleaned! So we had to find the maid and ask her to clean our room while we went out on town again for a while. You do expect your room to be cleaned sooner than that.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emtes54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    275
    52
    9
    9
See reviews for
113
399
75
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Haven with my wife over an extremely cold Helsinki weekend and are happy with our stay. The decoration of the rooms is the first positive thing that comes to mind, modern and elegant in a warm way, as we like it. Bathrooms spacey and pleasant, all the modern amenities there, breakfast OK, although not exceptional, taken in a restaurant that you reached after crossing a small courtyard. Staff was very friendly and professional, helped us with tips about Helsinki. They also charged us 100 Euros for smoking in our room, however we can't fault them on that as we had been warned first and we were repeat offenders. Only real minus was that we didn't have a view from our room. There are a couple of restaurants adjacent to the hotel, I visited the less formal one and enjoyed it very much, would definitely recommend it for fine Finnish cuisine. Helsinki was great, alhough we visited at the wrong time of year: very, very, VERY cold for two Greeks like us. We imagine that in the summer it must be much more pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeripateticJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Haven Hotel in Helsinki has a fantastic location right by the waterfront and the park as well as shopping are a very short walk away.
The staff are very friendly and the facilities are well-provided.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IskandarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Had a really nice experience on recent trip to finland. Stayed at the hotel haven, a really modern near new hotel well located near main street, shopping and cafes. Haven has good check in staff. Very modern rooms. Great tv with mp3 input. Sumptuous beds,and really nice modern decor. Really good sized ensuites, with heated floor. Nice touch. Breakfast was one f best I've experienced. Nice restaurant with atrium roof attentive wait staff with experience.I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geecee2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed 2 nights here mid June. We booked a Lux suite. Be aware that there are two kinds of Lux apparently, One, which is the one we thought we had booked, has a view of the harbour and is the one they have on there tour on the hotel website. The other kind has a view of the street on the other side of the hotel, this is the one we were initially shown too. Now the amazing thing is the room with the street view is huge while the other is a fair bit smaller. So be aware, if you want space, go for the street view. We wanted a view of the harbour though so they were more than happy to change the room for us.

Room great, comfy bed, and though the smaller of the two types - still its big! Plenty of room enough to spread out, TV in the bathroom (though ours was a bit finiky), coffee maker, big sofa table chairs, nice thick curtains - to block out thay pesky midnight sun, really good room overall and what you expect from one of the best boutique hotels in Helsinki.

The reception staff were impeccable, very friendly, very helpful they seemed to go out of their way to help. Big Tick.

The breakfast which is included is down in one of the hotels restaurants/courtyard called Havis. Good food and selection, staff though seemed a little grumpy.

Though it was Summer there are not too many dining options in the immediate vicinity open after 10pm mid week (we were there on a Thursday and Friday). The start of the true centre if you like of Helsinki is about 8-10 minutes walk away heading toward the main station, there were fast food and some places that were open later in that area. Unfortunately the first night we were unaware of this so had room service and must have been the most expensive hamburger I have ever eaten. From memeory it alone was Euro 22 (had chips and salad as well), but there was also a Euro 10 room service charge as well!!! Oh well, it was tasty!

The hotel have bikes which the guests can take for free as well. just a couple of minutes away is the harbour market which is fantastic fun to explore - it was there on Friday and Saturday not sure what other days it operates. Onthe Thursday night they had a classic car expo in the same spot, good fun as well.

One thing I will mention about Helsinki is the Suomenlinna Fortress - I can recommend a visit to this place, it is much bigger han you expect,, budget a few hours. The ferry landing is just a minute or two from the hotel at the same place as the market and the ferrys go every 20 minutes or so right through the day and night.

Overall really enjoyed hotel haven, nice comfy spot of luxury and recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mapeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Absolutely perfect accommodations near the heart of Helsinki's attractions. Rooms were large and well appointed, the bar area and restaurant are fantastic. Do your own homework on restaurants in the area, however, the front desk's recommendations were uninspired and a bit too touristy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

This is a lovely hotel right near off the harbor, and near the Esplanadi, Helsinki's chicest shopping street. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated, and in top notch shape. The breakfast spread was certainly plentiful, although the attached restaurant hosting the buffet seemed somewhat overwhelmed at times. We wish the thoughtless front desk person on a Tuesday evening had seen fit to get herself off the phone to give us directions to a restaurant. We were also somewhat annoyed that our windows didn't open and the a/c was inadequate for the uncharacteristically hot/humid weather in Helsinki. The price relative to value is fair, considering the fact hat Helsinki is a pretty expensive city.

Room Tip: Try the attached restaurant, Sundmans Krog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olliedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing