We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy Modern Finnish Architecture at the Core of Helsinki”
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Seal Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Enjoy Modern Finnish Architecture at the Core of Helsinki”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Fantastic modern hotel in great location. Unusual layout of room with opaque glass wall for the bathroom. Bathroom done in shiny brown materials which give it a rich feel.

Even though it was on a busy street near the center of the city, we don't remember traffic noise. Major shopping area and the promenade, complete with a rock band, are a couple of minutes walk.

Can't imagine any better.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    297
    57
    10
    11
See reviews for
122
437
81
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Love this cosy, elegant hotel. Excellent staff and great breakfast. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here for an overnight between flights. Exterior of the hotel leads to some concern re what this hotel is really like, and lobby doesn't inspire much more confidence. But all of this gets swept aside by the very helpful staff and very nice rooms.

The rooms were very nicely done and very clean, with nice touches like proper towel hooks and good showerheads. Aesthetically the rooms were very contemporary and pleasing, and the beds were proper king size beds. The bathrooms were quite nice, with heated floors, and good lighting- very modern. Iron and ironing board in the closet were very helpful, and the internet is free. The room a friend of mine was in had a broken knob on the closet door with some scratches to the door panel, so management might be advised to pay close attention to maintaining the quality consistency and quality control over the rooms.

The breakfast is quite good and generous by northern European standards, with very good and properly strong coffee (though it was difficult getting the breakfast staff's attention for coffee refills- they always seemed pre-occupied with something or the other).

Location of this hotel is very central, with most sites and areas of interest within walking distance (and within very close walking distance to the ferries that depart to Stockholm, Estonia etc).

Crowd staying at the hotel was a very good mix of nationalities. Rate I paid was 139 euros inclusive of tax and breakfast, which was very good value for the quality of room, breakfast and location. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrekker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I spend two or three days choosing the hotel in Helsinki: reading reviews and talking to friends. I’m happy I’ve trusted all reviews and filially booked this hotel. First of all – it’s location is much more than perfect. Convenient for every kind of visit: it’s nice 10 minutes walk along the boulevard to shops and restaurants or 1 minute to enjoy refreshing see air and ship sites. I guess most travelers spend no more than 2 ore 3 days in the city so nice walk around will help you to save time and discover town.
The hotel itself is luxury and cozy – I like it! Rooms were really spacious for European standards. We booked 2 rooms: Style Roome for a couple and Lux room for a couple with a child. They we worth its rate. So we enjoyed space for everyone.
When we arrived rooms were not ready but stuff were very friendly and helpful , so we were offered a kind of discount at the check-out.
We visited Hotel fish restaurant – its very cozy and staff is very friendly. I should note that I was unexpectedly impressed by restaurants in Helsinki. Food was delicious in every restaurant we visited. Fresh and tasty.
We were in Helsinki in may, so it was a still cold there – but Hotel Haven made us to feel warmer.

Room Tip: Slite room is very convinient for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

On my semi-annual visit to Helsinki, I returned to the Hotel Haven for a second stay. It was as good an experience as the first time: Excellent service (mostly, save for an inept clerk at check-in), the location, right on the waterfront – even though you enter from another vantage point – is absolutely sublime, winter or summer, and the rooms are designed for comfort. Great beds, linens, bathrooms, closets with all necessities and a well-stocked (save for the omission of diet soft drinks) though absurdly overpriced mini-bar.

I’ll also write about restaurant experiences in separate posts, but did want to say that, having stayed at the so-called ultra-luxe Hotel Kamp and its more contemporary sibling the Glo Hotel, Hotel Haven, the city’s newest top-rated lodging, is frankly superior (haven’t yet tried the Klaus K, a design property that intrigues; maybe next time).

At the same time, it’s important to stress that Helsinki is still a bit provincial in terms of hospitality, so five stars here is not quite the same as, say, Venice’s Danieli or Paris’ Crillon. But the Haven is the best of the best here and I’d happily return.

Pros: Location, design, comfort. I didn’t have time to take one of the Veuve Cliquot-branded bicycles for a spin, but would have loved to! There’s a pair of them and they are free to use.

Pro and con: Service was inconsistent. Check-in was appalling and rude and a request for restaurant recommendations later was met with un-informed suggestions (I’m pretty familiar with Helsinki restaurants and was hoping to learn something new; fortunately I did my own research in the end). Otherwise, the reception/concierge staff was lovely.

Cons: On my visit Havis, a wildly expensive fish restaurant that in the mornings handles buffet breakfast duties for Haven guests, was significantly overwhelmed. Hotel Haven cannot claim to be a five star hotel with this kind of breakfast service.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We really like this place

Friendly stuff, Parking available, good rooms

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demidov48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here 1 night with some friends. The room was a very good size and easily accomodated us and our 11 year old. We found it very quiet, with a comfortable bed. Centrally located not far from market place etc.
The staff were very helpful especially at breakfast in the morning when we need to take a few things for one of our party as they needed to leave earlier and had no time for breakfast.
The one bad thing was NO SAUNA! Very odd

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tams_tours_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 65 in Helsinki
1,346 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
446 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel F6
#1 of 65 in Helsinki
391 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 65 in Helsinki
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing