We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place.”
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

If being a “regular” tourist in Helsinki means you visit once a year (or more), I hope I qualify. I have stayed at the Hotel Kamp, the Glo (downtown, not at the airport or in Espoo), and the Hotel Haven (and am intrigued to some extent by both the Klaus K and the Fabian but haven’t tried ‘em yet). However, on my third visit in probably four years to the Haven, I can’t think of any reason to stay anywhere else in the city. It’s a marvelous hotel. No question: The Kamp is better-known. Still, I will say that, just the other day, as I was sauntering down the Esplanade, past that hotel’s entrance, a guest was irritatingly humping his own luggage a half block to the main drag to get a taxi. I don’t know, it didn’t seem like that storied property was keeping to standards.

Regardless, the Haven has a more enviable location (one side faces Helsinki's gorgeous harbor, the other some other office buildings). It has bikes to borrow, it's an easy walk to anything you want to see in Helsinki (though the gorgeous marketplace, as of July 2013, is shut-down for a major refurbishment), is close to restaurants, tourist-stuff and is a quick taxi to the train station.

At Hotel Haven, where if you’re lucky the smaller rooms (at least in my experience, and from poking around when housekeeping is cleaning) look out onto the harborfront, there’s no better view in the city. Weirdly the larger rooms I’ve seen, and I’ve only stayed in smaller ones, are on the street-front side which has a lesser view though they are lovely. On the smaller side, aim for the upper-most floors, (anything below five means you see nothing, and I’d suggest going for six – eight). There are only a handful of rooms on each floor (again, five and above) that look out over the harbor so if that matters, specify. If you’re not sure, invest in an upgrade.

What I like about the Haven beside its location on the waterfront? Great welcome, terrific service, pretty rooms with a minimalist cottage-style ambiance (as opposed to the heavy mahogany feel you get with old school luxe). Superb electronics (Bose TV, phone, though no iPhone charger), good and reasonably priced mini-bar (where are the diet drinks, though?), gorgeous bathrooms (with full-size tubs on request) with Steiner accouterments. The included buffet breakfast is both Nordic and American (you can order dishes a’la carte but there’s not much need). Internet is free (which for a deluxe property deserves acclaim). The beds are perfectly firm (great night's sleep).

The hotel is within walking distance of all the top restaurants (ironically, many of these are also part of the same parent company – I was a little bit…disturbed…when the concierge recommend Sasso, owned by the Haven folks, over Gastone, which isn’t, but okay, consider yourself warned. Do a little bit of homework.) I did love the Sundman’s Krog, which is part of this group, but which feels Finnish in the best possible bistro way.

Why then does Haven net a four star rather than five star rating on TripAdvisor? I love this place, and will be back, but there are minor details missing. Towels are occasionally threadbare (which doesn’t matter in a 2-star place but does matter w/ a luxury hotel). The rug had a lot of spots on it and while I didn’t feel in any way that the room wasn’t cleaned properly, spots, in any quantity, don’t belong on a luxury hotel rug ☺ And one more thing: In my room the closet door leading to the minibar was warped and wouldn’t close (which meant that the light inside wouldn’t go out); I figured out how to slam it shut but…still. Sloppy housekeeping.

Does any of this matter to me in the end? Absolutely not. I’ll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

The hotel is clean and spacious. Front desk staff exceptionally friendly and helpful with luggage, taxis and local sites. Rooms are spacious and well appointed - an adjoining two room suite was plenty of space for 2 adults & 4 teenagers. The larger room had a small seating area in front of the tv and a small dining suite. Complimentary bottled water; use of slippers and terry robes. Lovely toiletries. Linens were lovely and comfortable. Optional turndown service. Curtains were heavy and blocked out the light of the long Finnish days. Some towels a little threadbare. Breakfast in the courtyard was charming. Very good selection, quality and variety - cheeses, meats, salmon, herring, scrambled eggs, bacon, porridge, fresh yoghurt, fruits, breads. Optional made-to-order menu. Central location - a one minute walk to the Esplanade and the waterfront. Hotel held the luggage for the afternoon. Quiet and comfortable place to play chess in the lounge while waiting for transport.

Room Tip: Our rooms had views of the street....ask for harbour front view!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afh-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Last weekend we visited Finland for the first time and we got a reservation in the Haven Hotel. And after my experience I understand that they got the Travellers Choice Award 2013. It couldn't be better located, very central, near to the daily fresh market in the harbour. The rooms are large and modern, including sofas and desks, the bathroom is also quite nice and proper clean. For breakfast we enjoyed their tasty buffet in the terrace that you can see in the picture, a really lovely place. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the price is very reasonable compared to similar hotels of its quality across Europe. They also have free Wi-Fi. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Better the ones from 6th floor if you want to have a great view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 05Abril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was my first trip to Helsinki and I was traveling by train from Moscow. Hotel was close to the Train station I arrived at and was able to walk to the hotel. I arrived at the hotel 4 hours early and they were still preparing my room. In the meantime the front desk held my luggage while I went for a walk around the neighborhood. The hotel location is in a wonderful area near the daily fresh market and a park area. The market was full of fresh fruit and fresh fish, which is cooked for you on the spot. The hotel rooms are large for European standard and very modern. The hotel price I received included breakfast which was a nice buffet with cereals, yogurt, fruit, and hot foods as well. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with giving advice of places to go and things to see. I highly recommend this hotel. (I took this trip July 2011)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uniqueluxtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

After having lived in Helsinki for a year nearly 10 years ago, I can say that Hotel Haven is a truly fantastic addition to the available hotels in the city. It couldn't be better located, the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful and the rooms are nearly perfect. We also really enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the hotel lounge was the perfect place to have an evening drink or take a break in between outings. I highly recommend Hotel Haven - the price is very reasonable compared to similar hotels of its quality across Europe--and it's one of the nicest places to stay in a city with many good options.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpmUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear jpmUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are very pleased that a local found his stay with us as if he was staying at home. That’s simply makes our Your home, Your place a success.

We also have excellent summer promotions not to mention our Trip advisor offer to get a free upgrade when you book with us directly via phone or email.

We look forward to welcome you again to Hotel Haven.

Best regards,
Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

You can walk to all Helsinki main atractions, the best location in the city. The best staff I found, really helpful. Very good breakfast. Free internet signal. Great restaurants and a small market near by. A comfortable, silent and clean room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrazilTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear BrazilTourist,

Thank you for writing this review.

Our central location offer an exceptional way to visit all of Helsinki. It is great to read that you enjoyed your visit and that our colleagues were able to leave an impression. We do offer free Wi-Fi covering all the hotel as you mention.

And since you mentioned the main attractions, we are a 5 minutes walking distance to the famous Helsinki cathedral and 2 minutes to the market square and the ferry to the beautiful fortress of Suomenlinna.

We hope to welcome you again in the future to Hotel Haven.

Best regards,
Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Hotel Haven is an excellent hotel. The friendliest and most accommodating staff. Checked us in hours before check in time. The rooms are beautiful, large and comfortable. The bar/lounge are classy and comfortable and the light meals served there delicious. But the best of all were the fabulous wine paired four course designer meal at the Havis restaurant. Beautifully presented and an absolute must. We enjoyed every course and of course the well chosen wines. Great breakfast too. Hotel Haven was our Helsinki best.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 66 in Helsinki
1,408 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,174 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel F6
#1 of 66 in Helsinki
454 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £155 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing