We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Haven is perfectly located on the harbour and a short stroll to Senate Square, Esplanade Park and the shopping district. Close to trams, ferries and the picturesque waterfront.

Rooms are well appointed, spacious and clean with a massive bathroom, lounge, Nespresso machine (a nice touch) and the usual hotel inclusions.

A small but functional gym is nice.

Breakfast buffet is very comprehensive but get there early as it can get busy fast. Room service was also good and delivered without delay - great burger and fries. Some have mentioned the prices but they are par for the course for a hotel of this standard.

Staff are friendly, attentive and helpful with good local knowledge.

I'd stay at Hotel Haven again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseRoodaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear NurseRoodaal,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a safe trip back home. Hope the cold from Helsinki is a good memory during the hot Australian summer. We surely have a cold winter going on here. We take great pride in all the notes you mentioned and we hope to keep this excellent standard.

Our colleagues have excellent knowledge of the city as you mentioned and proudly amazing language skills. Helsinki has surely lots to offer and is changing constantly with lots of design stores and café openings and new shopping districts rising.

We hope you have the chance to visit us again at Hotel Haven.

Best regards,

Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    275
    52
    9
    9
See reviews for
113
399
75
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Haven for one night on a business trip. Very comfortable, friendly staff, nice bar, great location and good breakfast. Would highly recommend. I was a shame that I was on a short business trip as I would have liked to stay longer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colombus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Colombus72,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Haven.

We are pleased that even during your short business stay with us you had the chance to enjoy our concept of home away from home. We would be glad to welcome you again to our Hotel for business or pleasure and hopefully for a longer stay.

Best regards,

Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Had a city break in this hotel and enjoyed very much. Nice room (was upgraded to Style category), spacious (for European), clean. Tasty breakfast and nice service. The only thing missing was a bath tub (forgot to ask for one).

Will go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jutta77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the very center of the city, perfect location! The staff was super friendly, you could say that is normal, but sadly this is not everywhere the case. The hotel is decorated in a very stylish way.
Ons minor, really minor negatieve point is that you need to go outsider (10 meters) for breakfast, that is not really important, except when it is freezing 18 degrees Celsius below zero...

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brulav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Brulav,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us . The location of our restaurant can be accessed from inside as well as the outside.
We hope in the future to be able to welcome you again to our home in Helsinki.

Best regards,

Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our family discovered the hotel last year and enjoyed the service and the rooms during our 2 stays. The hotel is located in the harbor near the Market square (Kauppatori) and has 3 good restaurants, Bang&Olufsen TV, rooms and public areas are examples of good contemporary design. We do not like the prices they offer for family rooms and opt for competitors when the price difference is over 50 euro/night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreySt_Pete15-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after a trip to Lapland. We didn't have a good experience with our accommodation in Lapland and was starting to regret our time in Finland but staying here turned our view of Finland into a very positive one. The staff were excellent and very helpful. They recommended and booked us some really great places to dine along with places to sightsee.
The breakfast buffet is very good quality, again the service was excellent. The bar has a really good atmosphere and they make great cocktails. My only criticism is the cost of the cocktails and cost of room service. Apart from that I couldn't fault the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Em-trepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Em-trepid,

Thank you for writing your review of Hotel Haven.

We hope you have enjoyed exotic Finland and it was a good overall experience. We are glad to know that our staff managed to change your trip into a successful one and that you visited the best spots Helsinki has to offer!

We have forwarded your review to the selected department regarding your bar experience.

We look forward to welcome you to Hotel Haven again.

Best regards,

Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Boutique hotel in Market Square - walking distance to all the major sites, great restaurants and all the ferries (essential for day trips). Hotel has a nice bar and a couple of charming reading rooms with comfortable chairs. The buffet breakfast in the morning it well done. The scrambled eggs are actually eggs, not the powdered variety. The front desk is very helpful setting up dinner reservations and trips.

The gym is small (only one of a each treadmill, bike, rowing machine and elliptical). Helsinki is a good walking city so shouldn't be a big problem for any guest.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanghaimarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear shanghaimarc,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

Our complimentary breakfast is an excellent start of the day. All the ingredients served at our restaurant Havis are of top quality and are organic products. We are pleased to be able to help to make your bookings while visiting Helsinki as the city offers a variety of culinary experiences.

Our gym is relatively small but it is open for guests 24/7 and has all the necessary equipment's but as you mentioned. Helsinki is a great walking/biking city and we do offer free bikes during summer time. The location of our establishment makes it a center location to walk and enjoy the city or even head to the many parks Helsinki offers. We are proud to say that our city is a very lovely green place.

We look forward to welcome you again to Hotel Haven.

Kind regards,

Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing