We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lacking the finer details”
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, lacking the finer details”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A beautiful and spacious room, great free internet and great location. Breakfast was a little lacking and staff were a little standoffish, but all in all a great stay, Lacking the customer service to truly be worth 5 stars, but for a place like Helsinki this is probably one of the best you are going to get.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    281
    53
    9
    10
See reviews for
114
408
75
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Haven is located at the end of the Esplanade near the water. It provided everything a traveler needs. The people at the reception desk were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, well-appointed and, most importantly, quiet. The hotel has good internet service. Our room overlooked the harbor. The breakfast, which was included in the room charge, was excellent. There are good restaurants in the immediate area, including in or next to the hotel. Hotel Haven is within walking distance of the major sights in Helsinki. We stayed two nights and left refreshed. There is not more you can ask for.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We travelled to Helsinki for a long weekend and arriving at the Hotel Haven made a great start to that time. This is a really stylish hotel and has the added surprise (for me) of two restaurants as part of the premises. Our room overlooked the harbour and was wonderfully spacious. Every member of staff we dealt with were open, friendly and a huge asset to the hotel.
This is centrally placed near the local ferries and with tram stops mere metres away. It's really easy to walk to the sights and a welcome place to come back to after a day's touring.

I would return here at the drop of a hat, what a great place to enjoy a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephHitH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice hotel situated in the harbour area of Helsinki and close to the sights. Room was of good size and very clean with nice decoration. Breakfast was standard fare but satisfactory. Staff pleasant and helpful. Hotel offers free bikes which was useful to cover a large area quickly. This hotel should have amazing but I felt it somehow missed the mark - maybe it was just a little bland in all aspects.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very nice design hotel in an historical building with a great location. Friendly staff, very nice breakfast and great rooms. You find 2 amazing restaurants connected to the hotel. My favorite hotel in Helsinki.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014


Every time I check in and hear 'I've given you a very nice room' I know that spells trouble. Room was a good size but it was right across from the elevator and street facing. I live in NY and London so I am a good judge of noise and windows (which you could not open) sounded like they were open. Even though I flagged my noise concern I was told this was 'taken under consideration' and nothing was done. Staff was friendly but did not follow through on turn down service request, so I returned from dinner not very happy. The night staff did what they could do and apologized but was not communicated to front desk for checkout, so I was asked how was my stay and had go through the issues once again. Also, breakfast is not very impressive (very basic more like 4*) if you want non scrambled you have to pay extra). So, voted best SLH 2013, again not something I could come close to agreeing. My credentials - I stay in 5* hotels almost once a week with majority Relais & Chateau.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed there in December few days after Christmas. We had massive room where they put two extra beds for kids, everyone was welcomed, kids loved special touches, tv in the bathroom, mountains of snow outside and beautiful Xmas decoration. Tasting menu at the restaurant was worth trying. Overall we had lovely stay as a family.

Room Tip: Go for higher category of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing