We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We had a number of small inconvenient issues arise during our stay and the hotel staff was wonderful with assisting us.
Whether it was booking a taxi or restaurant or retrieving items accidentally left behind the service here was outstanding!
This also applied to the on site restaurants where we always arrived minutes before closing and never felt rushed.
We will look forward to our next stay here very much.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Spcooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Spcooley,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.
We are glad to be of help and our concierges have the pleasure to assist with all issues that arise.
We hope to welcome you back to Helsinki and to Hotel Haven.

Kind regards,

Jad Lian
Guest relations manager
Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    281
    53
    9
    10
See reviews for
114
408
75
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. hotel location was great, which is why we booked it in the first place.
Rooms were clean, but very small. You could say they are cosy, but honestly I would prefer a room a bit bigger. Having stayed in a bunch of rooms in Europe, this was quite small compared to all.
The breakfast selection was far from acceptable. So of your booking, don't pay for breakfast.
Also, you had to walk outside (in the garden) to then get to the restaurant. January in Helsinki, trust me - you don't want to walk out even for 30 seconds in your PJ's early in the morning :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OVS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear OVS83,

We thank you for your review of Hotel Haven.

Our room categories are all different and the size actually of many rooms is of Finnish and European standards. our Lux category offer spacious rooms up to 49m2.

We have forwarded your review to our restaurant team and we would like to note that our breakfast ingredients are almost all organic and of best quality products. the short walk of 2 meters in our inner court yard is definitely refreshing in a January morning but also well pleasing on a July morning.

We look forward to welcome you again to Hotel Haven and please do contact us directly for your booking and we will make sure to allocate one of our most spacious rooms.

Best regards,

Jad Lian
Guest relations manager
Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennetbaden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A very good hotel with an excellent location. The room was large enough with a good sized bathroom and wonderful shower. The beds were comfortable and the room very clean. I really liked the breakfasts with an excellent porridge, which I put Sea-Buckthorn berry jam, gosh darn good. The service was a bit hit or miss, even at dinner. The food was above board excellent and well presented. The wait staff seemed a bit uncoordinated and unsure (this was addressed when checking out, which I was very surprised and grateful), with long stretches of nothing. But again the food made up for any problems, also lovely to sit outside under a glass canapy.

A bit of problem, but again small, I truly do not like sleeping with the a/c on. This especially when the outside temperature is more than comfortable. I asked, and this was the hotel policy. I understand policy, but it sure would be nice to open a window, should one ask...easy enough to give the latch to those that ask. This was also addressed at check out and handled professionally.

I would most definitely stay here again, just hoping their window policy changes :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear JC505,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hotel Haven.

We appreciate reading your detailed review of the breakfast and restaurants and we have forwarded your review to the selected department.
Our inner court yard is truly a bliss in summer time as it is a quiet hideaway from the major tourist spot the market square and offers a luxurious seating and a great place to enjoy!

Unfortunately, we have a strict policy regarding opening windows as it is part of our security policy.

We hope to welcome you again to Hotel Haven in the future.

Best regards,

Jad Lian
Guest relations manager
Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A beautiful and spacious room, great free internet and great location. Breakfast was a little lacking and staff were a little standoffish, but all in all a great stay, Lacking the customer service to truly be worth 5 stars, but for a place like Helsinki this is probably one of the best you are going to get.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Haven is located at the end of the Esplanade near the water. It provided everything a traveler needs. The people at the reception desk were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, well-appointed and, most importantly, quiet. The hotel has good internet service. Our room overlooked the harbor. The breakfast, which was included in the room charge, was excellent. There are good restaurants in the immediate area, including in or next to the hotel. Hotel Haven is within walking distance of the major sights in Helsinki. We stayed two nights and left refreshed. There is not more you can ask for.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We travelled to Helsinki for a long weekend and arriving at the Hotel Haven made a great start to that time. This is a really stylish hotel and has the added surprise (for me) of two restaurants as part of the premises. Our room overlooked the harbour and was wonderfully spacious. Every member of staff we dealt with were open, friendly and a huge asset to the hotel.
This is centrally placed near the local ferries and with tram stops mere metres away. It's really easy to walk to the sights and a welcome place to come back to after a day's touring.

I would return here at the drop of a hat, what a great place to enjoy a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephHitH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice hotel situated in the harbour area of Helsinki and close to the sights. Room was of good size and very clean with nice decoration. Breakfast was standard fare but satisfactory. Staff pleasant and helpful. Hotel offers free bikes which was useful to cover a large area quickly. This hotel should have amazing but I felt it somehow missed the mark - maybe it was just a little bland in all aspects.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Hotelopia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing