We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temppeliaukio Church”
Review of Rock Church

Rock Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.05*
and up
Private Guided Helsinki City Tour
Ranked #2 of 283 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also known as "Church in the Rock," this modern church is carved from rock and has a stunning copper dome.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Temppeliaukio Church”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Quarried out of the natural bedrock, Temppeliaukio Church is one of Helsinki's most popular tourist attractions. The interior walls are created naturally by the rock. The church was designed by architects Timo and Tuomo Suomalainen and opened in 1969. Due to its excellent acoustics the church is a popular venue for concerts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jarno1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,883
    1,958
    701
    105
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I chose to be married here in 1989 !”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Breathtaking ! the architecture of this building was controversial the first time I saw it in 1967 when it was a ruddy great hole ... I returend to Finland in 1982 and it took my breath away ! Natural rock, concrete floor, a copper dome and copper balcony surfaces that reflect the light from the roof dome ... I guarantee that you've never seen anything like it. I was miraculously healed here in 1983, so I'm inevitably biassed ! A good place to go if it's raining and an easy walk from the railway and bus stations. Good souvenir shop opposite. A favourite place to take guests.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bentleymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Piece Of Nature”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A must see in Helsinki! A church carved into the rock with an enjoyable accoustic. You will find your piece here!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tjalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
613 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Worth The Walk From The City Center”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A unique structure that is a good place to relax and be inspired by some of humanity's creativity. This church is actually carved out of solid rock and is a very cool design with natural lighting.

I visited during the afternoon and enjoyed the acoustics as soothing music filled the otherwise still air.

For some this may be nothing special but I think it is worth the visit and the nice walk from anywhere near the city center.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the most impressive church I have ever visited.”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The copper dome is most extraordinary. Made me remember the base of the bad guy in the James bond movie You Only Live Twice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ytfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock Church also viewed

 

Been to Rock Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing