We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tornio, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Compact but nice”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed in single room, which was one of the smallest rooms I have ever been. Despite this, room didn't feel narrow, windows were big with nice view to the street. Bathroom was renovated quite lately and everything were in order. Kaisaniemi metrostation is very close and coffees and bars very close as well. The only mistake that staff made was wrong price in checkout, but things solved out very quickly. The staff was very friendly and because hotel is very small there were no jams or queues.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikkomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    78
    65
    14
    7
See reviews for
14
64
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel is good, location is very central. Breakfast is ok, but not very rich. There are a lot of bars and cafes near the hotel! I recomend you to have dinner in vapiano. Rooms are clean, stuff is very very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryinvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The name should be worst westerns. This hotel was over $200 a night, the bed was way too soft, the room had no ventilation and very warm and it was very small.

Staff was nice and breakfast was good, but this hotel is significantly overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esgazgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Helsinki hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I think they are renovating, but my room was quite shabby. Only 12 rooms, and they all face traffic. Good thing I took a full shower in Milan the night before since the shower was impossible to figure out. The Finnair bus stops right in front of the Holiday Inn.I would suggest that instead. Its a little bit of a walk w luggage to this hotel from the Finnair bus stop. But the staff was quite friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Stay @ the Holiday Inn instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jann1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel's location can't be beat--but I wish there were more floors, allowing the traveler to stay higher up and away from the street. Nonetheless, street noise was NOT an issue.

The breakfast buffet is excellent, and the timing of the buffet works well for the traveler taking trains. There is no sauna. The wifi is spotty at best.

Although I would recommend this hotel for its convenience, on a return trip I might opt for a different one.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penel523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed at the Carlton when i came to Helsinki for a business trip. The rooms are average and are reasonably clean. I had no issue with the hotel during the stay, however the hotel double charged me for my one night stay. I contacted the reception and they advised me to send an email which i promptly did they responded and apologised for the mistake. I emailed my bank details for them to forward the money to my account but they did not respond to a single email of mine for a month. I repeatedly sent reminder email but no acknowledgement to recept nothing!! I called again and they recognized me from the email they have been obviously ignoring my emails!
The lady at the reception promised again to sort this out in a week and that has not happened i stayed there 8th of May and it is 25th of June now and still no refund. I go on business trips every week and this is the worst service ever!

How do u run a hotel with such bad custome service?????

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmenon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyväskylä, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have walked past of this property hundreds of times without realizing that there is an hotel.
All hotels in Helsinki were fully booked during my visit and I was lucky to get a room here.

Based on the reviews, it seems that rooms are differenly shaped and the equipment vary a little bit. In my room (220) there was not minibar (or at least i did not find it), but on the other hand there was a nice leather sofa and armchair with nice TV set+DVD player. The window of this room was facing towards backyard and it was frosted due to the fact that the trashbins were located next to it. I actually did not mind about that because rooms on the street side would probably have been more noisy.

Breakfast was great and there was no queue as there is in the bigger hotels.
I certainly liked this and I will certainly come again.

pros:
-Location, 50 m to subway and tram stop, 400m to railway station and airport bus stop
-Hotel size: safety and no big crowds
-Cleanliness and up-to-date rooms

these may be problems for someone:
-bars downstairs may be noisy
-i did not find airconditioning in the rooms. Rooms might be hot in summer months. backyard-facing rooms are on ground-level and it may be difficult to sleep windows open

Room Tip: Ask backyard facing room if you do not mind not having a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eskobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#40 of 65 in Helsinki
298 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#33 of 65 in Helsinki
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 65 in Helsinki
589 reviews
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
#27 of 65 in Helsinki
376 reviews
Arthur Hotel
#44 of 65 in Helsinki
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Carlton

Property: Best Western Hotel Carlton
Address: Kaisaniemenkatu 3, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Carlton has an excellent location in the very heart of Helsinki. Superb shopping and sightseeing possibilities, museums, wonderful restaurants, urban nightlife and a casino are all within a short walking distance. On-site you will find our lively coffee shop and Lost In Helsinki restaurant. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, Best Western Hotel Carlton is the perfect choice for you to spend your nights in comfort and security! Our friendly staff is always happy to help you with any request you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing