We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I spent two nights at the Hotel Carlton. It is very centrally located in Helsinki right by the train station. I had a single room. The single bed was very low and the mattress wasn't the most comfortable but it was alright. The tv was not working but the hotel sent up someone to fix it. The room was small but for one person. The hotel is directly across the street from a night club so it got to be a bit loud during the night. Also, the room got fairly hot during the summer so I had to keep the windows open which just let in the sound from the club. The staff was very friendly. I would stay here again.

Please be aware that there is no elevator.

It is located on top of a Mexican restaurant and cafe so there is food easily available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Kaisaniemenkatu street. Ask for a room close to the ground floor...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Carlton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Overall opinion is very good. Room and bathroom facilities satisfactory free wifi works very well, restaurant and café good quality, staff and service to a very high standard who really make you feel welcome. On the door step to Helsinki centre for all city centre activities and team links. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank davidheywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have just spent two nights in this hotel. Friendly reception, great location. Advertising states all rooms are different. Well,mine was just like any hotel room. No extras and no surprises. Their website states 'selection of toiletries in each room'. The usual hair and body shampoo hardly is a selection. There were not even tissues as in most hotels. Bathroom in the double room tiny, shower curtain too short so water all over. It is a good place though. Breakfast fine and surroundings in the morning rather quiet. I would stay again but their advertising promises more of the rooms. Maybe mine was bog standard as I paid mostly with my airline points. I am also used to sleeping in cool rooms but there was no proper air conditioning. The windows did open but as the street is busy, only one of the nights was quiet enough to keep it open. Overall however, I had a good experience. Very handy having the restaurant downstairs and location brilliant. The room was not cleaned on the first morning. Oversight of the norm?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoominReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I was in the hotel for 4 nights. The location is great! walking distance from almost every sight in Helsinki.
Few steps from Train\Bus station.
Breakfast was good, Clean room. WIFI didn't work well in the room so they changed my room and it worked well!
Small single room but was enough.

Room Tip: 4 days in Helsinki is too much!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orenb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived at about 1 am after a flight delay from Frankfurt. Eric who was on the night shift was very attentive and helpful getting us settled in for what remained of the night. The room was very clean, spacious and with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was good with a nice variety items, and they allowed us to check out late. My only complaint is that the wifi/internet was pretty slow, but that was not a significant enough issue to detract from an otherwise positive experience!

Room Tip: We were given the choice between a room facing the street with a window, or a quieter room in the ba...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbug4712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Marketing Coordinator at Best Western Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you, Travelbug4712, for taking your time to review us. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a positive experience!

As we do promise a free high-speed Wi-Fi service to all our guests, we want to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you by an exceptional connection slowdown. If you plan to visit Helsinki again, we hope to get the chance to serve you even better.

Friendly regards,

Laura Salokangas
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton Helsinki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Best Western Hotel Carlton Helsinki is located in the heart of the city with lots of excellent restaurants and shopping places next to it. The hotel is rather small in size - that makes it much more interesting than a large stereotyped chain hotel. Each room is unique and they all have a nice view to the city center. In the hotel lobby there are located one really nice restaurant, Iguana, and one good Café called Coffee House. Both are very popular and well known. Traffic connections are excellent: the central railway station, bus transportation to the airport or harbour are right in front of the hotel. Hotel rooms are reasonably priced, the breakfast is fine and the interior is a boutique style with a piece of art deco added. I recommend for adults travelling alone, togerher or in a small group. Would be nice for shopping enthusiasts or for romantic getaway.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Marketing Coordinator at Best Western Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Janette H,

Thank you for your super review!
We are quite proud of our concept that combines a high quality Best Western hotel, a popular coffee shop and one of the city’s favourite restaurants. Add our friendly staff to the mix, and you can’t help but feel at home :). With us, you can relax and experience the urban vibe of Helsinki without even having to step out of the door. If you do, you’ll find yourself at one of the busiest and buzziest spots in Helsinki; close to everything.

We are glad you enjoyed staying with us. Be back anytime!

Laura Salokangas
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton Helsinki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

the most important advantage is a great location of the hotel. the room was spacious and clean. it is nice that breakfest was included in a price and there was so much choice, including local specialities. the drawback is there is no lift, so you have to carry your lugguage by the stairs by your own. the window in our room was at backyard, so in the evening it was sometimes loudly. staff was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Marketing Coordinator at Best Western Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear mbusz,

Thank you for taking your time to review us here on TripAdvisor! We are glad that you liked the location, your room and the breakfast. We are also pleased to hear that you regarded our staff as nice and friendly. One of our ambitions is to make all our customers feel warmly welcome as soon as they arrive. Therefore, if your visit began with having to carry heavy luggage upstairs, it is clear that in this rare case we have failed at meeting our own standards. I hope we will get the chance to make it up to you.

Hoping to see you again as our customer,

Laura Salokangas
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton Helsinki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#41 of 64 in Helsinki
320 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#35 of 64 in Helsinki
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arthur Hotel
#43 of 64 in Helsinki
1,013 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
614 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#34 of 64 in Helsinki
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Carlton

Address: Kaisaniemenkatu 3, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: £85 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Carlton has an excellent location in the very heart of Helsinki. Superb shopping and sightseeing possibilities, museums, wonderful restaurants, urban nightlife and a casino are all within a short walking distance. On-site you will find our lively coffee shop and Lost In Helsinki restaurant. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, Best Western Hotel Carlton is the perfect choice for you to spend your nights in comfort and security! Our friendly staff is always happy to help you with any request you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing