We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great experience!”
Review of Himshikhar

Himshikhar
Ranked #278 of 1,489 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: Asian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, great service, great experience!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

North Indian mildly spiced food, fresh flavours, served piping hot. Fresh, hot nan bread. Excellent, attentive service. Staff spoke excellent English. We ate upstairs, and enjoyed the views and light from the large windows. The Nepalese coffee with cardamom, ginger and warm milk was a highlight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canucknorthernnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good Nepalese food in Helsinki”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very good service and nice food. The mo mos are like Chinese dumplings, but should be left to the Chinese! The more usual Nepalese fare was excellent and great portions. Go along and enjoy some great food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Filling dishes full of flavour”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The food was absolutely delicious. Plus, the prices weren't bad, either.
I found nepalese food to be quite similar to the dishes I had in India. The flavours were authentic and not fixed to fit finnish preferences. With less than 20€ you get your dish, including rice, and for a plus, you get some crispy bread (I don't think it's naan or roti, but I don't know the name of it) which is so flavourful!

I ordered paneer, which is my favourite, but I couldn't eat the half of it! It was so filling and although the plate didn't look too big, the portion was enormous. Although we enjoyed the food a lot, the servant asked if we didn't like our food since we left so much of it. They asked if we wanted to take the rest with us, but unfortunately we were staying in a hotel and that wasn't an option.

The service there is terrific: they are so nice and friendly and you don't have to wait long for the food!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justleeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch, Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

What a treat. We stumbled onto this Nepalese/Indian restaurant for lunch while tending to business in the area. The restaurant doesn't win any awards for interior design, but what a delicious plate with rice, chicken, and potatoes with cauliflower. Lunches run about 8 euros for one entree or 10 euros for samples of two entrees, and each entree comes with a trip to the small salad bar and incredible baked bread at your table. The service was efficient and accommodating when one of my colleagues sent back an entree that was too spicy (replaced with another option without any question or hesitation). The restaurant uses a call system at the table, where you can push a button to call for assistance or to send for your bill. For ten euros, this was by far the best, most filling, and budget-friendly meal we had our entire week in Finland--an expensive country where one can regularly drop 30 euros on a meal and leave hungry. Don't let the look of the restaurant from the outside scare you away. It's VERY good. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very filling and tasty”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Second nepalese restaurant we went in these 3 days break in Helsinki. I found the food tasty and filling and surely genuine nepalese.

I would go back to this place again if I will be in Kallio wondsring around at meal time.

Helpful?
Thank Davide P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Himshikhar also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Himshikhar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing