We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will get more than you expect”
Review of Himshikhar

Himshikhar
Ranked #271 of 1,485 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: Nepalese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Днепропетровск, Украина
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will get more than you expect”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

You will get big portions of tasty food in this place. Don't order several dishes because almost every dish goes with rice and bread. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Igor_Murlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great place for lunch!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Friendly, fast service and flavourful but mild Nepalese food. The lunch menu is varied and reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner and a break from high Scandinavian prices”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We were treated courteously and found the restaurant quiet enough to have good conversation. Dinner was quite good with lots of choices. The service that was interested in the fact we were having a good time. From a very experienced traveler I highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent & interesting food”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We were staying nearby and saw the reviews so thought we'd give it a go. Downstairs is more a bar with a couple of people reading papers, but the restaurant is upstairs. It wouldn't win any Finnish design awards but nice enough. However the food was really excellent. They gave us complimentary popadoms with caraway seeds plus a delicious quite hot dip. That was the perfect starter and all we needed because the mains come with rice, salad and a huge naan bread; very filling. We had the potato and asparagus (quite spicy) and a fish dish. Plus 2 Nepalese beers the total was €45 which is OK for Helsinki.
Definitely recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindos_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, great service, great experience!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

North Indian mildly spiced food, fresh flavours, served piping hot. Fresh, hot nan bread. Excellent, attentive service. Staff spoke excellent English. We ate upstairs, and enjoyed the views and light from the large windows. The Nepalese coffee with cardamom, ginger and warm milk was a highlight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canucknorthernnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himshikhar also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Himshikhar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing