We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

The Fabian is in close walking distance to major attractions, very helpful, friendly staff, wonderfully appointed large designer modern rooms and excellent value for money.
The free wi-fi works a treat & the variety for breakfast is exceptional.
We would definitely stay again and can highly recommend the Fabian.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    253
    28
    2
    1
See reviews for
147
497
80
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

I loved the place. The lobby/breakfast room downstairs is welcoming and well-furnished. In general, the whole place has a "design" feeling to it.
Breakfast is delicious!
The rooms are beautiful (I was in the 302) and I got the best sleep ever. The beds ar tall soft and big, wifi works fine and tv has lots to offer.
The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the very centre of the city.
Rates are not exactly cheap (around € 175/night) but I got a deal off Trivago.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Hotel Fabian looks quite boring from the outside but your opinion will change 100% after you have stepped inside. You will find a small comfy modern hotel that could be even described as design hotel. Nice modern room in full black&white, with pop lamps, big mirror, art from Estonian artist Navitrolla, good bed and flat TV-set. In the bathroom you'll find a really comfy shower. Organic is the trend - starting from the shampoo and ending with a pen. Breakfast is served in the lobby, in a small kitchen, but you will be able to enjoy your meal also outside if the weather is fine. The choice of food isn't the widest on earth but you'll find everything you need for a nice quality Nordic breakfast. The service is very friendly. Fabian is situated close to the city centre - just 5 min by foot to the main street Esplanade and just a minute from the sea and the market. It's a splendid place to stay in case you would like to wander around in the centre of Helsinki. The only problem I had was wifi - it was free also in the room, but the signal was sometimes quite low and unstable. Perhaps it was better in the lobby, but I did not try it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunFunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

High quality service, friendly and helpful staff. These are the things you can immediately notice in this hotel near to the centre of Helsinki. The hotel is beautiful, quiet and clean, all the rooms are large and look like new. We had a pleasant stay in the hall, too, where some customers always take a drink or a tea in a warm atmosphere. The furniture is smart and stilish. We had to take a flight early in the morning, and they make for us a breakfast at 5.30... never heard before!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fulmaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Wow. That is what I can say about Fabian Hotel. For a hotel that is not a top luxury and ultra-pricey hotel, the staff here gives better service than I have seen in most 5 star hotels. First off, they are so honest and considerate, which is what I will gladly refer anyone to stay here if ever in Helsinki. We were a group of four, staying here for 3 nights and then taking a train to St Petersburg, then returning for one night before flying back to the US. Evellina, Petri, Aino, and Anna helped us book the train tickets with e-mails flying back and forth ahead of time, so all we had to do was pick them up at the train station when we arrived. They also noticed in our passing e-mails back and forth, that we had accidentally cancelled one of our nights' stay on hotels.com. So, we were able to rebook that night in plenty of time. We asked about hotel cars to pick us up from the airport. They told us we could get a taxi from the airport for about 40 euros, or a hotel car for 100 euros. While there, my wife's glasses broke, and we became "those people." We asked Eleanna if they might have crazy glue - and you know what, they did. They rummaged and lent it to us. Eleanna drew up the maps to show us where to go, plus made a bunch of dinner reservations for us. She is amazing! The last night, our suitcase lock wouldn't unlock. They lent us a toolkit, and we opened it. These are the random ways we became difficult guests that we usually are not, and the staff at Fabian were so wonderful. We left 30 minutes before their breakfast started. They gave us an early bird breakfast and called us cabs to the airport. So seemless and perfect for 6:45 AM on a Sunday. Also I should mention the breakfasts are very nice, but a side note they put butter into the yoghurt, so you may not want to have it if you're on a diet. It sure tastes good, and they have a ton of other delicious items.

Also, the rooms are nice and chic, the bath products are lovely and all organic and smell great, the beds are super comfy thanks to nice mattress pads. The showers are pretty cool, they have some heating in the floorboards or something that makes it seem a little sauna-ish. Highly recommend them!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmericaninJkta29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed one night. Room was beautifully decorated, trendy, and comfy. Huge flat screen tv, but too complicated tv guide system and idiotic remote control, so gave up watching anything. Iron, hair dryer reasonably effective, internet digital radio, free wireless. They had forgotten to put shampoo in my bath, discovered too late :( Breakfast was simple, but OK, no hot food, apart from porrige. Boiled eggs available, not very hot. No proper bar, the reception desk is also a bar desk, and the reception staff will serve you wine, beers and sodas. Some sitting groups behind reception. No proper restaurant, but many in walking distance.

Room Tip: I stayed in 607. Lots of space. But fix the tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gueray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

There are only good things to say about this hotel. Well located - walking distance from the center, shopping, restaurants and the harbour. Hotel itself small but well designed. Beutiful scandinavian decor with comfortable rooms, large bathrooms and cozy common areas. One feels like at home while satying at fabian. Everything is high quality. Breakfast was delicious with, many, many choices. Car service to the airport was affordable and comfortable. Just positives for this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Haven
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing