We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was an awesome hotel!!!!! I arrived early but no problem my room was already ready! Got checked in and was off to explore. The hotel is only a few minutes walk to the water, many cathedrals, parks, and the main shopping area. Very convenient! The room was very spacious!! Really a large area. Had space for comfy chairs and a huge bed! It was also very clean and sleek looking. The breakfast buffet is pretty good. Not a lot of hot options but still good. Free wifi and maybe about 20 minutes ride to the airport!! Great stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBrianne715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    251
    28
    2
    1
See reviews for
144
491
80
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bodø
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here. We stayed for 2 nights during a short break in Helsinki and hotel entirely met our expectations. Arrived a little earlier and were offered to keep our bags at the reception while we explore the city. The check in was fast and they brought us kettle in the room with some tea bags when we asked for it. Breakfast was fresh and delicious, but I would also love to have some omlettes and bacon. Our check-out was at 4 a.m. so we asked for some breakfast to go, which hotel gladly provided. We stayed in basic room on the fifth floor right next to the elevator. But it was super quiet, we couldn't hear a thing which was a great surprise. The bed was luxurious and comfortable, sheets are changed every 3 days, but you can place a "laundry day" card on the bed and they will change it as often as you like. We didn't notice complimentary water in the room, but we were fine without it.
The location is in the quiet part of Helsinki, but very close to the city center. There is no sauna, swimming pool or gym, as other reviewers mentioned, so this is not the place for the gym bunnies.

Overall a wonderful hotel we loved and would gladly recommend.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 501 right next to elevator, but it is completely sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewWave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here for more than a week on a recent business trip. I found the rooms superb and very comfortable. Spacious, with high quality fittings. Service was also very good and efficient and everything worked well. The breakfast is fresh and delicious, though there is a lack of cooked items (maybe you can ask for fried/scrambled eggs). The location isn't in the very center of Helsinki, but walk 500 meters and you're right there with many dining options.

My only small criticism is that there is a lack of atmosphere in terms of hotel bar/food options. Also, there was no fitness room which I find strange for such a high-caliber hotel. Overall though, those things are minor - and I find this a first class hotel and a first class price. I'd go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great location just a few minutes walk from the centre of Helsinki and plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby. Room was comfortably large and contemporary design with a large double bed, desk are and sofa for relaxation. Plenty of wardrobe space and complimentary still water and wifi. Nicely laid out en-suite with a great shower - always a bonus! Breakfast (included in my rate) was a very good continental selection in a comfortable relaxed area just off the reception and bar. Staff were always friendly and helpful. If ordering a taxi do allow 5-10 minutes during busy times though. I'd definitely enjoy staying here again.

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid the room that backs onto the elevators, but otherwise they all looked much th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Fabian Hotel for a week in early September and can highly recommend it. It is in a quiet spot which is within walking distance from the railway station – it took us 20 minutes of easy walking- and a short walk up the hill for a great view of the harbour.
The service was excellent. The staff are welcoming, speak very good English, respond quickly to any request and give good advice. The style room was immaculate, with a very comfortable bed, good amenities and plenty of room for storage with a walk- in closet at the end of the hallway.
The breakfast was wonderful with a large selection of fresh food from the buffet, delicious bread and good coffee. We loved the Finnish to English phrases on the table mats! While there is no restaurant attached to the hotel, there are excellent restaurants within 5-10 minutes’ walk. I can recommend Zucchini for lunch and Juuri , Havis and Fabian restaurants for dinner. There is also a supermarket and a Delish Deli close by for take away food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have visited a few hotels during the last years but this tops them all. Super nice staff, excellent room that easily accommodated two adults and two kids (one on sofa, another on extra bed, 7 and 8 years). A good lobby bar and excellent, cosy breakfast. Centrally located, will use this to all my overnight trips to Helsinki in the future -- if there are any rooms left, this was so good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
730 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My first visit to the Hotel Fabian and it is a boutique hotel located in a quiet street, still within a short walk to the centre of Helsinki. The room I had was not only very large but very well appointed and to be honest one of the better rooms I have stayed in over the last couple of years. The staff was always on hand and helpful and the Breakfast whilst the Scandic norm was fresh and replenished regularly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwan_Nyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haven
#7 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing