We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places in Helsinki”
Review of Hakaniemi Market

Hakaniemi Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.46*
and up
Helsinki Sightseeing Canal Cruise
Ranked #12 of 280 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Swords, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of the best places in Helsinki”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Various and colorful, with these two words we could describe the Market Square of Helsinki. If you are coming from the port because you took the ferry, it will be very easy for you to encounter this square: it is placed between you and the city center. A lot of food, mainly seafood, that can be eaten here. Most of the stands have also tables and chairs. If you are not fan of sea food don't worry, there are also a couple of stands that sells burgers and hot dogs. It is the place where to buy the cheapest souvenir. I found the others and less numerous souvenirs shop in Helsinki to be more expensive: probably because they have a rent to pay in a building, when here they just have movable stands.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank branca90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    337
    107
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Market Square”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Alright so right next to Kauppatori across from the Swidish Embassy is a fantastic little street market with all kinds of wares. Filled with both locals and tourists its a great place to pick up some souvenirs and get a taste of Finland. You can find Reindeer sausage here as well as antlers, pelts, mink coats and everything in between. Don't miss this stop as it is a very short walk from Senate Square.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldwidelunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Wonderful Fish in Market Hall - Töölön Kala”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Visited the Hakaniemi Market Hall while in Helsinki. Upstairs was just overpriced souvenirs. Lower level has many very interesting food stalls where locals buy food. I was interested in trying Gravlax salmon, a Nordic specialty. I followed the crowd of locals in the fish section to Töölön Kala (I think I got the name right!) tucked away in the corner. I bought some of their salmon, and I've got to say it was the best I ever tasted. I went back pretty much every day of my stay to get some more to take back to my room to eat with some of the dark Finnish bread. My wife loved it even more than me:)
The people that run the place are very nice people, and if it wasn't busy they were always happy to chat. I enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancisX2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
198 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tourist trap, but enjoyable”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Yes, this is a complete tourist trap, but it is an enjoyable one. You can get a relatively good and inexpensive meal here (compared to sit down restaurants). I suggest the smoked reindeer meatballs. You can also find any souvenir here you can imagine related to Finland. While some are very overprices, some are quite unique and worth looking around for.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hannajomeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANADA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“market fits anyone”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

the market has anything and everything for all.
food, fish, vegetables, bags, books etc...
its open daily, in the perfect location and in near the water its usually cooler there

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChanyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hakaniemi Market also viewed

 

Been to Hakaniemi Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing