We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel,very good location”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Arrived at Kamp 18hs00 after 12 hours flight from Sao Paulo and a connection flight in Amsterdan.Booked and stayed in a suite.No upgrade.The hotel is in a quiet street,no cars,except taxis.Suite is normal size.Location is very good,right in the center of Helsinki.Nice bar,where people gather to drink.Hotel is the only 5 stars in Helsinki.Nice air con,no noise from the street or from the rooms above and/or beside.Nice sound isolation.Good service at the bar ,attentive waiters,all speak perfect english.
Breakfast expensive,so cross the street and go to Fazer,the oldest coffee place in Helsinki!If you like Michelin starred restaurants,don't loose Chez Dominique,2 *.nice degustation menu for EUR 129,00.
One last advice:finnish is impossible to speak and/or understand.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Visited Helsinki for 3 nights August 2011. I booked the trip through American Express fine hotels and got what I thought was a good rate for a 5 star hotel with automatic upgrade to a very large room.
The location seemed to be very good. Every time I arranged to meet people it seemed to be 5 minutes walk away. Maybe Helsinki is very small..
Breakfast was included in my rate and seemed Ok. The dining area is very nice in a conservatory next to the street. I didnt have dinner or lunch at the hotel but it seemed busy all the time. The gym is excellent with very new equipment and good space. I didn't use the sauna.
The staff were very helpful. I had originally booked for 2 nights and made enquiries about staying a 3rd night quite late. Originally I was advised i would need to move to a smaller room but after a bit of jiggling the manager phoned my room and advised i could stay in the same room.
I also asked for directions about a street party i was going to and the next day the receptionist saw me walking through the lobby and asked if I had enjoyed it.

Evening turndown occurred each night. I got 2 free bottles of water per day. The room and bathroom were very nice. The only issue was maybe a seal in the shower was not tight so i always soaked the bathroom floor but I seem to do that anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonwells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed two nights at the Hotel Kamp. Location was great - walk easily to all city attractions and the port. The room was nicely furnished but tiny, tiny, tiny. The bathroom was marble with a small round shower alcove in which it was impossible to shut the door properly which meant the floor flooded with every shower. The toilet ran and ran when flushed, requiring a second push of the button to stop the flow.

Check in was very efficient but not particularly warm or friendly. The person who checked me out was much better.

I arrived on a Sunday and needed some laundry done. What 5* hotel doesnt have a normal laundry service on a Sunday?? The Hotel Kamp! You have to pay a 50% surcharge to get things washed on a Sunday, resulting in a 76 Euro bill for 4 items.

The breakfast buffet was ordinary and expensive. Coffee was frightful. I ate at a nearby cafe the next morning and had a far better breakfast at less than half the price. Room service prices were also a joke 7.80 Euros for a cappucino - the going rate in Helsinki cafes is half of that.

No newspaper in the morning.

A member of the the Starwood Luxury Collection? Mmmmmm. I dont mind paying for a n expensive hotel. However, the Kamp represents poor value for my money so I wont be back. Am trying a different hotel when I return next week.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SmartTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed there twice in July 2011, both stays were for one night. The location is perfect, and the staff is courteous and knowledgeable. The room was clean, with an interesting decor. There was some delay on our first check-in, although the manager offered a complimentary breakfast as a way of apology. Besides this, no negatives whatsoever. The breakfast is expensive (27 EUR/person), so you may walk a few meters to Fazer and get the buffet breakfast there for half the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I visited at the Kämp for celebrating our anniversary. I really have to say, that Kämp is really the one and only luxury hotel in Finland - there are many good hotels in design category but this is pure, classical luxury.
Service is at international level, staff speks often several languages. Interiors are tradiotional and fine. Even in "basic" rooms, you'll get good quality and the bathroom is large with luxury equipments - you really can't compare this to 4star hotels..
Restaurants and breakfast are good, but of course there are many finnish top restaurants nere by - if you want to get Michelin starred dinner.
Also hotel's special packages needs to be mentioned - in reasonal price you get lot of extra when i.g. wanting to spoil "the one" a little bit.

Room Tip: Put some extra money and take a view from the executive level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauli30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed three days at the Hotel Kamp in August 2011.

When we arrived the hotel, the staff were very friendly. I am a SPG Platinum member, and we were upgraded from a standard room to a Junior Suite. SPG Platinum also gives me free internet access, other guests have to pay 20€ per day, this is very expensive in 2011 internet in the hotel should be free.

The room itself was very nice, everything was clean, including the bathroom. The bathroom had both a walk in shower and a bath tub. Breakfast was included in our rate. The breakfast was good for a standard hotel breakfast. The hotel also has a very good fitness center and a spa.

I can without hesitation recommend the Hotel Kamp. The hotel is very central located in Helsinki, and the staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haakonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We made a late booking online on Sunday morning and got an excellent 175EUR rate. We arrived early and the staff were welcoming and happy to check us in. The room was spacious, bright and excellent. Staff were also pleased to allow us to check out late at 2pm the next day, an unexpected bonus.

Public areas are relaxing and stylish; the terrace on Esplanade is excellent.

We had lunch, which was ok in a global hotel way, pretty standard salads and sandwiches way, and as expensive as you'd expect in a global luxury hotel - however, there aren't really many cheap lunches on Esplanade!

Disappointing - wifi is 20EUR for 24hrs or 6EUR for 1, in Finland free wifi is common.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jzedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Haven
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
1,102 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 66 in Helsinki
523 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
583 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £190 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing