We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great lunch here and watched the crowds and used the loos all a nice experience. I think one of the better restaurants in town and good local food and excellent service. Some of the other restaurants in Trip Advisor are a little out of the centre.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    350
    110
    27
    12
See reviews for
221
459
110
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed for the first time, although have visited twice a bar at the hotel, which is always a good meeting spot in Helsinki for aperatiff (always full).

The location of Kamp is perfect for visiting Helsinki either for business or leisure.

The room was spacious and well equipped (furniture layout very comfortable), excellent bedding.

Although lacks heated floors in nice marble bathrooms. Good lightnening.

Good breakfast and staff. Valet parking available.

Definetely will stay again when visiting Helsinki.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank alex82683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I recently visited Hotel Kamp and was not disappointed. The hotel is very comfortable and centrally located in the downtown area. My room was very quiet and comfortable. Bath was particularly nice for soaking after a long day. Staff was friendly and helpful. I greatly enjoyed the breakfasts each morning. I did find the restaurant and room service offerings to be expensive. I had a very bad cold when I was there and the staff brought me honey and lemon proactively. That was a very nice touch and I will return the next time I'm in town. Note to fellow travelers: as with many European cities, things really close down in Helsinki on Sundays.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stay at the Hotel Kamp regularly (once per month). It is not in your face opulence but they do the basics extremely well. The greeting is always friendly and helpful, nothing is too much for the staff. The decor is tasteful. The rooms are a decent size and more importantly well-designed for business travelers. It meets my criteria of- actually dark without neon lights, a minibar and air-con which are actually quiet, plugs in the room, somewhere to actually unpack your bag, and a decent shower. As somebody who stays regularly at 5* hotels across Europe with work you would be surprised at how often hotels don't provide this.

Only downsides- (I) you have to pay for the internet and it is expensive (15 a day) - though you usually get it free if you are there on business (II) room service isn't great- order from the Asian restaurant Yumu not from the room service menu as they will do room service too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruari h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is the only 5 star hotel in Helsinki allthough I find it more of a 4 star establishment. Small rooms, even the deluxe ones, but nice spacious bathrooms. Breakfast was a disappointment. Location is great, middle of the beautiful Esplanadi with all shops and restaurants around the corner.nice spa.

Room Tip: The business deluxe rooms are ok but still small, try to get room in the old/original part of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my daughter .Lovely big room & bathroom ,I had a premier delux room .Nice and clean .Only downside of room is I would have liked a view to outside onto street instead of courtyard.The Cafe Brasserie was amazing we had the filet steak and I would highly recommend it.I do object though to paying extra for Internet usage as I feel it should be included in price of room .Also the TV channels are not great for price of room .You can pay extra for films which are not that new.I would however stay here again .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Well located in central Helsinki, close to the two cathedrals, harbour area and on a very nice shopping street. Staff were very welcoming and friendly and I can recommend the cocktails!

Good room / bathroom facilities and comfortable bedding.

I recommend the breakfast/brunch buffet at Fazer across the road!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Property: Hotel Kamp
Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing