We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice ..”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel Kamp is a wonderful hotel well situated in Helsinki. Our room was spacious and our bed was very comfortable. The linens and towels were wonderful and the bathroom accessories were special. Our room was very clean and housekeeping did an excellent job. The best part of our room was the shower, which was strong and powerful .. a nice luxury in Europe. Hotel Kamp is a wonderful old hotel with class and character. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something special in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ase1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the Kamp in Helsinki in August 2013. Would rate this as the best hotel of all the hotels I have stayed in anywhere. Firstly, great rooms - much larger than normal rooms in Europe. Quality is top notch, for example the toiletries, furnishings etc. Service is impeccable. I landed very late (almost midnight) but even that time got great service. Location is very convenient for work. Nice restaurants & coffee shops close by. Access to the airport is convenient. Strongly recommend it for business travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rostow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for one night in May. The hotel is very nicely situated on the esplanade, easily walkable from the market square. The decor is very elegant and rooms are a nice size with very nice fixtures. We also made use of the hotel saunas which were an extra charge but well worth the money. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and highly recommend that they check out the sauna as no trip to Finland is complete without it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 3WeeksAYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Had a great lunch here and watched the crowds and used the loos all a nice experience. I think one of the better restaurants in town and good local food and excellent service. Some of the other restaurants in Trip Advisor are a little out of the centre.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed for the first time, although have visited twice a bar at the hotel, which is always a good meeting spot in Helsinki for aperatiff (always full).

The location of Kamp is perfect for visiting Helsinki either for business or leisure.

The room was spacious and well equipped (furniture layout very comfortable), excellent bedding.

Although lacks heated floors in nice marble bathrooms. Good lightnening.

Good breakfast and staff. Valet parking available.

Definetely will stay again when visiting Helsinki.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank alex82683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I recently visited Hotel Kamp and was not disappointed. The hotel is very comfortable and centrally located in the downtown area. My room was very quiet and comfortable. Bath was particularly nice for soaking after a long day. Staff was friendly and helpful. I greatly enjoyed the breakfasts each morning. I did find the restaurant and room service offerings to be expensive. I had a very bad cold when I was there and the staff brought me honey and lemon proactively. That was a very nice touch and I will return the next time I'm in town. Note to fellow travelers: as with many European cities, things really close down in Helsinki on Sundays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stay at the Hotel Kamp regularly (once per month). It is not in your face opulence but they do the basics extremely well. The greeting is always friendly and helpful, nothing is too much for the staff. The decor is tasteful. The rooms are a decent size and more importantly well-designed for business travelers. It meets my criteria of- actually dark without neon lights, a minibar and air-con which are actually quiet, plugs in the room, somewhere to actually unpack your bag, and a decent shower. As somebody who stays regularly at 5* hotels across Europe with work you would be surprised at how often hotels don't provide this.

Only downsides- (I) you have to pay for the internet and it is expensive (15 a day) - though you usually get it free if you are there on business (II) room service isn't great- order from the Asian restaurant Yumu not from the room service menu as they will do room service too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruarih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Haven
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
1,080 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel F6
#1 of 66 in Helsinki
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
546 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,196 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £198 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing