We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top luxury hotel, but no free Wifi?!”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have the privilege of travelling quite regularly and had the pleasant experience of the Hotel Kamp. When the taxi driver asked me if I was a celebrity staying there it did make me chuckle and I guess went someway to guide me on the fact that the hotel wasn't the cheapest I had stayed in.

I received a very warm welcome from the reception team. The hotel had a distinctly historical luxury feel to it which continued when entering the room. I felt like I was staying in a palace. The bed was very comfortable (to the point I nearly overslept) and the room finished to a very high standard and was very clean. I was blasted by the shower, which is a big plus when needing to wake up at an ungodly hour. Location-wise you cannot go wrong as you are within walking distance of the harbour, shops and public transportation. The bar on the ground floor was very nice, and waiting staff very attentive.

The Kamp would have got a 5* for me but the one thing that left a bad taste in my mouth was the charges for the WiFi. They were extortionate! With the room being a premium price I was surprised. In the 21st century you do not expect to be paying €40 for 24 hours access. A low cost hotel maybe, but not here. Fortunately I could access the internet by pairing with my work handset so not the end of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent only one night at the Hotel Kamp in mid-June and were delighted with our stay. As most have said, the location is central to shopping, local attractions and an easy walk to or from the train station. The staff was friendly and quite helpful. The bed was just what we needed. The Karl Fazer Chocolate Shop is just down the pedestrian walkway from the hotel and is a delight for chocolate lovers and non-chocolate lovers. They also serve breakfast and have some incredible looking pastries in addition to lots and lots of chocolate. Helsinki is an easy city to get around.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mobt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our last destination in a two week adventure through Scandinavia, this hotel was a real treat. I felt pampered and the room was luxurious. We enjoyed the feeling of being spoiled after some rather austere (but very efficient) rooms elsewhere. I would highly recommend it as a lovely oasis in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

When I am in Helsinki, I prefer to stay at Hotel Kämp, which is very centrally located close to the shopping streets and the busy harbor. The hotel is always nice maintained, the rooms well equipped and clean, the service good and friendly but the price of course in the higher end, but worth the cost, both on business and private trip. Do not pass up on this gem.

Room Tip: Any room will do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived here early but were given a lovely room looking out onto a quiet square. Reception staff excellent, helpful and kind. Room well appointed and spotless. Housekeeping appeared excellent during our two night stay.
Had drinks and light meal the first night in the bar. Staff there very wooden and appeared like automated dolls. No warmth, service just okay, food the same.
In contrast we had dinner the second night in the brasserie where staff were excellent and food, whilst obviously prepared in the same kitchen as bar food was quite good. We did make different choices though.
All in all we would stay here again. Location couldn't be better.

Room Tip: Executive room was lovely. Quiet even though ours was at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is great and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Anu and Mokke were always willing to help me find places and listen to my daily adventures. Great location as everything is close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 306 amazing water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALTravel_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kämp G, Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear ALTravel_everywhere

Thank you for visiting Hotel Kämp and taking the time to share your experience.
Direct feedback from our customers, both good and bad, is the most valuable advice we can receive. We are excited to learn you have enjoyed your visit and would love to have you consider us your home away from home. I am above everything glad to hear you’ve experienced our service indigenous and we are happy to celebrate Anu and Mokke in their success!

We look forward on seeing you soon in Helsinki!

Warm regards,
Tina Kaikkonen
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Everything went so smoothly from the moment the taxi dropped me at the front door. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, well appointed and also very quiet. The hotel is located very close to the major sights next to a nice park that leads to the harbour. The only thing letting it down is the expensive wifi (which I decided not to use in favour of a roaming data plan). I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank ivantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Haven
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
1,137 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,250 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 66 in Helsinki
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
629 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
786 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £214 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing