We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, faded elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great location, faded elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Few hotels still like the Kamp. It has recently been taken over by Starwood and like all hotels which fall prey to the big American chains you can begin to feel standardisation creeping in. I love he breakfast buffet (which features a delicious little "fish bar"), the big rooms (ensure yours is in the old wing, I have stayed in both), and he perfect location for experiencing Helsinki life. I hate the fact that it has lost that "family owned sense of pride" in the details. The downgraded in-room bath amenities, the spots on the carpet which should have been attended to, as with the thick curtains which no longer really close properly (a huge problem in a country with 22 hours of sunlight in the summertime!). NB: wifi is exorbitantly priced, but decent speed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    350
    110
    27
    12
See reviews for
221
459
110
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Great location. Friendly, helpful staff. Deluxe room was okay but nothing special. Executive room was really nice. Hotel unable to cope with unseasonably hot weather as deluxe room never cooled lower then 77f (25c). Breakfast cost was 29 euros but staff directed us to a place almost directly across the street where the buffet cost 12.40 euros and was quite nice. Dinner recommendations where excellent. Don't miss The Fish Market. My biggest complaint was the toilet. It flushed if you leaned back! Of the six hotels we stayed at, only this one had that design flaw. If I return to Helsinki the Kamp would be my hotel of choice. I'd pay extra for an executive room though.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Family dinner in August- great food- great table- spolit by a long hassle over a dish that didn't say mushrooms were a real part of it and not just the sauce, but they were and one of the party was allergic to mushrooms.
A long wrangle as one of the best restaurants and hotels in Helsinki was an example of how not to handle this complaint- but we persevered and all was well in the end- BUT the hotel endlessly tried to wriggle out of their responsibility and blame it on us!

Room Tip: A great hotel, great restuarasnt, great location - pity about the arguement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidpsion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was one of my worst hotel experiences, the location was great, but everything else was bad. the deluxe room that I stayed in was small, outdated and with no view. The bed was uncomfortable and with tiny kids-size pillows! The staff were very unfriendly from the moment that I entered the hotel until the check out nobody had greeted or smiled to me or offer to help.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alhitmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg,VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A very well maintained and beautiful hotel. Perfect location, facing the downtown park and near attractions and shopping. A very helpful, friendly staff. Linens fresh and pressed, ample fluffy towels. The restaurant had local specialties which were unusual for us, service a bit slow on the Saturday night we were there, better the next night. I would definitely look forward to staying there again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlhw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Sometimes you want to give quality time to yourself and to your loved one, or friends or person important to you. Kämp is place to stay. In case you are international traveller, you can compare this to quality of service in Chedi hotels. No mistakes and extremely nice stuff. Excellent room, beds and amenities. Price wise also worth when you look their deals and remembering Finland IS expensive. Consider to pay little extra compared to other Helsinki down town hotels and you get royal treatment instead staying in motel style self service hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FIN-BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a fine hotel. We were scheduled for just one night, but extended it to two because we enjoyed the hotel and its location. Expensive, yes, but a very pleasant stay. Our room was spacious and bath, shower facility accommodating. The restaurant served quality food at both dinner and breakfast. Again, very expensive eating. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. Like other European hotels, we didn't experience bell help with luggage until we were in the front door. By then it is a bit late to be offering help. We would highly recommend this hotel to any who wouldn't mind the more expensive venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myrevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Property: Hotel Kamp
Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing