We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic, elegant”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classic, elegant”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Quiet rooms, great location. Near all of the best shops. Fazer restaurant across street for breakfast buffet-lovely. Front desk service and bell service superb. From airport take finnair bus to downtown, walk 3 blocks to hotel, it is a safe walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Paper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    358
    114
    28
    12
See reviews for
234
481
112
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Centrally located “grande dame” hotel well aware of it’s glorious past and adjusting very efficiently to the present. The rooms in front, overlooking the “movida” Esplanade are well worth the extra price. The staff is exceptional, helpful, professional , kind and patient. Definitely your best choice in Helsinki.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My review is based on my experience of other 5 star hotels that I have stayed at. This hotel has a number of issues resulting in a disappointing stay. I was visiting Helsinki with family.

Room: I had the cheapest room option. Size and lay out was good, and the bed was comfortable. The decor is tired and needs updating, there was no iron or ironing board in the room [this was available in the premium rooms] and the thermostat didn't work making the room uncomfortably warm at night and sleep quality poor. I was informed that the engineer would be available during the week to fix the problem but no apology was made nor an offer to move rooms. As expected, WIFI was not included.

Bathroom: good size and excellent shower, only problem being that the shower had a tendency to leak and flood the bathroom!

Breakfast: The buffet breakfast was pleasant. Major issue was service. They did not have enough staff working on Sunday morning to cater for the large number of hotel guests attending for breakfast. The queue was was long, it took at least 20 minutes to get a table despite many empty but uncleared tables in the dining room. The staff were desperately trying to keep on top of the work load but were clearly short-staffed and there is only so much that one person can do. This is definitely not what is expected at a 5 star hotel.

Location: Excellent, in the center of Helsinki.

Would I stay here again? This was my second [and longer] stay. The hotel is popular, however this stay did not meet expectations and next time I will try another Helsinki hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finnishbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I will admit, this was my first trip to Helsinki, so I have not stayed in any other hotels there. However, I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and have never stayed in one as excellent as this one!! Yes, the prices are high, but after all, it is Europe! My room was very large and very, very comfortable. The chairs were comfortable and the bed was absolutely wonderful!! The location of the hotel was excellent as well. I was traveling with a planned group, so we had personal transportation. But in our free evenings, there was plenty to see and do within walking distance. The best thing about this hotel was the service. The staff were very, very pleasant, and went out of their way to provide outstanding service. I missed my wake-up call one morning because I had knocked the phone off the hook. A staff member came to my room to wake me up because they saw I didn't answer the phone. I have never, ever had that happen in any other hotel. Simply put: the best hotel anywhere!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel is renowned as one of the best in town. Loads of history, great public spaces and bedrooms with everything you could need.

So why just three stars? It's really hard to put your finger on it, but I didn't find this to be a comfortable hotel... and don't just mean in a physical sense. Indeed, the chairs and sofa in my room looked lovely but were hard and uncomfortable, but this is also an emotionless hotel. Not unfriendly, but a bit robotic.

There is a feeling that all this hotel needs to succeed is its location and history. That they can charge eye-watering prices in the bar because their normal clientele should be able to afford them otherwise they wouldn't be there...

Would I stay there again? Quite possible, but only for the SPG points.

I do understand that this review may not make sense to everyone and I am not sure that I have expressed myself very well.

It is quite likely that the hotel management will write one of those useless review responses in due course. I can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed with my family at the beautiful Kamp hotel from August 18th to 20th, it was a really unique special experience. Starting from the doorman / valet, then front desk staff, restaurant staff, managers on duty and all staff members were always very helpful, they all made our stay very comfortable and unforgettable. The rooms were impeccably clean every day and the food was great.
The hotel location is in the heart of the city and makes everything possible "walking distance".
The service received everyday at the hotel in every moment was excellent.
We didn’t find any bad details to make comments about it.
Congrats to all Kamp team members, you all are doing a great job and thank you for having us.
Henry contreras

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryContreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Kamp in mid-August 2014 for just one night. The Kamp is the grand old dame of Helsinki hotels. The exterior and public spaces are well-done and it has the best location in all of Helsinki - right next to the Esplanade and near the best shopping, great restaurants, the Kauppatori waterfront and fish market and other top sites. My room was on a high floor, but it faced the interior courtyard, so it had good light, but no view. The upside was that the room was very quiet (I imagine that rooms on the Esplanade side are somewhat nosier). The room was comfortable and well-sized (in particular, the bathroom was huge), but the carpet was pretty badly stained. Wifi in the room worked well, but was outrageously expensive (19 EUR per day); I was able to get that charge waived because I'm a Starwood Gold member. The gym was OK, but unfortunately, the sauna (which is free for all hotel guests) was broken. I had lunch at the Brasserie Kamp, which I thought was overpriced, even for expansive Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Haven
#8 of 65 in Helsinki
963 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 65 in Helsinki
343 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
411 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,119 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Property: Hotel Kamp
Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing