We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Hostel during my trip”
Review of Eurohostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurohostel
Reviewed 20 February 2014

First of all, it was a bit expencive, 50eur per night without a breakfast and free internet? I traveled to Nordkapp, and i can compare it to oders hostels during my trip.
second, in my bed i found somebodys few hair, and the wc smelled like one big urine tank - not clean!!

Paid internet access...in our times??

Not worth to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yoozva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Eurohostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

never seen as amazing bathrooms on a hostel, rarely in 3 star hotels.
takes 20~25 min to walk to the center, tram #4 neds 10 min and services frequently until 1.30 at night
probably not so much a oarty place as the communal kitchens need to be left by 11 pm (thats normal i have to admit) and no acceptable alternative is there
sauna in the mornings for free, in the evenings for small money available. free wifi if your HI-member, otherwise you have to py litte money

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank daftwullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hostel is a little outside of the town centre but easily reachable by the trams. It is only one or two stops from the Russian Orthodox Church which you can see quite easily around Helsinki.

The rooms are very clean and tidy. In fact this hostel is more like a hotel. I would recommend it as I would imagine hotels would be expensive in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

If youre looking for a place to meet people as a single/small group traveller this is definitely not the place as its like a large hotel. Convenient, good, clean accommodation, good value, short walk to centre, and the staff were super helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I had a one night stay at Eurohostel in November 2013 (I had a early flight from Helsinki-Vantaa airport following morning). Location of this hostel is great and it is easy to reach f.ex. by walking from the railway station or by tram (number 4 tram stop are just outside of the hostel building).

My room was upgraded one (with TV). Room price was quite cheap comparing to the hotel prices in Helsinki. Kitchen, toilet and shower found on the corridor. Room itself was OK, not very cozy but very peaceful to sleep and bed sheets were clean. Maybe the room cleaning should have been a little bit better (a little bit dust here and there).

Place is OK for short stay if you don’t mind that toilet and bathroom facilities are shared ones. Hostel neighborhood of is very nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinlandFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here as we were getting a flight the next morning from Helsinki airport to Ivalo and it wasn't as bad as I was expecting. Being my first time in a hostel I had always heard loads of horror stories however this one was clean and for the price we paid, great value! The staff were friendly and included in the price was a free morning sauna which is situated on the top floor.

The beds were not made but it wasn't problem as they came with clean sheets. It was rather cold but nothing that a hot shower wouldn't sort out. The bathroom had 3 shower cubicles, all clean and descent with a free hair dryer also. The kitchen had a large fridge/freezer which you could pay for and get your own key, a large sink with microwave and hob etc. Large TV with sitting area also.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had some pizza, we were greeted by a lovely man who worked on the bar and the food was good. Overall it was great for the price we paid but don't go there expecting luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiffy660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed in the back packers room (basic with only bed, wardrobe and table). The room was very clean and fresh! Bed linen was comfortable and i've had some of the best sleep in months, lovely view of the harbour if you are on a high floor and the facilities on offer were of excellent standard too (restaurant, sauna, bathrooms, kitchen). I appreciate the free wifi that i have received in other Eurohostel locations and I was suprised to find out that i had to pay for the wifi in the Helsinki location, 10 euro's or so for 24hrs of wifi was rather steep. The bathroom is shared when you book a backpackers room, it is located on the same floor so not very far when nature calls in the middle of the night! As a student i also received a 15% discount which was a very pleasant surprise and a great service to offer for students on a low budget trying to travel.

A great experience and a very high standard for a hostel, will visit if i am in Helsinki again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,742 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
2,310 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 66 in Helsinki
614 reviews
Hotel Helka
#13 of 66 in Helsinki
1,118 reviews
CheapSleep Helsinki
#21 of 28 in Helsinki
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurohostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurohostel

Address: Linnankatu 9, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range: £35 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Eurohostel 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurohostel - Close to the center, free wireless internet and morning sauna! Easy to come by tram and no curfew or lockout. Eurohostel is one of the largest hostels in Scandinavia that is open all year round. The hostel is located in central Helsinki in a unique part of the town close by the Market Square (Access to Suomenlinna sea fortress), Senate Square, Uspenski Cathedral and Allas Sea Pool. Also many other sights, shops and restaurants are within walking distance and the ferries from Stockholm and Tallinn and arrive just a few steps away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurohostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing