We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and affordable for downtown Helsinki”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Been here before and liked in both times. Located right next to Kamppi bus station/metro/shopping centre in central Helsinki, and even has its own taxi rank.

Rooms are decent, well mine was, a colleague had a smaller one they didn't like but the hotel quickly fixed it. I slept well and the best was nice though maybe a touch soft (both mattress and pillows) but personal preference. I liked the decor and amenities though, AC worked well, shower was excellent, towels nice, office desk and chair worked well, plugs sited usefully.

Breakfast is good, and you can ask for cappuccino etc, which gets you better coffee than the standard jug of filter coffee. Staff in all areas seem really very good - cheerful, helpful and efficient.

I will certainly be staying here next time I am in Helsinki, and I think the prices are very com petetive versus the generally high cost of everything in Finland.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building on the right (the one without the reception) seem a bit newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much your for nice feedback. It is nice to hear
that you relished to stay with us. And in particular I was delight to
hear that you experienced that service was succesfull and the
staff was doing good work. We have nice property, but it is the
service which makes us as an excelent hotel.
ps. As you mentioned special coffees are always available on
our Super breakfast.

Thank You and Welcome back

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel is perfectly located 10 minutes on foot to the Central Railway Station as well as 2 minutes on foot to the underground station "Kamppi". It is looking nicely from the outside and from the inside as well. Our room was huge, so was the bathroom. It only had a bathtub instead of a separate shower but coming from an apartment, we were very happy with what we had. It was nice and quiet.

Breakfast was good too. It was very crowded but luckily we could sit in the dinner area.

We stayed at a Radisson in Helsinki (apart from an apartment that was not worth it at all) before but we would definitely go back to this one! I can definitely recommend this hotel: area, location, service, interior. Good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. As you mentioned we are close to
everything. And thank you your nice words about of our staff.
Good service is our advantages and based on your feedback
we have been succesfull in that.


See you on you next Helsinki trip

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for one day on our wedding anniversary and I was extremely pleased with the service. I had notified the hotel in advance and they prepared a rose and a bit of sweets in our room for the surprise. Service at the lobby was extremely polite and fast, even though there were quite many customers coming at the same time.

The decoration of the hotel is pretty basic and plain, but the bed was comfortable, bathtub was big enough, and the floor heating and large mirror in the bathroom were definitely a plus. Location was one of the reasons we picked this hotel, because it's close to some nice restaurants, nightlife and movie theaters.

I was also pleasantly surprised of the breakfast, which had quite a large selection in my opinion. Only complaint I have about the breakfast is that bacon was a bit too overcooked, and I like crispy bacon. All in all didn't regret a bit staying in this hotel, definitely recommended for short visits in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juhovh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukka_vantsi, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your giving your feedback about your stay with us at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards
Joni Väisänen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I visited this hotel at the end of November
I felt the hotel is ok especially for quick visits for business. The check-in is quick and efficient. My room was rather small and with a very tiny bathroom. And the bathroom despite what I thought was marble it looked a bit tired and old. I appreciated the facilities in the room for a hot cup but that is kind of standards in the Nordics to be fair.
I could not use the sauna unfortunately as I arrived late and had to leave early.
Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukka_vantsi, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel in Helsinki.
We appreciate you taking the time out to give your feedback about us.

Kind Regards,
Joni Väisänen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed only one night. Room was ok; clean, little bit outdated decour, good bed - no complaints there. But the breakfast... I was waiting for a good breakfast with large selection of fresh fuits and breads and cold cuts, cheeses etc. But no. Terrible queue, no clean drinking glasses, no cutlery, no fresh fuits what so ever and all in all just a poor breakfast. So disappointed.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HanneSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukka_vantsi, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time out to give your feedback about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel.

Your comments will help us provice good products and serve our guests better.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Kind regards
Joni Väisänen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

After having a bad experience at the Best Western Katajanokka, we switched to the Radisson Blue Royal. We were much happier here. The rooms were clean and more spacious. The hotel was also centrally located near the railway station. The staff was pleasant. All in all, we had a good stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deniseandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukka_vantsi, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your giving your feedback about your stay with us at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind Regards
Joni Väisänen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of November with friends. Twin room was spacious, bathroom floor was heated. All very clean. Buffet breakfast had lots of choice. There are single-sex saunas in the basement, but they're only open for a couple of hours a day strangely. We walked all over Helsinki - never needed to use public transport - and we were happy with the location here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollytorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jukka_vantsi, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel in Helsinki.
We appreciate you taking the time out to give your feedback about us.
Sauna is warming daily from 7am to 10am and evening sauna is from 4pm to 10pm.

Kind Regards,
Joni Väisänen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#27 of 66 in Helsinki
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#24 of 66 in Helsinki
1,702 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
786 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £95 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing