We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly satisfying !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My trip to Helsinki in June-end 2014 was almost not going to happen (!) - because I could not get a single available room in any proper hotel in the city. Supposedly this is the peak season in Helsinki and they have a kind of festival going that blocked out all rooms everywhere!

I suddenly landed up a booking (by chance) with the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel. Must be not up to the mark, I thought - otherwise why on earth should rooms be available out here?

I admit, I started with a skeptical note.

I was in for a very pleasant note as the hotel turned out to be one that came with a spacious lawn and of course, spacious rooms. The room I got was a "basic" room by their definition, but it turned out to be quite spacious - much spacious that the Hiltons/Swissotels/Scandics I have stayed recently.

Surprisingly, I was upgraded to a 'busines class' category after 2 nights. I won't say the buisness class rooms are a class apart, but it can be safely said that they were a slight notch better. Room size seemed almost same as the other one - but the business class ones are at the top floor. They also come with free 'paid' channels and movie channels.

The hotel serves free breakfast which can be said quite 'above average'. To do better, they can consider altering the menu - I got the exact same menu for all the 4 nights I stayed.

The hotel is located centrally in the Kampii Centre region of Helsinki. Taxis are usually available at the door step of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni V, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Sanjay_GT,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

Our rooms are spacious and in Business Class Rooms include room service breakfast upon request or the Super Breakfast Buffet, Free TV entertainment package, Nespresso® gourmet coffee machine and electric kettle, Quality magazine, Free high-speed, wireless Internet and also Business Room guests can access the City Gym free of charge.

Thanks again for your feedback. Have a great summer!
Joni Väisänen
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just enjoy it! I had a very nice stay at the hotel. Very good breakfast and the room was fantastic! I liked that it was quiet so I could sleep well. I will come back as soon as I need to stay in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Tage N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni V, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Tage N,

We just want to say thank you: for having been our guest in Radisson Blu Royal Hotel and for writing such a kind review.

We want you to have a good night's sleep and regain energy during your stay at Radisson Blu Hotel in Finland, therefore, we have developed the Blu Dreams® experience. The cornerstone of the Blu Dreams experience is our own Magic Bed®. It caresses you with an intelligent foam mattress. The material reacts to body temperature and weight and molds individually according to the person. You can choose a pillow and duvet of your own liking from our wide selection.

It would be a pleasure to be your host again.

See you soon and have a great summer!
Joni Väisänen
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have been in this hotel about five times now and I have been saticefied in every visit. Service is very friendly and helpful and hotel miljöö is really really nice. Breakfest is perfect, especilly I love to have special coffees served in breakfest table of mine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Päivi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni V, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Päivi K,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are happy to read you liked the quality of our services.

Super Breakfast is an extensive buffet featuring a range of food items selected from the best of Continental, North European, and American cuisine. If you like to start your morning with a special coffee, just ask it from breakfast waiters and they will served it in the table.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Have a nice summer!
Joni Väisänen
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is my favorite hotel in Helsinki. I have been there 5 times. Every time the staff were good and ask my dreams. The food in Grill It restaurant was excellent (again). The room was lightly and silence. There was railway outside my window but no silence. It was short walking to city. I will be back.Thanks

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Marita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Marita V
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed. We look forward to see you many times more as our guest.
We are working on it, that Radisson Blu Royal Hki will be your favorite hotel in Helsinki in future too.

Have a great summer and see you


Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager


ps. Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Big and nice hotel located in Kamppi, 10 minutes walking to central station and the city center. Hotel is clean, excellent guest service. Large bright rooms with all possible features, excellent restaurant and bar. Breakfast could be better.

Room Tip: I had a room in the smaller building, 4th floor. The room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Igor R
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear you have
enjoined your stay with us. As you mentioned our rooms
are large and bright, but I am particularly delighted about
your comments about good customer service. Service is
vital in our industry, and I am glad to hear we have once
again succeeded in that.

Have a great summer and welcome back

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room looked a little tired and in need of a refurb, but was clean enough, and quiet. The WIFI was not of the highest signal strength, and dropped in and out pretty regularly.

Food in the restaurant was really good - good enough that I chose to eat in a couple of evenings, rather than go and find something outside.

Breakfasts were OK, as you'd expect from a business hotel, and included in the room price (which made doing my expenses easier!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Daear Andrew W

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you
have joined your dining experiencies in our Grill It
restaurant and breakfast- restaurant.
As you say Grill It it great steak restaurant with excellent
service.
Thanks for your comment about WiFi we have ingrease transmit
power to get excellent signal to all parts of the hotel. In most of
the places it has been very good until now. As you know our WiFI
works in all proberty and always included in roomprice.

Have a nice summer and welcome back

Best regards

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay here as it was very well located near the central rail station. Buffet breakfast was very good and they had a good selection of Gluten Free foods. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our air conditioning was not working the week that the temperatures were the hottest on record for May. There were a few odd things - one was that in a hotel with a sauna, why wouldn't there be bath robes in the room? Secondly if you want to use the gym you have to pay extra!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear 21 Ski

Thank you for your nice feedback. As you mentioned
we have good selection of gluten free foods in our
breakfast buffet. Air-conditioning we have passed now
for the summertime.Bath ropes you can request for all
rooms without aný extra charge.

I hope to see you again on your next Helsinki trip

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#29 of 66 in Helsinki
175 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#25 of 66 in Helsinki
1,603 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#22 of 66 in Helsinki
1,645 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £98 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing