We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Radisson standards not met”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Paris, France
1 review
“Radisson standards not met”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel requires a serious refurbishment. Rooms are old and gloomy. Staff isn't always very friendly, especially at the bar. Cleanliness of the room was doubtful. Mattress way too soft. Overall a disappointing experience that really doesn't meet the Radisson quality criteria.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Patrick S,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of our facilities during your stay. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.
If you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Jukka Väntsi our Front Office Manager.

Have a nice summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    677
    235
    55
    19
See reviews for
174
370
118
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is handy to the metro station,which is one stop from the main Helsinki rail terminal - useful for getting to other parts of Finland. Rooms are okay - not topt of the Radisson standard , but well appointed, of a good size, and function.

The breakfast buffet was fine, but make sure you eat before 9am as the last hour of breakfast is devoted to tidying everything away and not serving coffee nor attending to customers.

At other times of the day, the only hotel restaurant is based on barbecue - so if tat is not to your taste, you are vegetarian, or seeking options for children, internal dining and room service will not suit. There are plenty of other places to eat nearby, so you won't go hungry.

I had to chase Club Carlson points for this hotel stay as they did not accrue automatically, so watch your online statements carefully.

Room Tip: There are two halves of the hotel divided by the entranceway. I suspect the rooms in the east side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adl73x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni V, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear adl73x,
We just want to say thank you: for having been our guest in Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Helsinki and taking the time to write about your experience.

We will discuss with the breakfast staff and with our Restaurant Manager regarding the service at the breakfast.

In our Restaurant Grill it! we have a great new menu, and we have not forgotten children or vegetarians . We have an option for everyone. We have kid´s own special menu, options for the steak lover, and also menu for vegetarians.
Just remember, Everything taste better grilled!

When ever you are coming back to Helsinki, we are more than happy to accommodate you again.
Have great summer time!

Joni Väisänen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I spent one night here on a business trip.

I found this hotel to be quite nice, especially considering the prices on hotels in Helsinki. It's a few blocks from the train station and walking distance from most places in Helsinki. My room was a decent size, as was the bathroom. Bed was confortable. The internet was free, but of medium-to-slow speed. The included breakfast was quite complete, with many choices, including a few that should appeal to Asian customers. The bar is a bit basic, but OK. You can get access to the fitness club under the entranceway for €5 (free with the better rooms). The fitness club is very extensive, with as many types of machines crammed in to the space as it can hold. The machines are more basic designs, and getting old, but are well maintained. Note that since this is a club, there are a lot of pumped-up regular clients there also.

Some negatives:
Drinks at the bar were very expensive and very small portions.
The hallways could use a cleaning.
The reception can get crowded at times.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fe_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni V, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Eric T,
Thank you for your review.
It was our pleasure to be our host here in Helsinki.
Today we are updating our WiFi-connections, so on your next visit it will be better.
Thank you again for the time spent to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users.

Have a nice summer!

With regards
Joni Väisänen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The title is because I have never seen such a small bathroom in a hotel. It was almost at the reversing in stage. However many things going for this hotel. Friendly staff, great restaurant (the Grillit) free wifi, very central and the rooms are very clean. Large bed and very comfortable.
I had a very good meal in the restaurant and an excellent breakfast. I would stay again as the location is very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McLeodnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni V, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear McLeodnz,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Have a great summer!
With kind regards
Joni Väisänen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good hotel although rooms would deserve some refresh. It is well located in the city centre at walking distance from key tourisitic and business places. Extremely friendly and effective staff. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaureAndCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni V, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear LaureAndCo

Thank you for your kind remarks.

Here at the Radisson Blu Royal hotel we are very proud of our service and our staff. Everything what we do, we do it with Yes I Can-attitude.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Have a great summer!

With best regards
Joni Väisänen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

the hotel is perfect for relaxing because the rooms are very confortable, large and clean; the position is very near to the main square of the city center. Is really nice hotel even if prices of the room and of the resturant are quite more expensive than the hotel and the restaurant deserve indeed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Saurogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
800 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night in a standard room as part of a road trip trough 11 European countries with stays in 9 different Radisson Blu Hotels in 9 European capitals.

Parking under the hotel for 31 EUR/day. Good breakfast - according to invoice: "Breakfast is included in the room rate, the value is 5,00 EUR/person". Really good value!

Quiet room, slept very well and recovered fully from the night on the ferry between Stockholm and Turku.

Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni V, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Peter D,

It was a pleasure to be your host in Helsinki on your road trip.

We want to offer breakfast that nourishes both body and mind. A complimentary Super Breakfast® is a rich and varied buffet breakfast, famous for its fresh ingredients and local flavours as well as hotel’s own specialities.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you again when travel brings you back to our beautiful city!

Have a great summer!
Joni Väisänen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#33 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#23 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing