We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel close to the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Nice clean hotel situated apx 10 minutes walk from the city center. This time we had two nice nigths at this hotel, which has been our choice for the last 10-15 times we have been in Helsinki. Our toom was spacious and clean, at top floor, just a few meters from the Club Lounge we have the privilege to use. The use of the lounge is one of the main reasons for us to choose this hotel, as it has given us the possibility to have a glas of wine and a snack, or a quiet breakfast away from the rest of the guests. The breakfast offer in the lounge was no longer awailable, which we find very disappointing. We will for sure be back although the missing lounge-breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OsloRoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

I recently visited the Hotel on Business. It is situated very close to The Olympic Stadium, within easy distance of The Airport and not far from The City Centre.
The Restaurant is good with a complete Mediterranean style menu and Breakfast is varied with Traditional Scandinavian , Continental and European food on offer.
The rooms are spacious and well furnished and The Beds themselves offer a fantastic, comfortable Nights sleep.
Can highly recommend as stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed one night in the Crowne Plaza in Helsinki and we had a great time. I would definitely come back to this hotel if I visit Helsinki. We are a family of 5 with 3 small kids. None of the hotel booking websites allow to book a room for 5 people. I ended up calling the hotel directly and they told me that having 3 small kids is no problem if I stay in a Junior suite. I got the Junior suite, it came with a king size bed and a queen size pullout sofa bed. The room had modern Scandinavian furniture and it was very clean. The bathroom was fairly large and also very clean. Our room rate included a breakfast which was delicious. Smoked salmon, local cheeses, fresh breads, all sorts of pastries and lots more. We were very pleased!!!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly if you have any questions. They can help you find a suite for a large famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

I stumbled across the Crowne Plaza through lastminute.com and it was worth it. A great hotel which is about a 10 minute walk into town (easy). Staff are very knowledgeable about Helsinki and helpful in pointing out things to do. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasjlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I had high expectations for this hotel, specially because I boked a weekend away in Helsinki to celebrate my birthday. The building and the rooms are ok, but the attitude of the staff in reception was far from the experience I have became used to in the IHG hotels.

There was absolutely NO recognition of my Platinum IHG status at any point. I had to wait in the check in queue for almost 20 minutes. They didn't have a Priority Club express check in desk. It was a case of, fill this form, here's your key, go to your room. I would expect a welcome drink, or a treat in the room, but nothing. This was the first IHG property that didn't offer me an upgrade as per the terms of the rewards membership.

The room was adequate, very minimalist but with an unsightly broken wall, as you can see on the photos provided. I found the bed too narrow for 2 people and on my way out, I asked the receptionist/manager on duty if I could move to a twin room, without even looking at her computer she said 'no' and in a very patronising way started to explain that the only twin rooms they have are allocated to people who book them, as if I was a child. All the other suggestions I made in regards to the bed situation were met with negativity:

-Perhaps I could have a spare bed or rollaway bed? - NO, we don't have any

-What about just the mattress, so I can make myself a bed on the floor? - NO, we don't have any

-Do you have any rooms with a king size bed then ? - NO, all the beds are the same size

-Any rooms with a sofa, so I can try and sleep on it? - NO

In the end, her attitude was so bad, the fake smile, I decided to give up. I simply can't believe a hotel with over 300 rooms doesn't have any spare mattress in the whole building.

Not surprisingly, I had a bad night and my partner hardly slept. Not only narrow, the bed is also very hard. At least the pillows were good. And if you want to end it all, room 818 has a broken chain in the huge window, so it opens fully, a huge safety issue there.

The following day I requested a room change in the reception (or I would check out) and they found a twin room. It looked good but when I went into the bathroom to wash my hands, a very long black hair was wrapped around the bath foam, makes me wonder how dirty the rest of the room could be. This is also in the photos (we both have very short hair, so it was definitely someone else's hair. It is such a shame since the bedding is high quality and the rest of the bathroom looked very nice, with great bath robes and towels.

The pool area and the sauna were very good, clean and very large.

In the end I wish I had booked somewhere else. The only reason I chose this hotel was the rewards for loyalty and the usual perks for Platinum guests, since all I got was bad attitude, I might as well not be so loyal to the brand from now on.

Room Tip: front facing rooms have good view but noise from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear avs75,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Although living in Helsinki, decided to use the Crowne Plaza as the base for our wedding including international guests. Reason to choose was the location near to our home and the expectations of what is the brand Crowne Plaza and previous global experience. Sadly the reality in Helsinki proved as poor and as such a disappointment to ourselves and for our other guests who we referred. I should have know with the interest on initial enquiry when I was told that a group booking of about 15-20 guests was best made through the internet.

What made the hotel average was for starters the general service attitude each time i entered the hotel including check-in, taxi requests, food service and checkout. Next there was the failure to deliver the suite as booked by ourselves 6 months previous. Then there was the bar which closed at 12 and there were only drinks available in the room afterward meaning we and our guests had to go to the Scandic hotel nearby. Then there was the food which was very expensive and of very average standard irrelevant of price, then the coffee area in reception which was unclean and most often without milk and finally when checking out, there was not as much as a greeting no less a congratulations or a best wishes.

On top of all that, I received the automated customer survey from the hotel chain and being anxious to share my disappointment I tried to complete a very long winded survey which crashed twice near the end and created even more annoyance.

Just a poor experience

Room Tip: Not much more to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Donal C,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights,we came to see Muse at the Olympic Stadium which was a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The finnair bus is an easy way to get from the airport
to your hotel-and back again at only 6,30 euros, it runs every 20 minutes.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful-we had a queen smoking room, which shows some age, but was clean and comfortable.It also has a safe to use free of charge and free Wi-Fi.
The breakfast was included in the price we paid- and well worth it. The choice was amazing, you could have anything from cooked breakfast, cold meats, bread, cereals, fruit, sweet cakes and more. You have as much as you liked-go up as many times as you liked......or do like some nationalities and load your plate up until you can't see over the top!!!!!
We knew before we arrived that it would be pricey so we were prepared, the food in the Macu resturant was good value and very tasty-the waitresses/waiters and bar staff were extremely nice and helpful.

You can walk in to the city, which takes about 10/15 minutes, we walked everywhere....although crossing the road is an art we had to master!
Had a great time and would highly recommend ++++++
We came all the way from Teignmouth Devon and was well worth it :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassyann30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
700 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Park Helsinki
#24 of 66 in Helsinki
1,937 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,196 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#22 of 66 in Helsinki
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £83 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing