We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Average business hotel. I stayed in a club room on the 9th floor. Best was the quiet and comfortable bed. Wireless was erratic in room, best signal close to door. Club lounge nearby for hot drinks at any time. Friendly staff. Very busy hotel hence breakfast room always overcrowded.

Room Tip: Select a high floor. Not very close to city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Andee3,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note your positive comments on our hotel staff, comfortable bedding and club lounge. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that our wireless connectivity was erratic. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We arrived in Helsinki from Singapore very early in the morning. We were not able to check in as the hotel was full the night before, however, the young guy at check in said we were welcome to go to the gym downstairs and have a shower and freshen up after the long flight. We then left our luggage and he apologies for the room not being ready which was not his fault as the hotel was full. He took our bags and gave us a umbrella and said the room would be ready in a few hours. We walked in to the city centre which is only about 15 mins or you can get the tram outside the hotel. On our return a few hours later the room was ready and it was a good size. We were very impressed with the service we received and will consider staying again on a return visit.
Deb & Pat
Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: The room on the front was good, nice view over the park and the lake and not noisy even with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank refuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I really liked this hotel. There was lots of space in the room.The staff was helpful, both at the reception and in the breakfast room. I will for sure come back. Booking was made through an internet site and therefore the price was reasonable.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Anders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I frequently visit the CP Helsinki on business. Although I have a few gripes the hotel is consistently good and manages to retain my business as a frequent guest.

Location is good and the town center can be reached in 10 mins on foot. Breakfast is excellent and offers a wide selection. IHG Rewards members are recognised and upgrades frequent.

On the negative side, room cleaning is often lacking. Bedding is never changed even on stays of a week and often the bathroom is not properly cleaned. Most staff at reception are excellent but a few are not the most friendly.

With a few tweaks to the soft product this really would be an excellent not just good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 915Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Looking at the hotel reception and elevator hall you wouldn't expect a very modern and new room - but they are and it was a great surprise, easy to connect internet, superbly clean bathroom. Breakfast was good as well.
2 single duvets in a queens bed was the only miss in my point of view - if this is fixed together with giving the lobby a more modern look, it will be imbeatable!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank MrsPatriciaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were on a weekend vacation and had a promotion discount rate for Crowne Plaza Helsinki.
Welcoming staff, and impressing lobby area, though the hotel was built in the 1970s. First we got a smoking room and the minibar didn't work. A quick call to the reception and everything was organized in 5 minutes (The receptionist brought new key cards us to room) and we were accommodated to a bigger room which had a nice view to the Mannerheiminkatu and was non-smoking.
Breakfast was fine - as usual in Finland - with lots of choices. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Make it clear that you want a non-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We tried the Crowne Plaza Helsinki for a one night trip to the capital. We chose this hotel partly because they offer on-site parking at the hotel in their own garage.

Our first impressions were positive, the hotel was clean, the staff was courteous and the interior and decor of the hotel was at the higher end of the spectrum. Admittedly the age of the hotel is starting to show, but it wasn't of any bother to us. We requested a room on the higher floor and the hotel sure delivered, our room was on the 7th floor and had a great view to the park.

The room itself was really nice, clean, big enough for two and in good condition. The only negative was the poor sound insulation on the windows, you could hear the traffic from the busy streed below. As an upgrade recommendation, I think they should upgrade the insulation to modern day level.

We booked our room including the breakfast buffet, which was great. There was a multitude of choice, and no matter if you eat a "regular" diet, low-carb or whatever, you'll find many things to eat. The quality of the food was also top notch and their coffee was excellent.

The hotel is located a little bit outside the innermost center of the city, which was a good thing for us because we came in by car. As said earlier, the hotel has their own parking garage, and when you go to the city from the hotel you can either walk (about 15 mins), take a tram from the nearby stop or take an expensive taxi. Personally I recommend walking if the weather is nice, there are a few nice sights to see on the way and the distance to Forum shopping center for example is about 1,5 km's.

All in all I can recommend the Crowne Plaza Helsinki both for couples and business travellers.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kjn000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
764 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,507 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Park Helsinki
#26 of 66 in Helsinki
2,072 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,231 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £81 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing