We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Scandinavia Tour - Crowne Plaza, Helsinki” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Scandinavia Tour - Crowne Plaza, Helsinki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Crowne plaza as part of the Fjord Norway, Stockholm & Helsinki tour arranged through Authentic Scandinavia.

Pros: Reasonably sized room with a good bathroom (compact) bath, plenty of storage, and "standard" amenities including iron and ironing board, safe, tea and coffee and biscuits/sweet supplied every day. Comfortable bed. Ventilation was good and the temperature easily adjustable, plus windows could be opened. Breakfast was excellent and included hot items and food cooked to order. Our room overlooked Toolonlahti "lake" and the city, which was lovely. The room was always kept clean. Service was a little abrupt sometimes, but always polite. Bag storage was available and used. A taxi was almost always available outside the hotel entrance.

Cons: not really any. The hotel is a little out of the centre, but a 10 minute walk takes you there, and transport is plentiful on the road outside. Some of the decoration looked a little tired (largely in the corridors), but our room was fine. Limited English channels - but there are some available (largely news) and Finnish channels do show films in English and some UK/US series (this seems to be standard across most of Scandnavia).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Eagull,

thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad to hear that you liked our hotel rooms and our service.

We hope to see you in our hotel soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    462
    126
    32
    20
See reviews for
84
222
106
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Convenient location. Very close to city centre but can be expensive if not booked early....
Restaurant/bar has good beer and good dessert...
Good experience overall...
Rooms can be better but are spacious enough... Tv is confusing not many English channel...
View from hotel is pretty good (if on higher floor)..

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Raghunand_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Raghu I,

thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porvoo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel has an interesting history and Crowne Plaza has managed to update the interior while respecting some of the grandioso going back in time when this hotel was the number one in Helsinki. Lobby area is spacious yet a little unsurprising. Check-in on arrival was efficient and welcoming. The first impression is important. My room was on the 8th floor; modern, clean and quiet. Excellent matress, a pillow menu, good quality linen, well equipped bathroom, a good size tv. Service was good all around during my stay. Breakfast was ok - I have had better but also much worse. Downtown is a fairly short stroll away but I kind of like the location as it is close to the park and also offers a bit shorter travel time to and from the airport vs. downtown hotels.
Töölö area is interesting with plenty of good quality restaurants and a special atmosphere.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quieter and some of them offer a great view over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottingfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear globetrottingfin,

thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Helsinki and for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked our hotel and our service. Positive feedback is always nice to hear and it motivates our staff to try even harder.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at that hotel only for one night, as I was in Helsinki for business. The location was convienient for my meeting but it isn't super central. I have arrived very late at night. The check in was smooth and quick. I was upgraded to an executive suit, which was very nice. The suit was huge with a separate living room an dthebedroom and a very nice and large bathroom. Sheets were of a very good quality and so where the toiletries. I have ordered room service and it was good plus the service although it took a bit long was very nice. Wifi was included in the rate and the breakfast, which was delicious. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Pysiu,

thank you for your stay in Crowne Plaza Helsinki. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our hotel and our service. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff.

We look forward seiing you soon again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here for two weeks on business. Great location slightly out of Centre which if staying on business allows you to unwind due to it's location. Opposite a park and lake with a beach ten mins walk in the other direction. I deal for walking with plenty of restaurant options. Hotel well cared for if not perhaps the most modern, Superb gym and Sauna. Breakfast good but buffet positioning needs sorting; all the popular items are next to each other causing mini people traffic jams!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Simon D,

thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the location of our hotel. I will pass your comments about the breakfast buffet also to our restaurant.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward of welcoming you to Crowne Plaza Helsinki soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legnano, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was my third time in this hotel, and I can reccomend it as a solution for business reasons. It is located at walking distance from the Esplanade and also offers good connections with public transportations and airport shuttle is available (Finnair).
The hotel has reasonably clean rooms, comfortable beds, even though a little bit dated. Bathroom too small for my expectations, and shower was available only in the bathtub. Breakfast: fair quality and variety.
I didn't use the restauarant at dinner. Wifi is available free of charge and it worked perfectly. Fitness room was also ok.
They could improve the international tv channels availability.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sangermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear sangermain,

thank for your stays in our hotel and for taking time to write your comments. I am glad that you like our location and breakfast and that you think our hotel is good for business travellers.

We hope to see you soon again in Crowne Plaza Helsinki.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night for business.
Used to stay there a couple of times before many years back. Hotel slightly changed. Hotel and rooms better before.
Nice lounge at 9th floor, but hardly no snacks or food.
Relatively high priced for Helsinki center.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 66-Route
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear 66-Route,

thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking time to leave your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide great service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

The hotels in Helsinki are very occupied in June and the rates are higher than during the low season.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write to us. I do hope that you give us the chance of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#25 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing