We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
291 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here with my wife, so experience is from 29 years old couple. We was staying in Junior suite and it was not bad at all (for finnish standards anyway).

Hotel itself is clean and cozy. Everything looks good and it still has that "freshness".
Breakfast was not bad and service was ok.

Only problem we had is that when we was checking in we got absolutely no information about anything what comes with the suite, that is breakfast in the room or free movies or whatsoever, because obviously we would of used those possibilities. However They kindly fixed that by giving us a discount when we was checking out - so all good there.

Location is great also, not in the middle of heaviest traffic, but still very close to everything.

We are ready to come back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prkl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear prkl08,

Greetings from Helsinki to Tampere, I hope everything is well in there.

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us and with another users, and of course I need to apologize the inconvenience that you didn´t receive any information what was including to your suite.

Normally we explain upon arrive what is including for booked room type and we even give Welcome letters for Businesss Class and Suite guests. I am really sorry about our mistake, even you have already gotted some discount I kindly ask you to contact me directly when ever you visiting again in Helsinki.

With warm regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    713
    138
    38
    16
See reviews for
305
620
118
608
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
1,632 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A subtle, but so nice made renovation of this city hotel. Radisson as it,s best. Smart decor, comfortable rooms,Usually you found a impressing lobby and mediocre room. Well here we have the opposite with modern and design well planned rooms with nice beds etc.Design with a thought. The breakfast is a treat, with exception for O.J and.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phayao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Phayao13,

Thank so much for your wonderful review! It is always a pleasure to read comments like yours, thank you for sharing your experiment with other Tripadvisor users.

We wish to see you soon back in Plaza!Have a great winter time!

With warm regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for a weekend city break. The airport bus drops you off at the bus terminal which is a 5 minute walk away from the hotel in the centre of Helsinki.

Quick and hassle free check in. The room was as you would expect from a Radisson - large comfortable bed, nice decor, warm and large bathroom. And of course the astronomically expensive mini-bar.

Breakfast is buffet style with a mix of pastries, cheeses, cereals and cooked (bacon and eggs etc.) You won't leave hungry.

There's a fantastic bar across the road from the hotel that sells a wide varierty of beer (local and imported.)

Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook a lively bar (an Australian themed bar) that is open till early in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bilbodotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Bildodotcom,

Thank you so much for your amazing review and for taking the prestigious time to write about your experience. It is always a pleasure to read reviews like yours.

We have renewed our rooms recently and also all our restaurant and bars.
TIP: You can also, as an hotel guest, listen live music on fridays and saturadays free of charge in our Bar 7 Blings. Of course everybody is warmly welcome to have some fun!

An behalf of our Team Plaza I wish you a great winter time!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel was clean, comfortable, convenient and the staff was friendly and helpful. We had a fabulous breakfast each morning, excellent lunch in the restaurant and drinks in the very cozy library bar.We would definitely return to this hotel if we found ourselves back in Helsinki (one can only wish).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chilibeans70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Chilibeans70,

Thank you so much for your positive review. Specially we love the title of your writing "Do not skip breakfast". I personally also think that the breakfast is the most important meal of the day - and from our Super Breakfast you can find almoust everything what you need.

It´s lovely to hear you liked our rooms, bars and other facilities. Som hope to meet you soon again here at Plaza!

Have a great winter time!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We arrived at Helsinki Airport and caught the bus 615 (public bus which cost 4.50 EURO (They don't except credit card), it stops at many stops. If you want a shorter and more comfortable journey (room to store your luggage plus comfy chairs) to the city, you should use the airport bus, Finair which is more expensive (except credit card). We got off at the stop at Helsinki central station which was only 5-6 min walk from the Hotel

We were checked in by their friendly and helpful staff which made us feel at home.
Our room was lovely and comfortable too and we had a great night sleep which made us so looking forward to breakfast!

After breakfast which was delicious we were checked out by lovely and helpful staff at reception who fetched me a box of hand tools to fix my sunglasses for me. I was so grateful and made me even more looking forward to our trip to Rovaniemi in Lapland!

We took the NO.615 public bus outside the Helsinki Central Railway station to the Helsinki Airport. The bus was packed with commuters got on to the bus at each stop and no room for luggage so it was not comfortable. Wish we took the Finair bus!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lipsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Lipsytravel,

Thank you so much for your kind review! It is always a great joy to read reviews like the one you wrote.

I hope you had time to do some shopping and sightseeing while in Helsinki. For all that the hotel really is conveniently situated because almost all the main sited are within walking distance. And to everywhere else it is easy to catch a train or bus.

I really liked your comments concerning about our staff and services, It is our passion to serve our guests as friendly as we can - our motto is: We love what we do - with the Yes I Can! -attitude.

Our whole Team Plaza wishes you a lucky year 2014!

With kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A modern clean hotel with all the usual facilities including sauna. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the city centre and bus and train stations. The staff were friendly and helpful, suggesting good places to eat etc. Breakfast was a little disorganised but after three days we had found where everything was! Nice bar and restaurant.
An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Brendan R,

Thank you for your kind review.

It is always nice to read reviews like this, I truly liked that you enjoyed your stay with us, and of course your comments concerning about our staff - I will forward your feedback to them. I need to apologize your experience during breakfast - we will take look about occupation during the rush hours.

Hope to see soon back in Plaza! Take care and have nice New Year 2014!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had shows to do in Espoo and Sipoo. Helsinki was out of the way, but this place made it worth it! Very clean, spacious for Europe, and a very nice, attentive staff. Like with most hotels in Finland, their English is perfect. It's in a great location, so close to the epicenter of the city. I wish I stayed in hotels like this more often!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear RussianBear12,

Thank you so much for your nice review.

I´t so lovely to hear you really enjoyed our stay here at Plaza hotel. I´ll forward your kind regards to our staff, it makes me so proub about them when recieving reviews like yours.

I wish to see you soon back in Plaza! Have nice New Year 2014!

Warmest Regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Rezidor, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing