We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great Sokos Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
findlay, oh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great Sokos Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We enjoyed the Sokos hotel in St. Petersburg, Russia so much, we booked this one. And were happy we did. It is a very nice hotel. It is clean and the service is great. Any type of shopping or dinning you would want are within a half mile walk. The food at the hotel is great. Every employee spoke great English. Bus, Streetcar, and subway very close.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt and Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear veronikipedia,
Thank you for your stay with us here in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti and this encouraging feedback. We will do our best that these good experiences will keep up happening when you are returning back as our guest.
Best regards from Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    435
    285
    72
    25
See reviews for
154
215
105
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

been to this hotel all my life, as my mum used to travel alot and i have my grandad only an hour away by car. fantastic service and rooms.
finland is an amazing place, if you have never been please do go! all the hotels in helsinki are fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Tanja C,
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear these comments from our frequent guest as you. It was a pleasure to read your lovely comments regarding our facilities and most of all service which you have received while staying in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. We are waiting your next visit with us in a near future. Best regards,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Isa, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Reasonable Hotel if you just want to be lost among the hordes . Not much in the way of personal service . Breakfast was reasonable but very bland and food not replenished as needed . Room was okay but dated and bathrooms prone to flooding as no maintenance seemed to be done on a regular basis . Unfortunately all three of our rooms had no black out curtains and made it very difficult to sleep . The hotel was in a reasonable location to the railway and bus services but was a long walk to town .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dulcie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel is within walking distant to museum, train station and major shopping centers. There is one shopping mall just right behind the hotel. But you have to walk one round from the entrance, only if they could open the back door, you can simply cut down the walking by half. There are 3 PC free to use at the lobby. As this hotel comes together with my tour package, I regret that I could not provide the price...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0909Elaine0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

It is an average large hotel with quite comfortable, good size rooms. Sleep quality is very nice!
Breakfast is a chaos, loads of people in a big hall. Not the nicest of breakfast rooms. Breakfast itself is okay, but bacon is not well made (part burned, part undercooked).

I use this hotel every time I get a good price and I have business on that side on the city. Parking isn't great either, but that's the way it is in Helsinki.

If you are up for an amazing dining experience in Helsinki, restaurant Farang is quite close to the hotel. It is pricey, but totally worth it. Make sure to book a table well in advance!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PyynikinParoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. The hotel is located in the centre of Helsinki, yet the room we had was very quiet. The staff is friendly and the room is of a decent size and clean. Everything worked very well, and the breakfast was excellent. The price was reasonable considering the quality of the hotel. I would definitely recommend this and visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helpyourselfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel has a beautiful lobby, a decent breakfast, and comfortable beds. If I recall, it was one of the few hotels on our trip to Europe that had air conditioning. We also ate at the hotel's restaurant, but it was not a finnish restaurant. It was decent but a bit pricey. The hotel was packed but the receptionists did a great job at helping everyone. The hotel is right in the city center. It is a short walk (five minutes) to the train station and Finnair bus which takes you to the airport. The hotel was clean and I didn't see another hotel that looked like it was any better from the outside nearby. The Vaakuna hotel next to the train station was above many stores and it was noisier there. So I think it was worth it to walk an extra five minutes to stay at this hotel. Breakfast was actually above average. It was a very large room which was good because it was packed. From the hotel it is about a ten maybe 15 minute walk to the Cathedral. I'm not sure if I will travel to Helsinki again, but if I do, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europeantraveler0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#21 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Address: Etelaeinen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing