We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Impersonal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is large and excellently placed not far fro main railway station in central Helsinki. Great place to see a pleasant city centre.

Reception is functional and impersonal, but efficient.

Rooms are satisfactory, but need refurbishment. There is a serviceable bar and a restaurant where staff struggle to provide options and engage fully in what you want.

Breakfast is good, with a wide variety of choice of decent food options. Drinks are weak, rather nasty juices, and coffee distinctly average.

Reasonable place to stay and easily accessed. If you are seeking attentiveness and very good quality, however, there may be better options

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

"+"
- location is perfect; central railway station, Finnair city bus stop (~30 minutes to Helsinki airport) is about 3-4 minutes away
- rooms are maybe a little bit outdated and the hotel itself inside is not so fancy as on outside, but it worths the money they ask for, it's not terrible, it's just for quick overnight accommodations
- the hotel is Russian language friendly, and although it's not really that important for me, a lot of elder Russians who don't speak any other languages could be more satisfied here
"-"
- elevators, need to be redesigned ASAP, they're truly outdated looking

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows at Arkadiankatu street, it's never quiet there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We (2 adults.1 2yo) stayed here for one night. Room was very spacious. It had 2 regular beds, one extra bed and a baby bed. The room itself was like a time trip to the 70'. wood panels? really?
Bathroom was bit small but the bath tube was nice.
Breakfast was good.
Service was really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iHeartBklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear iHeartBklyn,

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us of your experience on your recent stay in our hotel.
I sincerely regret that the hotel facilities did not completely meet your expectations but then it is my pleasure to share your encouraging comments with our front desk staff about their service skills.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

disco going on to 0200 and trucks starting to unload just outside the rooms starting at 0530 made this stay totally unpleasant. So if you plan to sleep in your hotel, dont stay here, hotel ok in other aspects, but nothing special

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We spend one night in this hotel and the service was very nice. We got our rooms very early so many thanks for that to the receptionist. Rooms were nice and spacious but a little bit outdated. Breakfast was great and the staff in the hall was very kind. So thank you and greetings from Lapland!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Hi Jenni R.
Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your staying in our hotel. Especially is nice to hear that our service was succeeded. We hope to see you again in Sokos Hotel Presidentti!
Best wishes, Juha Sundqvist Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Overall the hotel is good. Has swimming pool, is in a very good location, close to the Chapel of Silence, and Stone Church. It has pleasant and friendly staff and decent breakfast. The only thing I would improve are the details in the rooms. There were things that can be repaired or enhanced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigylp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear gigylp, Thank you for choosing our hotel when staying in Helsinki and this supportive feedback. Your message is nice to take forward to our staff. We wish you warmly welcome back to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. All the best, Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed two days in this hotel on a business trip to Helsinki in February. The hotel has a very convenient location in central Helsinki and is close to the main railway station and the airport buses (5 min walk).
It is a big and busy hotel which results in what was experienced as less personalized service levels but still efficient. The breakfasts were "ordinary" but OK and the guest room had all required amenities, free WiFi a comfortable bed.
My first visit to this hotel in Helsinki - but most likely not the last!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olav Egil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
784 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#38 of 66 in Helsinki
659 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#18 of 66 in Helsinki
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelaeinen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £103 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing