We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel which is ideally situated!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is ten minutes walk from the railway station from where a Finnair coach service operates to the airport and it is just off the main shopping street.
It is a very large hotel with a large number of conference delegates there when I visited. Although a little dated it is very comfortable with a pleasant bar and a Spanish restaurant.
The rooms are adequately furnished though coffee making facilities are absent from the room.(There is a 24 hr service of coffee and cakes in the lobby which operates reasonable prices.)
You do have to be fairly nimble to reach the over bath shower as the sliding door rail adds a few extra inches to the height of the bath!
Although the hotel is labyrinthine , plenty signage is provided above every point where a decision has to be made!
The is a more than adequate buffet breakfast with the usual foods on offer plus Finnish fish specialities and despite a very busy dining room, the staff do a superb job in rapidly clearing tables. So much so that if you return to the buffet, you may find your coffee cup has been cleared away.
Check in is laboriously slow. This may be due to the Finnish relaxed attitude but also due to the fact that you need to fill in a registration document then you are given breakfast vouchers, a discount coupon for the bar and an offer coupon for the Spanish restaurant.
I would happily recommend this hotel.
The only hotel nearer to the airport bus is its sister hotel,, Sokos Hotel Vaakuna.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard or the side streets leading to the Kampii Centre.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel with group of sommeliers in March 2014 at time of Viiniexpo fair.
Welcome was friendly, but because of we arrived early than normal check-in time, part of our group can't get their rooms. Ok, it was normal, but it takes about 20 minutes to get this information from reception. Fortunately the luggage room is located beside the reception and we left our cases there.
Room was clean and equipped with 2 single beds as we requested. Flat-TV, minibar, climatizing system, coffee corner were part of equipment of this room. All things in bathroom were works properly. Way to the room from elevator was very long and it's very easy to get lost in passage if you don't notice the signs with indications of room numbers right time.
Sleeping quality was technically good (bed, blackout curtains etc), but drunken youngsters were make big noise in some our neighbour rooms.
Breakfast was good and choice of different food was ok.
Hotel have private nightlclub, but it was boring. Only some visitors who was drink beer.
Free wi-fi works very well both in rooms and in lobby-area.
Hotel location is very good. About 1-1,5 km walking from center, tram station is nearby, some free taxis were always front off the entry of hotel.
I put 3*** because of lost of time in reception and because of bad sleeping quality due to noise. In principle - in better day 4**** must be more real.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is large and excellently placed not far fro main railway station in central Helsinki. Great place to see a pleasant city centre.

Reception is functional and impersonal, but efficient.

Rooms are satisfactory, but need refurbishment. There is a serviceable bar and a restaurant where staff struggle to provide options and engage fully in what you want.

Breakfast is good, with a wide variety of choice of decent food options. Drinks are weak, rather nasty juices, and coffee distinctly average.

Reasonable place to stay and easily accessed. If you are seeking attentiveness and very good quality, however, there may be better options

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

"+"
- location is perfect; central railway station, Finnair city bus stop (~30 minutes to Helsinki airport) is about 3-4 minutes away
- rooms are maybe a little bit outdated and the hotel itself inside is not so fancy as on outside, but it worths the money they ask for, it's not terrible, it's just for quick overnight accommodations
- the hotel is Russian language friendly, and although it's not really that important for me, a lot of elder Russians who don't speak any other languages could be more satisfied here
"-"
- elevators, need to be redesigned ASAP, they're truly outdated looking

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows at Arkadiankatu street, it's never quiet there
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We (2 adults.1 2yo) stayed here for one night. Room was very spacious. It had 2 regular beds, one extra bed and a baby bed. The room itself was like a time trip to the 70'. wood panels? really?
Bathroom was bit small but the bath tube was nice.
Breakfast was good.
Service was really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iHeartBklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear iHeartBklyn,

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us of your experience on your recent stay in our hotel.
I sincerely regret that the hotel facilities did not completely meet your expectations but then it is my pleasure to share your encouraging comments with our front desk staff about their service skills.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

disco going on to 0200 and trucks starting to unload just outside the rooms starting at 0530 made this stay totally unpleasant. So if you plan to sleep in your hotel, dont stay here, hotel ok in other aspects, but nothing special

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We spend one night in this hotel and the service was very nice. We got our rooms very early so many thanks for that to the receptionist. Rooms were nice and spacious but a little bit outdated. Breakfast was great and the staff in the hall was very kind. So thank you and greetings from Lapland!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Hi Jenni R.
Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your staying in our hotel. Especially is nice to hear that our service was succeeded. We hope to see you again in Sokos Hotel Presidentti!
Best wishes, Juha Sundqvist Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
958 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#26 of 64 in Helsinki
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelaeinen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £104 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing