We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Paasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked this hotel after the reviews online, and certainly didn't regret it. Ok it is a little out of the main area, but we really liked that it meant that we could get away from the hussle and bussle and yet it wasn't far from it all. There is a supermarket just round the corner, so great if you want to buy little bits and bobs, and the metro is also nearby. We got the bus in from the airport and the metro to the hotel, but I noticed that one or two people said it was near the airport bus so it might be worth checking if you can get off before the end? On the return journey we booked a shared cab from the hotel at a reasonable price. We also ate at the adjoining restaurant which we thought was good value and seems to be used by the locals.

We found the reception staff to be very friendly and helpful going out of their way to print out maps, directions etc - really liked them. The breakfast staff were also very good, constantly clearing dishes and replenishing the food. Ten minutes before the end of breakfast a very smiley lady came round the tables warning that they were finishing in ten minutes and if we needed anything to get it before they finished. It was great as well the food was topped up right up to the end, no half empty dishes 15 minutes before they finished. Even as a vegetarian there was lots of choice, we thought the breakfast was excellent. The drinks dispenser was something to behold!

The only slight negative was that we choose to "save the environment and skip cleaning" which we took too mean using cleaning liquids etc, but it meant they didn't come into the room at all not even to empty the rubbish, I think that would have been nicer if they just came in to empty the rubbish and pull up the bed. The products in the bathroom were very nice. Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear RayandSteve,
We feel so happy and think it is so great you found us. And by sharing your so friendly review you are giving us an important gift, helping other future readers to do hopefully the same found, thank you so much. How delightful to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and found our staff friendly and helpful. We would like to apologicy so much by confusing you with our newest environmental message and idea, which game up from our guests who regularly visits us for many nights in a row. They wished for an easy tool to communicate to us, that during a certain day or during the whole stay they would like us to skip our daily cleaning visit in their room. We are eco-labeled hotel and therefore we are using only eco-friendly cleaning liquids. We are also constantly looking for new ways of being part of eco-friendly world but most importantly we are trying to do our very best so that you would enjoy your stay and get beatiful memories to bring back home with you. During your next visit, which we are so much looking forward, we suggest kindly that let's not use that tool and instead let's do our daily cleaning for your room. Our best regards to you to London. Hope to meet you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    462
    79
    11
    8
See reviews for
184
463
95
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We arrived for our three night stay on a very warm day in August, only to find that the air conditioning in our room was malfunctioning and the window did not open. After a couple attempts on the part of the staff to remedy the problem, we were settled in a different room, one with a balcony, for the rest of our stay. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located away from the heart of the city, but an easy walk, and even easier tram ride, to any of the central sights. The immediate neighborhood includes a lively flea/farmers market, a park, and many restaurants and shops. Altogether a perfect setting! Our room was quiet at night.

The breakfast buffet was delicious and offered many different treats. The staff was friendly and helpful, spoke perfect English. I would gladly stay there again if I return to Helsinki.

Room Tip: We appreciated having a room with a balcony, rather than a room where the windows did not open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaracy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear barbaracy247,
It was a huge pleasure for us to have you and your family as our guest. Thank you forgiving us the malfunctioning air contioning in your first room. We are so sorry about it. You are absolutely right, rooms with a private balcony are very nice and uniq especially during the Finnish summer time. We are so happy to be able to offer all together 43 rooms of 170 with a balcony. Your friendly comment: you would gladly stay with us again if return to Finland delights us so much. We truly hope you and your family would return some day. Our best regards to you to Washington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

From the first friendly greeting to the final assistance with ordering a taxi, the staff were friendly and courteous throughout my stay. The room is modern but clean and I had a small balcony which caught the sun. Slightly odd mix of styles throughout, some parts are deliberately retro others Scandinavian minimal but the hotel apeared new, well maintained and clean.
The A la carte restaurant is very reasonable and due to uncharacteristic blizzards in April, I was not inclined to search for a restaurant outside the hotel. The business lunch was a more formal affaire but nevertheless good food and service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c4fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear c4fc,
Thank you for choosing Scandic Paasi for your business trip last April. Your profile picture is so charming with an adorable baby. Please remember that if planning to travel with your dear family, we have very cozy and spacious rooms to offer for family needs also. Our best regards to you to Twickenham and hope to see you soon again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Okay, Scandic has been around but the new Paasi Hotel is something Special.

I am not talking about the kitschy decor or wannabee Swedish trendy style choices but the Quality of Service from the People there is great.

Location OK. Easy taxi from Airport in 20 mins /40 euros. 18 Minute walk to center or 6 Minute tram ride/3 euros.

At check in I was warmly welccomed in English and my poor Finnish was coached and complimented.

The check in was quick, easy and professional, all with a smile.

the room was nice, a bit dark with Color choices and the punching bag scared me, i thought my neighbor might have had one and in a drunken fit started pounding on my wall at 03:00 in the morning but it never happened. I suggest the Management take them out as a precaution.

The breakfast was awesome! Loved the organic oatmeal (Finns call it Porridge).

Everything else was great. Qualtiy, freshness and selection.

Could only add paper go Cups with lids for coffee on the run.

This is my new favourite Hotel in Helsinki....if they would only lower the rates a bit!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milexz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear milexz_11,
Your review is so friendly and positive, thank you. Our team members sends you their best regards with smiles. They are so happy you found their service welcomed. We hope to see you soon again. For you next visit we have paper go cups with lids for you :). And please let us introduce you to our two other interior design themes; concious and spectacular. You might enjoy them also. What an honor to be your new favourite hotel in Helsinki. Thank you - that sentence means a lot to us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our stay started out perfectly. The girl at the reception was so friendly and informative. Actually I have to say that this was so far the best check in experience that I have ever had. It made us feel very welcome.
We upgraded our room to superior extra and it was a great choise. Room had a small sauna and nice balkony. (Not all superior extras have sauna, so remember to ask one with it). Otherwise the room was nice and clean but rather small. Room also provided bathropes, slippers and toiletiers.
Breakfast was also very very good.

Nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Over all it is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Tiina R,
Your beautiful words about best check-in experience ever gives a huge amount of positive energy to our team members. Yes, our objective is to give a caring and casual welcoming feeling for all our guests when arriving to Scandic Paasi. To give you the feeling you are among friends. And how happy we are to hear you found upgrading your room a great choise and enjoyed your stay. It is a huge pleasure for us to welcome you soon again as our guest. You are so warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I really suggest you should consider paying 30e extra, to upgrade your room. We usually don't, but this time it was time for a luxury. We had a superior extra room on 6th floor facing the square. There was a minibar, which was suitable for a bottle of cava from Alko closeby. We warmed sauna in the morning and had a nice view at the balcony. For this 30e you will get sauna, minibar (not free) 5e voucher for restaurant/lobby shop, free movie channels and bathrobes. Also very quiet room, because there is no traffic on the street (square).

Breakfast buffet was higher standard than typical Scandic and reception staff were very friendly. I suggest to apply for Scandic Friends loyalty program, when you sign in. You will get free newspaper (Finnish, sorry) and 6 e voucher for restaurant/lobby shop. If you stay more than 5 nights per year, you will be on higher level on loyalty program and you will get better benefits (e.g. 12 e voucher).

Room Tip: 6th floor has best views (square site). All rooms different, so take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleksiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear AleksiJ,
How glad we are you rewarded yourself and upgraded your standard room category. Thank you so much for sharing your positive feelings about it and encouraging others to do the same. We are able to offer "superior extra" room category in all three interior design themes. Yours was "leisure theme" and for guests who prefer bathtub instead of sauna we can recommend "concious" or "spectacular". And your comments about our loyalty program "Scandic Friends" delights us a lot. How great that you value it's benefits. We are very much looking forward to meet you soon again as our guest at Paasi and at other Scandic hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

It was our last hotel on our Scandinavia trip, and we were glad we chose this!

Room & Services
Quirky hotel design, and the staff were very welcoming. We had a superior room, with a high ceiling and big balcony. There was ample space. Clean and everything looked new. Breakfast was quite a spread, with a cool iPad dispenser for juices. They also provided us umbrellas daily at no cost. We stayed in mid August 2013, which coincided with their 1st year anniversary. Plenty of celebrations were going on, and everyday felt lively and interesting.

Location
You can either take a tram (a few stops away), or walk (around 15 mins) to the City Centre. There is a direct bus (620) right on the main road to the airport as well. Just nearby is a supermarket and Hakaniemi Market.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear vlubob,
Thank you for choosing Scandic Paasi and letting us to be part of your Scandinavian trip. We hope you got beautiful memories to bring back home with you. We are so glad you could be part of Scandic Paasi's 1 year celebration week. There were lot of special joy in the air. Our best regards to you all the way to Singapore. Hope to be able to welcome you to Finland soon again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#7 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Property: Scandic Paasi
Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing