We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Scandic Paasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is in a fine location, it is not right in the centre of Helsinki but in an interesting part of town in my opinion. The area is well serviced by public transport, and bus transfer from airport is dead easy. The rooms were clean and the staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magnusar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear magnusar,
Thank you for choosing Scandic Paasi hotel for your Helsinki trip from Iceland. Your comment “transfer from airport is dead easy” makes us laugh. You are so right, thank you for expressing it just a refreshing and a funny way! We are looking forward your next visit to Finland. Our best regards to you and to your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Paasi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed in this theme hotel last week both for business and pleasure. The company I work for was organising a 3-day conference next door and we put up our participants here. I then extended my stay to visit Helsinki for an additional 2 nights. On check-in, the staff arranged for me to have the same room during both parts of my stay. The room was comfortable with a queen-size bed, a spacious bathroom and a balcony. The theme of my room was “running”, though unlike other rooms, it was not so obvious. The only downer was that the decor in some of the rooms was a bit dark.
Breakfast was varied with a good selection of both sweet and savoury foods. The coolest thing was the iPad from which to choose the juice you wanted!
There were complimentary bicycles and umbrellas for guests to use (since it rained during my days off, I just got to use the umbrellas!). The reception and bar staff were always friendly, smiling, and helpful. And the nicest part of the hotel was the lobby bar area with its psychedelic ceiling and cosy & comfortable armchairs and sofas.
To top off this wonderful stay, on Friday evening around 6 pm, I had the pleasure of listening to a saxophone player on one of the balconies above my room play a few pieces (including “Summertime”) for the guests. I was told that it was a student from the local music conservatory who, between May and August, plays for 15 minutes every Friday evening to start off the weekend. A really nice touch!

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer part of the hotel are nicer.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsclennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear nsclennon,
Thank you for sharing your story, it delights us a lot. How convenient and nice to extend your stay after conference, great idea. Your two pictures of our lobby bar’s story room/library are just beautiful, thank you. How happy we feel to hear, that you enjoyed and valued our summertime evening music. Yes, every Friday evening at 6 pm music will be performed from the balcony of the inner court by young promising musicians/ saxophonists (from 2nd May to 5th September). Music symbolizes that a new and exciting summer weekend has just started for locals and Helsinki visitors from different parts of the world, for our friends like you. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest all the way from Belgium, our best regards to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is stylish and modern. We booked two rooms that were in different wings of the hotel. One was a double room with a kitchenette (a newer wing) and another was a family room with a kitchenette and a sauna! Both rooms were great, nicely designed with funky elements. The rooms were clean, spacious and inviting. Having a sauna in a room was an unexpected perk, it was the first time in our experience (I guess one can find it only in Finland). We even had a baby potty in the family room, such a thoughtful gesture. The location of the hotel is very convenient, close to the center but still a bit away and hence quiet. The staff was very friendly and professional, helped us with city passes and maps. The breakfast was plentiful with rich selection of cheeses, cuts, smoked salmon and many more. A food corner beside the reception was an added bonus as well. We loved our stay and we loved Helsinki.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Tuchka,
Thank you for your beautiful review. Great that you got to see and feel two rooms with different interior designs, “spectacular” and “leisure” as they are called. How happy we are also for your sauna experience, nice memory from Finland. Last sentence of your kind story is just lovely, we love it. Our best regards to you and to your family to Toronto. Helsinki and Scandic Paasi team hopes to be able to welcome you soon again to visit us. You are so warmly welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed as a small group, all well seasoned travelers and often in Finland that is the best experience in Helsinki and to many other European capital. The reception is wonderful, friendly and efficient. Very good breakfast. You can borrow free of charge for few hours bicycles. The area is quiet, no tourists around mainly locals.Well connected to public transport but only 15 minutes walk to railway station. Beautiful pond nearby, supermarket just across the street. We loved all.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear P T,
Thank you for your kind review. You made us all smiling. We enjoy reading how many positive details linked to Scandic Paasi you have found during your stay with us. So great, that you feel like it. We would love to see you and your friends often here as our guest. Please visit us soon again! Our best regards to you to St. Petersburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

What a great hotel! The location couldn't be better, very central to all you need. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.

There is a nice little lounge downstairs which is a great place to unwind in the evening after a day's sightseeing.

The gym although small is perfectly formed - weights, running machine and gym ball gives everything you need.

Breakfast was good quality, plentiful supply and had nice coffee.

Overall I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear 1884,
Thank you so much for your great review. Just fantastic, that you two enjoyed Helsinki and its city sightseeing’s. We enjoy so much helping and guiding. Our wish is that all our dear guests and friends from different parts of world get best out of their stay when visiting Helsinki. Your recommendation means so much to us, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

In my opinion this hotel offered everything you need as a base for a city break!

The hotel is around 25mins on bus from the airport. The bus drops you a few hundred meters from the hotels door. The rooms are comfotable and quite funky. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and willing to assist with recormendations for restuarants and city sites. The breakfast far exceeded what i was expecting and had everything you would ever want!

If i visit Helsinki again i will certaintly book to stop here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaAndAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear EmmaAndAngus,
It was so wonderful to meet you, and to hear that your city break in Helsinki was successful. Thank you for letting us to be part of your venture. Hopefully we could do this again in the future. Our very best regards to you from all of us at Scandic Paasi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed here for unfortunately only 1 night, yet i must say I have realy enjoyed it. The hotel is situated very conviniently, within a 10 minut walk to the city centre and well accesible by public transportation from the airport and harbour. The location is rather quite. The rooms are very stylish and comfortable, some even have small balconies which add the home-feeling. The breakfast was very good and suited different needs of the guest. What I did nto like, the breakfast room itself as it it did nto have windows and looked more like a huge dancing room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EzhikJKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear EzhikJKD,
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during your business trip. Glad to hear that our location and travel options suited you so well. You are right; our 47 balconies offer like you said special home-feeling. We are looking forward to meet you soon again, and hopefully then more than 1 night. Our best regards to you to Estonia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
672 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,742 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,174 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: £86 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing