We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunt the light switch”
Review of Scandic Paasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My first impression of room 528, a superior room in the 1908 granite tower part of the building,was dark.The part of the room furthest from the windiw has black walls and ceiling,and the black light switches are very hard to find.Additionally,some are conventional,but some are a peculiar horizontal design.
After a lengthy mapping expedition,and a puzzle with the air-con instructions,normal operations were resumed.A vast genuine herringbone parquet floor bears a few rugs and an eccentric assortment of new furniture.The decor is bizarre,on a circus performers theme.However,the functional level of comfort is excellent,with lots of storage,many coat hooks and a good bed,albeit with the odd Scandinavian twin duvets.There are triple glazed windows,with adequate opening area.
An extra,behind folding doors,is a little kitchenette ,with large fridge,microwave and sink.This is useful for snacks,there being a supermarket a few hundred yards away.Additioally,the minibar items are sold in the foyer for half the room prices.The waste bin was not emptied regularly.
The bathroom has every comfort,including a large bath with drying line above.Laundry can be done with the aid of the board and iron provided.
Breakfast,in an underground room forming part of a conference suite,is splendid,with many interesting local products.It is let down by a new juice dispensing machine,which has an electronic touch screen.The screen may be fit to touch,but the watery imitation orange juice certainly is not.On subsequent mornings I brought my own.
The notel overlooks a quiet square on one side,and the harbour on the other.The Cathedral is about 15-20 minutes walk.

Room Tip: The new building has much smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear YorkshireAviator,
Thank you so much for choosing Scandic Paasi for your stay in Helsinki, and sharing just a kind review of us. You are right, the entrance of your room is dark colored, and to find light switches at the first time is unfortunately challenging, even there is a tiny little light in the middle of main switch trying to guide. We apologize for the inconvenience caused you right at the beginning of your stay with us.
We are happy to notice how many positive details you valued during your visit, and we hope greatly to see you again as our guest. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again to Helsinki and Scandic Paasi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Located on a quiet side street near the Hakaniemenranta Market on the 615 bus route from the airport, just north of the city centre the Scandi Paasi is an excellent hotel for a Helsinki break. Its decor is circus themed scandi- chic: quirky and stylish. The rooms continue the theme (the site was home, historically, to a circus). Our room on the sixth floor had a balcony looking out over a nice tree line square. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The hotel had some nice touches like several bikes which are free for guests ( Helsinki is very bike friendly) and free ipads in reception.

Reception was helpful and efficient. However the cleaning let the hotel down a bit, our room had dust on the shelves, was barely touched during our stay and our teas and coffee was not replenished at all.

For breakfast there was a huge choice everything from muesli, fresh fruit pastries to pickled herring and smoked salmon and a neat iPad controlled juice dispenser!

Room Tip: Top floor have balconies looking over a square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear PJT1966,
Thank you for your friendly and positive review of Scandic Paasi. It is so delightful to read how many nice touches you found, and thought Paasi is an excellent hotel for a Helsinki break.

How sad we are to read about your feedback concerning cleaning in your room. Not accepted at all, we are really sorry, and will take steps to improve it.

Hope to be able to welcome you again to Helsinki and Scandic Paasi. Our very best regards to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had a business meeting with breakfast in this hotel. We were so happy about the quality of the breakfast. It was a very large buffet with so high quality products. Rooms were also so different than "normal" Scandic. So nice designed. Location of this hotel is very good. it is walking distance of the centrum. Just behind the hotel there are nice market square where you could make shoppings, have nice coffee etc. I could recommend this hotel to all Helsinki visitors. Really, really nice staff and good quality hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Eero N,
Thank you; your story means so much to our breakfast team. You gave them extra energy to their daily and continued development work, so kind of you. How great it feels to hear that you enjoyed our “story-hotel” design and location. And we agree with you; market square of Hakaniemi is so unique, and offers a special atmosphere for Helsinki visitors.
Your recommendation delights us hugely. Hope to meet you very soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Amenities-wise pretty much your standard scandic, for this one they have put quite a bit more eye and dime on design. The hotel looks modern, even hip. The service staff on our stay was also extra-friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear panze,
We thank you so much for your kind and positive review of Paasi. We are glad you noticed our special interior design. You are right; Paasi is a “story-hotel” in a family of Scandic hotels in Finland. Our design is inspired by the colorful personalities and happenings of the 150 years history of Siltasaari area, where we are located.
It is wonderful to hear that you felt our service extra-friendly. We are looking forward your next visit; hope to meet you soon again. Our best regards to you to Oulu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location is a little bit offside, but after 15 minutes walk you are in the very centre of the city. Otherwise a peaceful location with a beautiful park and water next to the hotel. There are restaurants in the neighbourhood, but if you want some of the higher standard ones, you need to move closer to the downtown, 10-15 min walk or 5 min by taxi.
Nice breakfast standard. Efficient and friendly staff in the reception and the bar.
The cleanliness of the toilet next to the reception did not keep acceptable standard though.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have sauna! The rooms in the part of the hotel that have been old offices, are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Max S,
Thank you so much for sharing your impression of Scandic Paasi. We are so glad to hear that you got to experience also the water and Bay next to hotel, and found it peaceful. Our new restaurant “Meripaviljonki” is under construction right over there, on the water, and will open on 8th April 2015. Hope to have you as our guest then, and be able to introduce you to Meripaviljonki, because it will represent and join to the group of little higher standard restaurants in our own neighborhood. We appreciate your feedback of cleanliness, and improvement steps were taken right away by our team. Thank you so much and hope to see you soon again at Paasi, for both business and pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've stayed in Scandic Paasi twice in the past 3 months and both experiences were great! Location is very good, few minutes by tram, bus or metro to central, rooms are very nice and comfy. You'll definitely find something nice to eat at breakfast and if you wish to have dinner, there's a good restaurant in the complex. Above all of those good qualities I appreciate the good customer service at the reception. The staff was friendly and they seemed to enjoy their job, making jokes with the customer and being very helpful. Having worked in customer service several years I appreciate to receive quality service and wish to tell it to others too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMTP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear KMPT2014,
Your review makes us extremely happy. Guests returning to Scandic Paasi, and choosing us as a hotel in Helsinki more like ones, is like our dream come true. Our wish is to give people away from home a feeling of being among friends at Scandic Paasi. We are so glad to hear that you noticed our joy. Yes – you are right; we do enjoy so much our job. And especially because of wonderful guests like you are. Thank you KMPT2014. Hope to see you soon again! Very best regards to you from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

It is side by side to the Congress Center. And just a 15 minutes walk to the City Center.
It is tidy and modern, with a good standard. Surprisingly there is no Sauna.
The staff is very friendly and helping.
I got a room 1st foor. And there are light bulbs just outside, shining sll night long. So make sure to get a room on the back side or on another floor.
The breakfast has a wide range and you will definitely find something good. To escape the bad finnish coffee, you can get a decent one at the Reception.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Jo G,
So kind of you to share a friendly review of Scandic Paasi. Thank you a lot! We are so sorry about the light outside disturbing you stay. For your next visit, we will help you to get a room from other sides of Paasi, and that time a room with a private sauna. We have altogether 11 saunas in two different room categories, and they are pretty cute for friends of Finnish sauna culture, really worth to experience. Hope to see you soon again as our guest. So warmly welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
700 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,790 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,196 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: £84 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing