We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Paasi
Nearby Hotels
US$320
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Klaus K Hotel(Helsinki)
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Haven(Helsinki)
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,452)
Filter reviews
1,452 results
Traveller rating
746
565
117
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
746
565
117
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet squarehakaniemi marketcity centremetro stationbreakfast buffetseparate toiletsuperior roomhotel is locatedquirky hotelminute walkinterior designpublic transportprivate saunagreat roomwide selectionexcellent hotelbeds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
720 - 725 of 1,452 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Located a half block from Hakaniemi Market Square with a beautiful little park in front, this hotel is within easy walking distance of many sights from the Kallio area to the Esplanade. The airport bus stops across from the market square. Trams are available in this market area to visit most other parts of Helsinki. The staff is helpful and friendly. The decor is on the pleasantly eccentric side (not a sterile could-be-anyplace look). The restaurant across the courtyard from the lobby is a good place to eat (informal, reasonably priced).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wynnetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear wynnetrav,
Your visit in June delighted us a lot. We are so happy to read about your kind comments on our immediate environment, Hakaniemi Market Square, our park and Kallio area. Great, that you had a change to explore them during your trip. Thank you so much for you friendly words about our décor, service and restaurant Juttutupa. Our best regards to you to Pennsylvania, hope to meet you again as our guest at Scandic Paasi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed in a superior room. The room was very spacious, had high ceilings, very clean, modern and had some funny details in the decor. The room had a separate shower and toilet, both were good size and spotless. I had my own balcony facing the inner courtyard of the hotel. The bed was very comfy. The room had very dark colors, which might not be the most uplifting detail in the middle of Finnish November-January. The room didn’t have a good closet and nowhere (well, of course there was a bed or a chair) to put your suitcase while packing and unpacking. Some of the light switches were hard to find. Didn’t like how the tv was put on the wall.

The breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel in Helsinki for a long time. Scrambled eggs were marvelous. And I especially enjoyed the organic rye bread, yummy. The breakfast room was somewhat dark colored and had no windows but I didn’t mind that.

The staff was really welcoming, they made me feel like the number 1 customer. Especially the women at the front desk and young blonde woman who worked in the lobby bar were just the nicest ones. Both check in and check out went really smoothly.

I had a really nice stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pillow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear pillow2013,
So very kind of you to write just in a beautiful way about your stay at Scandic Paasi.
Our breakfast team is so happy after reading your feedback. Organic rye bread is hotels homemade bread, wonderful that you liked it.
We are lucky to have several blonde women in our reception team, and you made all of them super happy. You should feel you are our number 1 customer, that is what you are! We are really looking forward to meet you again. You are warmly welcome, please visit us soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My first impression of room 528, a superior room in the 1908 granite tower part of the building,was dark.The part of the room furthest from the windiw has black walls and ceiling,and the black light switches are very hard to find.Additionally,some are conventional,but some are a peculiar horizontal design.
After a lengthy mapping expedition,and a puzzle with the air-con instructions,normal operations were resumed.A vast genuine herringbone parquet floor bears a few rugs and an eccentric assortment of new furniture.The decor is bizarre,on a circus performers theme.However,the functional level of comfort is excellent,with lots of storage,many coat hooks and a good bed,albeit with the odd Scandinavian twin duvets.There are triple glazed windows,with adequate opening area.
An extra,behind folding doors,is a little kitchenette ,with large fridge,microwave and sink.This is useful for snacks,there being a supermarket a few hundred yards away.Additioally,the minibar items are sold in the foyer for half the room prices.The waste bin was not emptied regularly.
The bathroom has every comfort,including a large bath with drying line above.Laundry can be done with the aid of the board and iron provided.
Breakfast,in an underground room forming part of a conference suite,is splendid,with many interesting local products.It is let down by a new juice dispensing machine,which has an electronic touch screen.The screen may be fit to touch,but the watery imitation orange juice certainly is not.On subsequent mornings I brought my own.
The notel overlooks a quiet square on one side,and the harbour on the other.The Cathedral is about 15-20 minutes walk.

Room Tip: The new building has much smaller rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear YorkshireAviator,
Thank you so much for choosing Scandic Paasi for your stay in Helsinki, and sharing just a kind review of us. You are right, the entrance of your room is dark colored, and to find light switches at the first time is unfortunately challenging, even there is a tiny little light in the middle of main switch trying to guide. We apologize for the inconvenience caused you right at the beginning of your stay with us.
We are happy to notice how many positive details you valued during your visit, and we hope greatly to see you again as our guest. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again to Helsinki and Scandic Paasi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Located on a quiet side street near the Hakaniemenranta Market on the 615 bus route from the airport, just north of the city centre the Scandi Paasi is an excellent hotel for a Helsinki break. Its decor is circus themed scandi- chic: quirky and stylish. The rooms continue the theme (the site was home, historically, to a circus). Our room on the sixth floor had a balcony looking out over a nice tree line square. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The hotel had some nice touches like several bikes which are free for guests ( Helsinki is very bike friendly) and free ipads in reception.

Reception was helpful and efficient. However the cleaning let the hotel down a bit, our room had dust on the shelves, was barely touched during our stay and our teas and coffee was not replenished at all.

For breakfast there was a huge choice everything from muesli, fresh fruit pastries to pickled herring and smoked salmon and a neat iPad controlled juice dispenser!

Room Tip: Top floor have balconies looking over a square
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear PJT1966,
Thank you for your friendly and positive review of Scandic Paasi. It is so delightful to read how many nice touches you found, and thought Paasi is an excellent hotel for a Helsinki break.

How sad we are to read about your feedback concerning cleaning in your room. Not accepted at all, we are really sorry, and will take steps to improve it.

Hope to be able to welcome you again to Helsinki and Scandic Paasi. Our very best regards to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had a business meeting with breakfast in this hotel. We were so happy about the quality of the breakfast. It was a very large buffet with so high quality products. Rooms were also so different than "normal" Scandic. So nice designed. Location of this hotel is very good. it is walking distance of the centrum. Just behind the hotel there are nice market square where you could make shoppings, have nice coffee etc. I could recommend this hotel to all Helsinki visitors. Really, really nice staff and good quality hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Eero N,
Thank you; your story means so much to our breakfast team. You gave them extra energy to their daily and continued development work, so kind of you. How great it feels to hear that you enjoyed our “story-hotel” design and location. And we agree with you; market square of Hakaniemi is so unique, and offers a special atmosphere for Helsinki visitors.
Your recommendation delights us hugely. Hope to meet you very soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews