We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny ha-ha”
Review of Scandic Paasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

In most cases you'd describe a hotel grand, great, ok, yeah but no but or a dump. This place can actually make you smile. It has quirky features but without being burlesque. Meet & greet by the front desk and bar is consistently very cheerful. They are either on drugs - or really feel happy at what they do. Suspect the latter.

This is a 1-2 years old place, so they have ironed out any wrinkles but it is all sparkling fresh. The hotel is made up of rooms in several buildings, so the corridors still confused me after two nights. Corridors and also the rooms in my opinion are a bit dimly lit - but again it all worked. This was probably enhanced by the fact that the interiors are a bit on the dark side. Having said that, many may appreciate that you can enjoy the bright Nordic nights everywhere else but in your bedroom.

Their breakfast was fresh and well organised (both the food presentation and keeping the place tidy). Probably one of the best - if not the best - Scandic breakfast rooms I've seen. Here again the staff should be given a medal for not making you feel they "just work here". They seem to do plenty of conferences and events around the block and the breakfast room is also used for catering for those purposes. So the staff knows what they are doing and how to do it well.

Rooms are a bit odd (but I warned you - quirky). Even my more spacious room had not one big space nor two different spaces. Nooks and crannies really. Oddly enough, it still worked well.

They have rooms with a sauna but the sauna I saw was fairly small, two people max. But they have big bathtubs. So if you have a sauna at home, try the tubs. And vice versa I presume.

There is a bar in the lobby and a very inviting lounge space. Food offering is really on the snack side. Yet again I think they have done well. Chain hotels like Scandic do have their chain restaurants. Here they have instead teamed with a well known and very traditional local watering hole in the same block. If your diet is supposed to be salt, butter and taste free you have few (but some) options. Beyond that there is a plethora of traditional Finnish dishes and a good number of pizzas.

All and all, the hotel claims that they have drawn inspiration from the history of the local area. I think that have stayed true to that claim where they can.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HedonistLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Paasi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is great. A little outside of mainstream Helsinki in an area known to locals as Red Square because of its trades union movement links. It is very quiet and overlooks a little lake. Tram links into the centre run frequently from 200metres away and drop you at the white church in 10 minutes.

I had a big family room on the fourth floor in July. It pretty much swallowed us up without any trouble although hanging storage is limited in the rooms.

We had a sauna in the bathroom which was pretty cool and the room was funkily decorated. Breakfast is also good although one of the restaurants graanitinna was shut.

Service levels from the reception are great and generally the hotel is much better than you'd expect. It isn't the Haven but nonetheless is very good for families.

The biggest criticism is the air conditioning which in the rooms doesn't really work that well. But it is not often that it is 27c in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and couldn`t be happier. Friendly staff, large room compared to other hotels we have stayed at(even though it was the cheapest room), awesome design..I loved the black and red walls and the Top Hat Lamps:) The bathroom was lovely, good to have the shower separated with a door so the floor on the rest of the bathroom didn`t get wet. Very nice to have our own balcony and be able to get some fresh air into the room. The AirCondition worked well. And the breakfast was AMAZING! I loved the pancakes and those small pastries with vanilla cream inside. The crispy bacon and scrambled eggs was to die for. There could have been a better selection of cold drinks and the apple/orange juice could have been sweeter for my taste, but all in all it was quite perfect:)
Cleaning could have been a tiny bit better. There was a coffee mug stain on the bathroom sink when we checked in and on the balcony table there was a dirty mug and wineglass from the previous guests. And better dusting in general on the not so obvious spots could be nice..(I work in the cleaning-industry myself so I might be picky;) )
And make sure to throw the bathtowels on the floor if you want new ones. The first days we got new ones even if we hung the used ones on the wall, but then one day we didn`t, so after that we just threw them on the floor and everything worked fine.
We ate in the restaurant in the backyard once and it was quite nice. My pizza was very tasty.
The free WiFi worked excellent!
All in all we were very happy about our stay and would easily recommend the hotel to others!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathrine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Third time at Paasi and our expectations were met once again. The friendliness and sense of customer service of the staff never seizes to amaze me at this place. Extra points to breakfast this time: fresh cherries, nice music and all the organic foods there, well done!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank saaruli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paasi H, Asiakaspalvelujohtaja at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Saaruli!
Little time has passed since your visited us but it's never too late to say thank you! Thank you once again for you visit to Paasi. It’s so great to hear that you keep our Paasi hotel as one of your favorite ones in Helsinki. Your nice words about our Paasi team will keep us going.
We all know that good and healthy start every morning is important and we are happy to be able to serve that to you.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Have a nice Autumn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our second stay in this hotel this year and we loved it!

Not much to add to my previous review: room was good size with a kitchenette, the hotel is a short walk away from city centre and near to public transport links.

Service and staff were great from the moment we checked in. Erica at the reception made us feel very welcome: she showed us two rooms we could choose from, she was always smiling and happy with all the customers.

We would be very happy to stay in Hotel Paasi again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paasi H, Asiakaspalvelujohtaja at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Mark!
How great it is to hear that this was not your first visit to Paasi. I want to thank you for your nice words about Erica and the other staff too. We are really looking forward to see you again in Helsinki and Scandic Paasi.
Have a nice Autumn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 2 nights over the long mid-summer festival (20, 21 June)
We arrived from Singapore on an early morning flight but were given a room once we reached at 8 am. The room was big with a lovely balcony. The staff were really helpful and always cheerful .
The breakfast is awesome , so much to choose from. The location is perfect too direct bus from the airport and a nice walk to Senate square.
A really good address in Helsinki .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yannick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paasi H, Asiakaspalvelujohtaja at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Yannick_A
How nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Paasi. We hope that one day you’ll be back to Helsinki and Scandic Paasi.
Wishing you a nice Autumn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My partner and I enjoyed our four-night stay at the Scandic Paasi over the Midsummer's Eve holiday. The hotel is stylish, modern, and comfortable, and it's located in a nice, quiet neighborhood (albeit a little sleepy and out of the way...it takes 15-20 minutes to walk to central Helsinki). The breakfast buffet was good, with plenty of tasty items to choose from; the beds were comfy; the shower/tub was great (although the glass partition didn't do a very good job of keeping the water off the floor); and the staff were consistently personable and helpful. Our only real complaint was with the housekeeping, which seemed a little haphazard. Some days were fine and others it seemed like they whizzed through our room in 30 seconds, just long enough to throw the bed cover over the wrinkled sheets. Also, the lack of a phone in the room was confounding. On a couple of occasions we wanted to call down to the front desk to ask a question, but we had to walk down there instead, which wasn't a huge deal because it was just one floor down. Still, it kind of gives the impression that the staff don't want to address guests' questions/issues, which isn't the impression they give when you interact with them face to face. But these complaints are pretty minor. Overall, the Scandic Paasi is definitely worth a try the next time you're in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank briguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear briguy2006,
It was a big pleasure to have you as our guest at Scandic Paasi. Thank you so much for sharing your story with other readers, so kind of you. How sad we are to hear that you had to walk to reception to get service. There should be a telephone in every room. We are so terribly sorry you did not have. Our mistake, please forgive us. We feel so embarrassed to read about the daily cleaning. It was not at all according our standards and values. Thank you so much for giving us a new try in the future. We are looking forward to meet you soon again. You are so warmly welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
672 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,741 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,174 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: £86 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing