We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint with excellent service”
Review of Scandic Paasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
brisbane
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quaint with excellent service”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room we were given was huge and in a restored part of the hotel do it was very quaint also.
Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly with nothing being too much trouble.
Breakfast was great with lots of choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    478
    82
    11
    8
See reviews for
188
472
96
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

While on our 1st trip to Finland we stayed at the Scandic Paasi 3 times. Each time we left to check out other parts of Finland the held our bags in a safe location. The staff here are extremely friendly and always willing to share their knowledge. The rooms are clean and big enough to spread out your junk. Breakfast was extensive and a great way to start your day. The best part for us was the location. Just a short walk to tram, bus or train and across the road to the local markets. You can quickly immerse yourself in local life or get out to the major attractions with ease. The Scandic made our the accommodation on our holiday a pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building are cooler in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We loved this hotel for our one night stay in Helsinki. My flight arrived very early and I was feeling exhausted and gross and was therefore so glad the hotel let me check in very early and therefore I was able to take a nice shower in the very clean and modern bathroom and then a much needed nap on the comfy bed!

I did get a little lost finding the place, but felt a bit stupid when I did find it. I took the metro from the Main train station and it was only 2 stops but with the suitcase, the streets can be a little tricky. The station is very close to the hotel so I would recommend this if you don't want to walk or have lots of baggage.

Breakfast was really good and extensive, loved the juice thing! All the staff were very nice and helpful. We borrowed the bikes they lend for free one evening and that was a great extra service. There is a S Market just down stairs too if you need any supplies. There are some clothing shops there too, and a McDonalds. Heaps of pubs and restaurants (and a bigger S Market with an alko) in a 5 min walk radius.

One other great thing is that the curtains over the window cover the whole window and actually block out the summer light, unlike actual Finnish houses. This was great as I really needed the sleep! And the wifi was consistent and a good speed.

The only thing I would mention is that there is no bar fridge, but this is hardly a detriment. Overall we really loved this place and will return if we ever need accommodation in Helsinki again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesInFinland11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I travelled to Helsinki for the first time last week. The hotel staff is extremely helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The included breakfast buffet is plentiful, scrumptious, and varied for many different taste buds. The staff at breakfast is also extremely accommodating. The location for us Is ideal as we prefer to be close but not in the middle of the crowded city center. The bus and tram stops outside the hotel can take you anywhere for 3 euro. (Local bus 615 to and from airport 5euro). But the best part for us are the free bike rentals. We were able to secure them (first come first serve) each day we desired. The city is designed for bike travel with thousands of km of bike paths and bike accommodations on sidewalks even in busy pedestrian areas. Finally, I recommend signing up for the Scandic card to receive discounts and vouchers.

Room Tip: You can open your window on the (higher) 6th level and not have cigarette smoke from the street draf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Definitely among my favourite hotels in Helsinki.

Paasi is a beatiful hotel with a great location and great views of the Helsinki-city. The rooms are pretty, modern and personal. The staff makes you feel more than welcome when you enter the premises. Some of the best restaurants and cafés are just a minutes walk away - also the night-time treats of the city are very close-by.

The breakfast was AMAZING. Good-quality incredients, jazz-music, joyful and helpful staff.

Paasi is THE choice when you want to enjoy the best of Helsinki.

Upon request we got a room with a small sauna. Perrrrfect.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room with sauna :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The room was fantastic, very modern with great beds and a nice terrasse. The rain shower heads were a nice touch. The staff was great and they have free bikes you can borrow as well. It was easy to walk to many places to eat and the movie theater. The breakfast was extensive and very well marked for people with allergies. The hotel had a small recycle bin in the rooms which was great.

Room Tip: We had room 101 which didn't have much of a view but was at the end of the hallway and was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I could not fault this hotel on it's own. Was greated with the brightest smile on arrival and all staff are friendly and lovely. The rooms are big and clean with stylish furniture and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fresh and scrumptious. There is a market opposite the hotel which is good. My only complain is the 20-30 minutes walk to the central, which isn't too bad as the walk is easy and relatively safe but can be a chore after a days worth of sightseeing or getting to train station.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citizen_1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
562 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#5 of 65 in Helsinki
1,621 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Property: Scandic Paasi
Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing