We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventurous Day”

The Swimming Stadium
Ranked #63 of 288 things to do in Helsinki
Attraction details
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Adventurous Day”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Let's start off by saying I might be a little biased on this review. I love watching and following anything to do with swimming history. When visited I didn't even think to bring a suit. I bought one from the front desk for really cheap and headed straight to the pool. I spend hours going off the platforms and diving boards, This was a perfect stop for me indeed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good for training and for winding off”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This very traditional part of the 1952 Olympic Games venue is superb for regular swim training. The season is reasonably long (May to September) and the serial flash-in ticket is very convenient without being overpriced. Vault jumping and waterrunning are also well arranged.

Overall, the track etiquette of the swimmers in the 50 metre main pool is good (except for some of the unavoidable blokes who have obviously come to kill off their hangover on a hectic short stint basis).

The steam bullying in the saunas has fortunately passed, by and large, with the arrival of the new generations.

For foreign visitors it may come as a mild surprise that the cleaning personnel in the shower rooms can also be female, so you are warned.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“If sun shines”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

There are are outside swimming pools and a lot of fun at summer days. There are always a lot of people but it is good for swimming
if the weather is good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Good place to have fun in the sun! Always clean and nice athmosphere. Jumping towers to 1-5m. Located some distance from the center, but every local knows this place so you probably will find it anyway

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank anssitanssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for sport and picnic at the same time”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

An outdoor swimming pool open during summer months (may-september). Great place to spend a warm day with family and friends on having a bit of sport and making a picnic on the grass that surrounds the pool. I recommend bringing your own food as there are not any good options available at the stadium.

It can get crowded on hot days, so if you are up to some more swimming then I advise to come either early in the morning or later in the evening. The ticket is valid per whole visit not for just some hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nakemiiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swimming Stadium also viewed

 

Been to The Swimming Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing