We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but far from city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center
Ranked #45 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but far from city center”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I have visited Holiday Inn nearby the fair in Helsinki during many years. It is a very static hotel. You know exactly what you get and it doesn't change over time.
The rooms are quite big with the standard equipment. The positive is the selection of pillows and the cable internet which is easy installed. The negative is the carpet which soon needs to be changed.
The breakfast room seems to change depending on number of guests and congresses ongoing.
The quality is good to very good but the variaty could be better for a first class hotel.
Based on the price it gives good value and if you don't mind staying a couple of kilometers from the city center, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_swedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    121
    64
    11
    8
See reviews for
13
24
18
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This hotel was fine for sleeping and getting work done. It is your standard hotel room. The only down sides were that the only working outlets were in the bathroom and it was a hassle to plug in my laptop, cell phone and tablet near the sink. Not to mention, I had to rotate charging them. The bathroom also smelled pretty bad all the time from the drain in the floor.

Breakfast was great each morning and the staff was really friendly and helpful. The proximity to the train was very nice too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triciajo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel close to the city centre, the central station and the airport bus (€6.30 every 20 minutes).

Friendly staff and nice sauna.

My room was clean, and large enough although a little bit worn out. But concerning the price, with breakfast included no problem at all

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

nice hotel next to convetioncenter,everything for business and meetings and parties.if your are businessman and you have meetings with the firm or other workrelated things book it!the best thing this hotel provides is quiet and nice atmosphere for all workrelated passengers.

Room Tip: standard room in finland prizes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finlandTurku_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear finlandTurku_Finland,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine atmosphere and location of our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Helsinki, Finland.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tver
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Rooms are spacious as you would expect in a modern building. Standard of cleaning should be improved. I stayed in two room during the week and in both there was residue on the bathroom tiles and dust in the corners and behind furniture on the floor.

Staff are very efficient and professional. Breakfast is one of the best in Helsinki hotels. It can get crowded in the breakfast room, though, if the hotel is full.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isidorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Isidorus,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is connected to the fair centre and it's the perfect location for a business stay! When outside the temperature is -20 it's fantastic to reach the fair centre by internal connection without jacket!
Rooms are enough big and spacious, clean, with free Internet connection, coffee maker, air dryer, comfortable beds and pillows! There is also a mini gym and a finnish sauna. Breakfast is good! Recommended

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatteoBelletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Excellent location if You are participating a fair in the faircenter Messukeskus. A must place to stay if You are there for several days. Friendly and efficient staff, clean and confortable rooms, good beds and pillows (you can choose your favorite!).

If you want to go downtown there is trams every 5-7 minutes (ticket can be bought by mobile phone) orallways taxis in front.

Room Tip: Unfortunately there is no wiew from this hotel :), so all the rooms are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
0.5 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Pasila
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Haaga Central Park
Hotel Haaga Central Park
#33 of 65 in Helsinki
325 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
1.2 mi away
Cumulus Meilahti
Cumulus Meilahti
#38 of 65 in Helsinki
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center
Address: Messuaukio 1, Helsinki 00520, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#31 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the business district of Pasila in Helsinki and interconnected to the Helsinki Fair and Conference Center, the Holiday Inn Helsinki hotel is very popular with business and conference travelers as well as leisure travelers. With focus on flawless service, attention to detail, and impressive food and beverage offerings, the hotel s guests will leave with warm memories. The Holiday Inn Helsinki hotel is located just a few minutes from the Helsinki city centre and the beautiful architecture of Helsinki. Many sports and event arenas, such as Hartwall Arena, the Swimming Arena and Finnair Stadium are all close by the Holiday Inn Helsinki. Helsinki city centre: a few minutes by local train, taxi, tram or bus. Helsinki Airport: 20 minutes by taxi. With this perfect location for business and leisure travel, this high-standard hotel offers 244 spacious rooms with complimentary internet connection. The hotel offers free access to Minigym and Finnish sauna. Restaurant & Brasserie Terra Nova serves a wide range of Finnish and International cuisine. The lively bar at the Terra Nova welcomes you for a cocktail or a glass of wine before dinner. The friendly and helpful staff looks forward to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing