We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anna Hotel
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a well-run, three star hotel. If you're looking for a three-star experience you will be well pleased with the Anna Hotel. Great location; central but quiet. Good value for money. Rooms clean and well appointed; with refrigerator, safe, TV (no international channels though). Good breakfast (with a great espresso machine!). Restaurants, bars and a supermarket within a short walk. Two tram routes (3 and 10) just one block away in different directions. A pleasant walk to the city centre (e.g. shopping areas, railway station, ferries, Esplanade Park). Good internet.

One problem: curtains are very thin and there is no blackout layer, so you'll need eyeshades to sleep during the summer. We had an inside room on the top floor which was very quiet, but when the singing started in the church next door it sounded like we were in the front row of pews. Very odd acoustics.

We booked in for two nights, then chose to return when we came back to Helsinki.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apteryx055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a good affordable hotel, compared with other hotels in Helsinki. The location is great, I choose hotel Anna mainly because it was close to the ferry terminal for Linda Line to Tallinn. It is also a short walk to the main sights of the city, as well as the train station. Rooms are nice and clean, but bathrooms are quite small. Breakfast buffet is good and served in a pleasent room on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The location is very good. The hotel is old, but the the rooms are clean. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. I asked for peaceful room and I got it. The bathroom was very little. The breakfast was tasty. It's a good hotel for a woman who is travelling alone. There were elevator between the floors, but only stairs to the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woman_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hotels in Helsinki are generally expensive, which makes this a good option. Location is very good, as you can explore the city on foot. The room has all the amenities you will need and it is staffed 24/7. The only thing to note is that the bathroom is kind of small, but it does the job.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank KatieTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Now that I've been to Finland a couple of time, I'm feeling like an expert. I've stayed at a pricey place and a reasonable place and visited a few of the more famous hotels in Helsinki. I'm happy to report that you do NOT have to spend hundreds of euros a night for a nice place in the City Center. I love the Anna Hotel. It's a European Style hotel - of course! It's in Europe! There are friendly people at the front desk who speak English and are very friendly. Remember! Finns are not a chatty people.

My room was small with a twin bed, desk, dresser, window and shower bath. Everything was very clean. The hotel is just around the corner from the restaurants and bars. This means you can walk to everything but you can sleep away from the nightlife noise. The price includes a buffet breakfast. Nothing fancy, but very nice. DO NOT MISS THE SAUNA. I think I paid 7E for a visit to the private sauna which includes, a dressing room, a shower and the sauna. It was marvelous! I made use of my entire hour. Then I sort of melted back to my room and fell sound asleep.

There's a church and park across the street. In the winter, the park turns into an ice skating rink and it's absolutely gorgeous. You're also a short walk to the marina and all the ice cream and coffee stands by the water. It's just lovely. Oh yes! The Finnish Design Museum is also a very short walk. We thought this museum was fascinating!

The rates are a bargain for Helsinki, but I felt I didn't give up a thing. I will stay there again later this year. Moi Moi for now. Kitos!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get away from late night street noise. Bars and restaurants are just arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MD2FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari T, General Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

It is entertaining reading your describing and positive review of both Hotel Anna and everything nearby. I´m glad that you have found us and that you have enjoyed Helsinki as such. We are already waiting for your next visit.
Kind regards

Kari Törmä

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

First impression was a little bit negative. However the bedroom was very clean, the staff helpful.
The bedroom was spacious...and quiet.
The breakfast buffet is nice and various. It took us 7 minutes by walk to be in the Esplanade, in the heart of the city. Dont forget to book the taxi for the airport by the hôtel ( yellow taxi ), it is much cheaper.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Hyvää huomenta, hyvää päivää, hyvää iltaa, tervetuloa uudelleen. If you dont know what this means in Finnish, dont worry, neither does the staff at Hotel Anna. This is a decent looking hotel, ok location, rooms ok for the price range and it seems to have a touch that someone actually knows how to run a hotel. But, then it fails completely concerning the service.
Arriving during night, some bored lady in the reception opened the room and gave the key. No hellos, smiles or anything. For breakfast there was available a pretty basic serving, hosted by a mute or something. This is exceptionally sad for the overall image of Finland, as during the breakfast there was a Russian family, some Asian woman, a man from mid East and obviously a Finnish person. When the Finn left, he actually said thank you to the host who didnt pay attention.

When checking out, there was a lady teaching a young guy the tricks of the hotel. I stood waiting for 20 seconds before the noted me and checked me out. The correct way of serving people in this kind of situation is to say hello, just a minute, so you know that you have been noticed. This was not obvious for me anymore in this hotel though.

I think the hotel should re-think their strategy here. If they really want to have staff, please make them serve the guests and give added value. Otherwise I recommend a more Omena hotel approach with no staff. This would decrease the costs and not give too high hopes for the guests, and also directly competing in a lower price segment.

This is a hotel that is in the same price range with hotel Finn and Omena. I rather recommend those as Omena has bigger rooms and Finn excellent location with some nice touch and attitude among the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari T, General Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your detailed review that concerned us all at Hotel Anna. It is interesteing reading and very useful information for developing of our services. We will take your response seriously and see to that all concerned departments read your review and I will ones again remind the employees of the importance of greeting guests and wish them welcome and courteous manners.
Looking forward to accommodate you again in the near future, since you provide us with so valuable information.

Kari Törmä
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
639 reviews
Hotel Rantapuisto
#32 of 66 in Helsinki
254 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
#27 of 66 in Helsinki
420 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#25 of 66 in Helsinki
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Address: Annankatu 1, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: £72 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located cozy hotel on walking distance from major Department Stores. Situated in an area of Design Boutiques, Art Galleries and trendy Pubs and nice restaurants. Free WiFi or hotel guests. Hotel has a breakfast room, small sauna and meeting room for 12 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing