We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Grand Marina
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Regular Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

It was like any other hotel!! Nothing exceptional! Rooms were pretty ok.
The Bar is fantastic.Breakfast too was fine!
Its a decent value for money.The location is very good.Right next to the main ferry terminal which was good for me as I had a cruise to follow in my itinerary!
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RushabhVisaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    936
    410
    99
    33
See reviews for
458
531
174
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
globeseeker007
Level Contributor
1,099 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

We stayed here for a night on a layover from Helsinki to New York. This place looks okay when you're in the lobby. However, once in the corridors leading to the rooms, one gets a sense of darkness and gloom. The room has no amenities such as coffee maker or tissues. The TV gets a few channels. There is a Greek restaurant about a block from the hotel that has pretty good food. I'm glad it was only for a night.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Great value! The rate included a very good breakfast. The room and bathroom (shower only) were basic but clean and bright. The location is an easy 10 minute walk from town and close to the harbour.Very pleased with the free wireless. I wasn't traveling with my children this time but noticed the breakfast room even had a separate area for children with a play area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed in this hotel with our 15 month daughter.
We really liked our very spacious room, but the central heating wan't functioning (at least in our room) so it was a bit cool, but with the extra-heater things went quite good, also the staff offered us to move to another room but we thought better of it.
There is a wifi in rooms.
The hotel was fully booked, we didn't know about it and were very surprised to see a real crowd of people at breakfast. But there was enough of everything, so nobody was left hungry or thirsty.
But there was no children menu at breakfast and it was a shame.
We also liked the playground area in the hotel's restaurant.
Very useful thing - a microwave oven, right behind the lobby bar, you can warm there baby food, for example.
The lobby bar is quite cosy and they serve a very good coffee.
What I didn't like was a very strong wind outside, but what could you expect? It's November, the hotel is situated in the port area, also the weather was not very welcoming (it was raining all 3 days that we spent there). But the hotel is not far from the center of the city and it's useful if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank multilingua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The hotel is located in the Katajanokka Island, so at only some steps of the Orthodox Cathedral os Uspenski and also very close to the Market Square and the Esplanadi (the city centre). The hotel's got a very nice style and has got a very tasty manu in the restaurant. The buffet breakfast is very nice and fresh, including some local delikatessen. The rooms are quite spacious and the area is really nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikivoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Attended for a conference and conference centre across the road.

Id not booked via the Conference site - had independently booked a family room for single use via another site and got a family room for less than others had paid for a single. My room was of decent size, with toiletries (see previous post) and tea and coffee making facilities. Room was cheaper than I paid for a much poorer hotel in Liverpool.

Didnt have time to use the sauna but others gave a positive for it.

Breakfast fine.

Staff were helpful - maid had accidently lost my nightclothes into the laundry but they were retrieved. Also helped when the printer for the free internet access computer didn't work properly.

About 25 mins walk from the Finnair bus terminal near the station or on a tram line.

Handy for the shops of Esplanadi and only a few minutes from the ferry to Suomennlina fortress.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dzinte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a business function for three nights in September. I understand that European hotels have different standards than what most Americans are accustomed to, however, this hotel has taken cheap (under the pretext of being "green") to a new level. The room was tiny, not very clean (bathroom tile grout grey and brown), soiled looking bedspread, no kleenex, shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer (they SELL these in their giftshop for your convenience.) The towels were thin and tattered. The maid actually picked up the towels off the floor and hung them up for reuse. The room was hot (no thermostat). The front-desk staff was efficient, but very unfriendly. Honestly, I couldn't wait to leave, which is sad because Helsinki is a beautiful city, and this location is great. It's obvious that Scandic is just raking in the money and not upgrading or providing the basics because they can get away with it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Marina

Property: Scandic Grand Marina
Address: Katajanokanlaituri 7, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Grand Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a beautiful warehouse building from the early 1900s, and features plus-sized rooms and modern meeting facilities. The large arched windows and high ceilings create a spacious and bright atmosphere in the restaurant and bar. During the summertime, guests can also enjoy our large terrace. In addition to the hotel's own meeting facilities, the adjacent Marina Congress Center offers settings for events and functions of up to 2,500 people. There is plenty of parking space just outside the hotel and in the garage. The hotel offers WiFi, a gym, a sauna, and a 24-hour shop. You can borrow a bicycle or sticks for Nordic walking from the reception. Close to the Helsinki city centre, the hotel is located by the sea in idyllic Kajanokka next to the Market Square, Uspenski Cathedral, and the Helsinki SkyWheel. The hotel offers an excellent starting point to see the sights, spend some time shopping or enjoy the restaurants and nightlife of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Grand Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Marina Helsinki
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing