We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third floor rooms are good.”
Review of Arthur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arthur Hotel
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Saw the rooms on the 6th and 7th floors. 7th was cramped, 6th slightly less so. 3rd floor rooms are huge, bright and comfortable. All the rooms are of dated decor as the hotel is an old one. Still, was one of the better values if you prioritize comfort over style.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank manilatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your nice comments. We have several room classes here in Hotel Arthur so the rooms are different depending on the room class.
Welcome again!
Best regards,
Miisa
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Happened to be there in hot summer days where outside was over +25 degrees. Unfortunately there is no air-conditioning available in the room. Temperature in the room was around +30. We were able to open one small window, but that didn't help to cool down the room and at the same time you heard all the noise from the street. We were sweating all night and were unable to sleep at all. Rooms need urgent renovation. Furniture is worn out and beds are harsh and uncomfortable. Had early check out, so had no possibility to have breakfast there, but got small breakfast bag with an apple, juice and sandwich.
Only good thing about the hotel is its location near central railway station and central bus station.

Room Tip: Ask a room with windows to inner yard. Less sun will heat up the room and no street noise when you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It is true that we had some problems during summer time with the heat; we have air conditioning only in our new rooms in 9th floor and in Finland we are not used to have such a hot weather so many of the buildings are built with out airconditioning. We are also renovating the rooms step by step. Comfort rooms and art deco rooms are newer than the stadard class.
Wishing you a nice autumn!
Miisa
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

August, 2014. I spent 1 night. The hotel has a really good location, just walking distance from city center/ railway station and quite. The staff was really friendly.But the room was dirty, open the windows hard, the bathroom is so small and dirty. The breakfast was good enough. Anyway because of dirty I could not spend night there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adrienn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. Really sorry to hear that your room was not clean. As we are an old hotel it is really important to us that the premises are clean. Hopefully you gave also some feedback to our reception while you were here as always when the client is not happy with the room we will change the room for the client.
Best regards
Miisa
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Well located, comfortable hotel - what more can I say! Excellent breakfast buffet. Computer available. Staff helpful. Not elaborate decor but who's looking. Would return in a heartbeat. Top of the drawer 3-star, what more can I say.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jogil415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, nice to hear you liked our hotel and we warmly welcome you to stay with us again!
Best regards
Miisa
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located five minutes from the central train station and city center main atractions. Very easy to reach from the airport by bus since the terminal station is at the central station. At night its noisy due to be close to the train station. Breakfast is simple but with all essentials. Price is not competitive but the location is excelent close to several restaurants.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank mgadanho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Our location is nice and the rates in Helsinki are high at the moment. Warmly welcome to stay with us again!
Best regards
Miisa
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

In Helsinki for five days of modern architecture. Room with a shared hall shower, which worked out fine, and was very clean. Spartan accommodation, as expected from descriptions, but excellent price and value, considering the breakfast. Breakfast was exceptional, and my main meal of the day, with a very international set of peers and new acquaintances. Many dishes, but I like the idea of fish for breakfast! Good location for access of transit and for walking to Kiasma, lakefront, etc. Desk staff friendly and helpful, but a bit slow from sheer numbers of folks served, but lots of airline staff, always a good sign.

Room Tip: My room was higher and looked onto an inner courtyard, which was fine for some sky and quiet [see be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your nice comments; we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and welcome you to stay with us again!
Best regards
Miisa
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have read the recent reviews and the hotel responses.
I would not recommend this hotel and would not return to this one.
We stayed in one of the newly refurbished comfort rooms. Tiny. Stuffy. Odd combination of old and new. Seventh floor which is significant to note due to the activities going on above in the eighth floor ( youth Physical activities eg basketball practice which ends at 9 pm). It really is unfair not to mention this noise problem. There are different rooms with different rates. So check carefully! The wifi was rubbish. The breakfast was adequate but nothing exciting. The whole experience was the same. A great pity for such a stunning city and wonderful country. This hotel really cannot possible be anything above 2 stars and let's down this proud distinctive nation. The staff were very nice as is the Finnish way not anything to do with Arthur hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muchado55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Myyntipäällikkö at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your feedbac. Sorry to hear that you didn´t like our rooms or hotel. It is true that sometimes there is some noice coming from the basketball hall but fortunately very rarely. Actually we don´t have any schedules given to us when the practices are going on.
Wishing you a nice autumn.
Miisa
Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
632 reviews
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#42 of 66 in Helsinki
329 reviews
Hotel Rantapuisto
#30 of 66 in Helsinki
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anna Hotel
#31 of 66 in Helsinki
362 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#22 of 66 in Helsinki
2,404 reviews
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#41 of 66 in Helsinki
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: £66 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing