We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique cliffside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unique cliffside hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

First class Hilton, not your typical North American Hilton. Lovely setting right on the sea, great restaurant and try to get a table on the terrace if you can. September weather was balmy but cool in the evening so take a wrap, but enjoy the long daylight. Rooms in the seaside building are built down the cliff face, so from ground level you take an elevator DOWN to your room and the rooms are wonderful. Full wall of window to the sea. While it may seem out of the way, that is great in my book and only an 8 minute cab ride downtown. Too bad the only place available to sit outside, besides the restaurant is a few tables set up at the front door, at least I was able to have a pot of tea out there in the sunshine.

Room Tip: Seaside building all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    423
    102
    24
    7
See reviews for
184
292
82
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Kalastajatorppa is my hotel of choice whenever visiting Helsinki. It is suitated perfectly, being close to the city but not on top of it, but conveniently close to the tram lines. It is also on the right side of Helsinki for convenient access to businesses in Espoo.

This hotel as located in a woodland situ, with beautiful views over lakes west of the center. There is a real feeling of history to this place, during the cold war it was used as a neutral place for meetings between the US and the USSR. In the foyer, there are pictures of some of the previous guests, including Reagan, Gorbachev, Clinton, George HW Bush and Putin, as well as prominent Finnish dignitaries.

It may not be the most modern of hotels, but rooms are setup well. Premium rooms are located in a seperate annex with stunning views across the lake, and standard rooms have balconies. Rooms are clean and well serviced.

One of the highlights for me is the quality of food. Room service and restaurant food is top quality. The steak that I ordered was among the best I have tasted anywhere!

Internet access is provided free of charge (just ask reception for a code), and a taxi rank is located outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stays with us and that you find it to suit your needs while visiting Helsinki. We are proud of the extensive history of the hotel and glad that you have taken an interest in the different events that have taken place here over the years. Still it is important to stay up to date with modern standards and we are glad to hear that you find our rooms to be set up well. Thank you also for your glowing review of our restaurant, your positive comments have been forwarded to the approporiate department.

Thank you for staying with us while visiting Helsinki and we look forward to your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Good for people who have a car as it is 8km out of centre with one team connection. Very quiet resort style plenty of gardens and walks. Room good size and clean. Breakfast was too busy with staff not keeping up with cleaning tables and many breakfast items empty!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review about your stay!

We are glad to hear you had a nice time with us and that you enjoyed the location. Thank you also for your feedback about the breakfast, your comments are very valuable to us and have been forwarded to the right department for review.

We appreciate your stay with us and hope you will visit us again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

then you've found it. When travelling to Helsinki this is the first hotel I check. The location is great, just by a large lake and from many of the rooms you can actually see the sun set over the lake. The rooms are medium sized and silent, they are equipped with a comfy bed, tv, mini bar etc. The breakfast is good and the service great. Can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenOlesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here for a friends wedding.

The hotel is in a decent location giving you good access to the city centre via a tram line which is 5 minutes walk away. Being less central it is also nice and peaceful with lovely walks around the nearby lake and the nearby Seurasaari Island. We were lucky enough to be here for the midsummer festival which was quite an experience!

The rooms at the hotel are a decent size and the beds are amongst the most comfortable I have come across. The hotel has a nice pool and a few saunas, al connected by 60's bond lair style subterranean tunnels.

One word of warning, if you are on a b&b tariff and fancy breakfast in bed they will charge you again. An eye watering 60 quid for me!

Helsinki is extortionately expensive all round to be honest so make sure you take lots of cash!

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We had a great time here, last summer. Our room was large, with a balcony. Breakfast was available from 7 and included some lovely national dishes as well as the usual international stuff. We only ate dinner at the hotel once and it was faultless. My husband was brave enough to have reindeer and really enjoyed it (it was the 'healthy' option). We enjoyed walking through the tunnel under the hotel each evening, to reach the lake.

We stayed for a week, wanting to try a new city and something different. Helsinki was a great choice. We loved Helskinki, although we would have probably struggled to entertain ourselves for a week in the city centre. However, staying out in the Hilton Kalastajatorppa (about 20 mins by tram) gave us other options, such as exploring the locality and using the hotel's rowing boat to go out on the lake, which was great fun. We really enjoyed using the hotel's huge sauna and then running outside for a dip in the lake with the geese! a bit rough and ready but very pleasant. We loved the outdoor museum near the hotel, which was free to walk around and had a lovely, quiet cafe in the middle.

The hotel was great, but as Finland is an expensive country for a Brit to visit, it's difficult to rate its value as excellent: definitely 'very good', however.

I would recommend the hotel to anybody looking to discover Helsinki and wanting to enjoy some of the natural Finnish countryside as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Nice room with part view of the sea. Easy to get into the centre by tram with the stop a 5 minutes walk away. Good breakfast.

Could have done with some tourist information in the room together with a "what's going on" newspaper. Unable to turn off air conditioning, however maintenance staff helped direct the air flow away from the bed. Their service was very prompt.

Do European travellers really want an ice machine on each hotel floor? A bottle of water in each room would be much better.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a King guest room plus and had a part sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilly278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaOhman, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay!

Great to hear you liked the room you were staying in and that the location was convenient for you. Thank you also for your comments about our maintenance, I am happy to hear that their service to you was completed in a timely fashion.

We appreciate your stay with us and hope you will visit us again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Daniela Öhman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa

Property: Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa
Address: Kalastajatorpantie 1, Helsinki 00330, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing