We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Location is good, close to restaurants and shopping, rooms are clean, they have a taxi stand outside and has all you need for a business trip. I have stayed here many times, always my first choice when traveling to Helsinki for work.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank nac06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Good strategic location!
Room is clean and neat with good housekeeping .
Front desk staff was not helpful when 2 group mates' bag was stolen at the lobby during checkin. They brushed it off with sweeping statement of O, it's very common & it's definitely not done by Finnish.
After check out, our luggages was stored in a room that do not require any form of record or tags to retrieve..
Not safe!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrstoheliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Location is everything you need :) Building promises a lot but like always in big company - there is no big surprises in...
Hotel is quite big and popular so it can take few minutes to sign in.Staff are firmly and ok. Rooms are quiet and clean but furniture are old and seems to be used too much. Breakfast was good, food is fresh and you can wake up with a coffeecup looking the cityview.

I would say that you get modern hotel with no surprises when choosing this option. Don't pay over 160e per night without thinking desinghotels nearby...

Room Tip: Ask for a marketview! Something to see and they are quieter also
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauli30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is beautiful and pleasant. Staff were quite helpful for general enquiries. Upon the first day of our group arrival, we were required to fill registration cards for the hotel. In a short while, 2 of our colleagues' bags were stolen. Passports and everything was gone. That was the act of a theft gang (couple) roaming around in the hotel lobby. Hotel need to step up on lobby security to identify suspicious persons and also prevent non-hotel guests to be roaming around in the lobby.

Nevertheless, hotel has good control over security for room access. Lift could only be activated with scanning of the room key. Hotel is connected to the shopping mall next door via basement. Hotel is situated in central location within walking distance to the Central Railway Station. One could easily acquire a transit to the airport and other cities. There are many shopping malls nearby. Also walking distance to some major attractions such as the Lutheran Church and even the Uspenski Cathedral and harbour for the Silja and Viking Terminals (if stroll is preferred over bus and tram rides).

Hotel rooms design were minimalistic and clean. We checked in twice throughout our journey. The room for my second check in was very small and cramp.

Breakfast spread was quite good with varieties. Good supply of fruits.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Nice hotel in the middle of Helsinki. Improved recently breakfast and lobby. Ageing starts to be visible in rooms. If you are using garage pls note that you are not able to drive out from garage earlier than 7 a.m.

Check in is often very busy but other vice lobby is pretty peaceful place. You may enter shop centers located next to hotel by corridor below.

Hotel is build late 90´s so you will not be disturbed by traffic noise.
Price use to be high.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stim-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed for one night in the middle of the week, booked only last-minute.

The hotel is nice and very conveniently located, the staff is friendly, breakfast standard for Scandic hotels, and the room a bit on a small side but clean and functional nevertheless. The hotel feels overpriced for what it is, though (we paid 185euro/night). So book early for better price and you'll be satisfied!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank president_kekkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The location can't be beat: it's close to the train station, museums, great restaurants (try Gaijin which is a 10 minute walk) and the absolutely fantastic design neighborhood that is a wonderful place to walk around. Rooms are very functional and basic; good outlet placement so you can work in bed plugged in, though the wifi should be faster but all in all it's comfortable. I liked the lounge area in the lobby, the breakfast is fine, sort of standard hotel buffet that caters to business travelers. The gym is small but well equipped with resistance machines, a treadmill, a rowing machine and a stationary bike (no elliptical, though.) A sauna is expected in Finland and it's utilitarian - it could have been a bit warmer and the opening hours are fairly short, odd since it's not staffed.

The reason for the 3 rating is the security seems fairly lax. I checked in in a big group and unbeknownst to us, there were thieves lurking in the lobby, working in tandem who made off with 2 people's stuff - they lost everything: money, passports, credit cards, phones, etc. The hotel didn't seem overly surprised by this and then when I checked out, I left my luggage in their storage room. I wasn't given any claim check or anything. I came back to get it that evening and the desk clerk pushed a button that opened the storage room down the hall. I could have just walked in off the street and said my luggage was there and the door would have been opened, equally, I could have walked off with somebody else's suitcase. They need a better system and a better sense that Helsinki has a crime problem. I would stay there again, but I would be extra vigilant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank extrapagespassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#34 of 64 in Helsinki
1,591 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
623 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#16 of 64 in Helsinki
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £91 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central Helsinki hotel has a fantastic location only a short walk from popular Helsinki attractions, great shopping and fabulous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing