We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mentone, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in Oct 2013.
Excellent location for visiting the city, just at a walking distance from the main touristic points. There is a street market in the plaza just behind the hotel, with artisan foods from many different countries. A variety of stores and restaurants in the vicinity.
Quiet room, well equipped with lots of power outlets, an iron machine with board (very rare in European hotels), nice bathroom. Internet worked well.
Excellent breakfast buffet. Excellent taxi service, that you can arrange the night before your departure.
Courteous and well trained front desk clerks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    718
    268
    53
    25
See reviews for
252
361
144
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Have just had my 3rd visit. Simply love the location, which is right at the center of everything. Everything fully lives up to my expecations in the hotel. One particular thing to highlight could be the Wifi connections. I am a seasoned traveller, and I have had many negative experiences with complicated setups. Not at this hotel though, you simply connect and you may surf. No need to re-enter passwords, room number, last name or anything. Breakfast was nice, lots of variety. I will definitely love to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The room we had was quite basic, but very nice. A bit small though.
It was in the 1st floor, facing the road, but we weren't interrupted by the noise.
The hotel is in a good overall condition.
We were in the hotel's sauna and gym, which were both very nice, quiet and in a good condition.
The breakfast was REALLY great, with a very diversified menu and high quality food.
The location of it is really good, as there's a tram stop just outside the hotel's door. The central station is also just a few minutes walk, and there's a shopping mall, restaurant and bars just around the corner.
We were very satisfied with this hotel, especially considering the low price (in comparison with Helsinki...). We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Da Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapelle, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

this hotel in the centre of Helsinki is quite new and has a contemporary styling. Rooms were neat and clean and I loved the Scandinavian look. Breakfast was one of the best I ever had, so much choice that I felt sorry that I could not enjoy more. Unfortunately the bar doesn't open until 5 o'clock, what is quite odd from my point of view. I thought this hotel quite expensive per night, but aren't all hotels in Helsinki priced like castles.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the road, but noise didn't hinder my night's rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollola, Finland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Even if this hotel has been in use already in 14 years it stands for good Finnish design and quality. We got the room in 6th floor with the view towards Kamppi, the House of the Parliament and we could even see the amusement park Linnanmäki. The room was bright, spacious and tidy. Extra points were given to the bathroom with many practical solutions.

The only minus was the pillow. It was like a pile of rags. It is time to change them.

The breakfast was quite good. It is better to go there early or just before the closing time. We went about 9:30 and it was very crowdy.

Location is fantastic whatever you like to do in Helsinki.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel does the job, but not more.

Pros:
- Great location
- Good value for money for central Helsinki

Cons:
- Not possible to borrow bikes (even if it's stated on their webpage)
- Small beds/rooms
- Not convivial or friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piloubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Functional rather than luxurious. Rooms are small but clean - cjeck in took to long. Breakfast good but we weren't able to find a decent place in the hotel for a beer and a snack - so we went to Harry's Bar just across he square which was great.

Not great value for money - but then nothing much in Finland is.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#31 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Property: Scandic Simonkentta
Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing