We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minimalist, but bed was comfy enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Minimalist, but bed was comfy enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Hotel is very much a business hotel, usefully sited downtown. Room was very minimal, and a bit tired, but sleep quality was acceptable. Relatively good soundproofing. Breakfast is buffet, good selection of hot and cold items, breads, pastries, fruit, hot oatmeal etc. Pretty busy though, looked like peak time is about 7.30am.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    718
    268
    53
    25
See reviews for
252
360
144
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed five nights at the hotel on a business trip. I had stayed at the hotel more than ten years ago and was afraid that the place would look worn out. I was luckily wrong. It is still in good condition and I like the Nordic functional interior design of the hotel. Breakfast buffet is good apart from the fact that they only served whole unpeeled fruit. Who has time in the morning to start peeling and slicing a pineapple, for example! The other negative comment relates to the sauna. They close it already at 8.30 pm! Otherwise I was content with my stay and if the two faults I found do not bother you, go for it. :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasteLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very centrally located. Has good breakfast and good services. Also a nice restaurant with reasonable price. Next door to shopping centers!

It was Christmas period when I visited, hotel was quite full but still rather pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_Tse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Scandic Simonkenttä has a good price and quality relationship. The location is perfect and hotel has a nice bar with a view to central Helsinki. Rooms are just basic but clean and have wooden floor. Service is efficient and unfortunately a little distant.

The breakfast buffet did not meet up to the same standard, selection was cheap. The view saved allthough a lot.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aukusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed in Simonkentta for a weekend and really enjoyed it. The hotel has great location: you can walk there from the train station in 5 min, but the area is already calmer that just around the station.

We chose a room with private sauna and it turned out to be a delightful experience. The sauna is easy to operate and heats up in less that 30 min. Besides, the room was located on the upper floor and the sauna had a window, so you can enjoy warmth and the view on city lights at the same time... It was a perfect final of every day in winter Helsinki.

The room itself was modern and clean, although not spotless: small stains on the carpet, everything else OK.

Nothing bad to say about breakfast. Good selection, both cold and warm, including a few typical Finnish things like smoked fish, rye and rice pies, berry soup (tasty alternative to packaged juices which I personally don't like =)

Tip 1. If you book your room on Scandic site 28 or more days before arrival and prepay, you have much better price. We paid 137 euro per night. I checked the price for our dates a few days before our arrival, and then it was 200 euro.

Tip 2: We had a kettle, bathrobes and slippers in our room but not all room type include them. All the amenities for each room type are listed on Scandic site, so look it up if this is important for you.

Room Tip: We had a room with private sauna and never regretted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariiaBorisova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

No one on reception when I arrived. Air con you cannot turn off so you have a constant hum all night. Beds with thin top mattresses which aren't comfortable. Uninspiring decor in room and hotel in general. Bathroom looked like it should have been in a hospital. Breakfast average but room was too overcrowded. Service not that friendly. Won't stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel during the Travel Fair Matka in Helsinki in January 2014.

I was met by friendly people behind the reception who told me that I would have to pay another € 20,00 per night if I wanted a room with a bath tub. This was a so called superior room, but for the rest there was nothing superior about it. There was a mini bar, two soft single beds, a tiny desk and a small bathroom. Everything OK, but absolutely no feeling of luxury.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjurontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#30 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Property: Scandic Simonkentta
Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing