We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Simonkentta
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is normal, maybe average. The weather was very warm, so the room was hot in the night. The room were we stayed is opposite the entrance of the hotel, second floor but quiet. The staff was polite and friendly excluding the staff in the restaurant during dining. Maybe they were too busy.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south and west are quiter (?)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tuula_R451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Simonkentta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the place to be if you want to experience Helsinki, location is perhaps the best you can get, the hotel is good, friendly staff, good atmosphere, price ratio is book at a saturday and in good time, so you get the best price, you are close to publlic transportation which is really good to use going around the city (trams), I can highly recommend this.

Room Tip: Get on the 4th floor and up
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Flemming M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for a recent wedding - when we arrived (12:30am) we were told that they only had smoking rooms left - we protested that as an asthma sufferer this wasnt going to be a good nights sleep - the staff placed us in a triple bed room - which really should have been the first option as no one was coming after us to check in at 12:30am. My brother however wasnt as lucky and he and his partner had to be moved to a sister hotel.

Room wise - if your room faces towards the Kampii Centre be sure to avail of the black out blinds as there is one "time square - esque" tv screen that flashes all night long. If your room is on the front of hotel - the Vatican night club will keep up awake until 4am.

Location wise - hotel is in the centre of helsinki, 5 minute walk from the port and the Esplande. Breakfast in the morning is all you can eat.

Room Tip: Room wise - if your room faces towards the Kampii Centre be sure to avail of the black out blinds as...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eire_NiMhurchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The rooms are the size of clown cars. The bathroom and floors were NEVER cleaned during our 7 day stay. The hotel refused to turn on the air conditioning when the temperature outside was 87 degrees F with humidity. Therefore, we had to keep the windows open all night to the city sounds. People parties outside all night long. Buses, trains etc....got very little sleep. Breakfast was ok but I saw many people use their hand to pick out bread, cheese, and pastries so I didn't eat breakfast. Staff tried to be helpful but there were not enough fans for all the rooms. I don't usually stay at hotels like this but we were with a hockey team. My suggestions, TURN ON THE AIR-CONDITIONING! And clean the floors......

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_American_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just a short walk and you are in the shopping district of Helsinki. We think there are some good restaurants close by but as it was Mid Summer holiday, and a Sunday, nothing much was open in the evening. The room was quite small but sufficient and clean. I found the staff at the front desk to be helpful but my travelling companions don't agree as the staff didn't seem to be concerned about helping them to find a place to eat dinner. Even the restaurant in the hotel was closed. It was suggested to them to take a snack from what was on sale in the lobby snack stand - potato chips for dinner. Luckily the buffet breakfast was very good with lots of choice in abundance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It is very proud of its green credentials - masses of wood in the decor, even the room keys are laminated wood. You have separate your rubbish into paper, vegetable and ordinary grot. The bathroom bin is lined with a brown paper bag.

Downsides - no aircon on the hottest day for 50 years. I think it got to 28/29 C. No tea and coffee making. Upsides - iron and ironing board and a real fridge that you could chuck the minibar goods out of and chill your own water etc. Bathroom was more of a minimalist wetroom, so I was back to a flannel wash as I detest showers.

Breakfast was fine. There was a concession to those of us who can't eat wheat or gluten - rice cakes. I am sure out there there are some people who enjoy chewing polystyrene but I am not one of them. Most gluten free bread substitutzes are to be honest horrid, and a breakfast a bit of fried potatoe with the bacon and egg fills the carbohydrate gap.
The hotel is very peaceful, syet it sits above and in the middle of one of the largest. shopping areas I have ever seen

Apart from being a bit overwarm we slept well

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moira54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Simonkenttä is centrally located next to Kamppi's shopping mall, subway and bus stations, and tram stop. The main railway station isn't far away.

Check in was quite efficient and our kids were nicely paid attention to. Our room was clean but quite average and pretty small for four of us, even though it was some kind of family room.

We enjoyed the breakfast which was quite versatile. The sauna was alright.

The room rate was expensive but that's how it is in Finland, you just have to suck it up :)

This was our 2nd time in Simonkenttä and I could stay once more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papaija2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#34 of 64 in Helsinki
1,557 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
614 reviews
Hotel Helka
#13 of 64 in Helsinki
1,118 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Simonkentta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Simonkentta

Address: Simonkatu 9, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £96 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Simonkentta 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central Helsinki hotel has a fantastic location only a short walk from popular Helsinki attractions, great shopping and fabulous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Simonkentta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Simonkentta Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Scandic Simonkentta Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Scandic Simonkentta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing