We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Ranked #33 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Renovation”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The hotel was under renovation and very few things worked as it should, and besides that the hotel really needed a renovation very worn , but besides that I got a good room but with a lot of noise and lights from the streets outside the railway station..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    260
    126
    48
    14
See reviews for
82
216
73
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I booked Hotel Seurahuone for my Nordic Travel trade trip. As a hotelier myself I like to experience and compare different hotels in different countries/ cities.
Hotel website is nicely done and that is very misleading, hotel is nothing like the website. Very centrally located but that is the only benefit.
No room service, no bar or restaurant closed due to refurbishment – no info about the closure or room service on their website…
Rooms very basic, very dates furniture and bathroom need urgently renovation, poor toiletries as squeezed soap and shampoo reminds more of public toilet rather than a hotel room.
Very poor breakfast served in of the meeting rooms with no choice of continental cold meats, badly made scramble eggs; no choice of yogurts instead a big bowl of yogurt where everyone can help itself remind more a staff canteen rather than ‘ high class business hotel’ how they like describe themselves.
No WIFI internet so if someone is working on IPAD no chance can work in the evening.
Overall very disappointing stay, surely will not be back and definitely will not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vehmas, Manager at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Sofia M,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry for all the issues you had during your stay at the Hotel Seurahuone. We greatly appreciate your feedback, given as a hotelier yourself. This gives us an opportunity to improve our products, services and guest satisfaction. I’m also sorry that we failed to let you know about the renovation properly in advance. We have tried to tell all the guests about it when they make the reservation or in the booking channels. Your feedback tells us we should do this task better and we have already made several updates. Due to the renovation the restaurant is closed, which unfortunately also means room service is not available. The buffet breakfast is served at a banquet floor, but the content of it is as ample as it is normally. The restaurant will reopen in the beginning of March with a new style and looks.
In our hotel we have complimentary wired high-speed internet available in all guest rooms. Wireless internet connection is also available, with a small fee. While I understand that your stay was not satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
With best regards,
Timo Vehmas
Brand manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I expected much less from this hotel that is not part of a very big and esteemed chain. Although the beautiful building is old and the decoration is not the most recent, it has a friendly and welcoming charm. The location is excellent opposite to the railway station, Sokos, Elielinaukio, Forum and the Finnair city bus. And the woman who was working at the reception was so genuinely friendly and professionally helpful that it really made me feel so much more welcome than in any esteemed 4 or 5 star hotel where everything is kind of clinical.

The breakfast was not quite as good as in an excellent hotel but it was still ok, with the exception of the spelt porridge cooked over night, which was excellent. All in all it is a bit cheaper, with less rich guests, but everything is still neat and clean and a little bit more personal and ordinary but with an enduring charm. Even the single room was quite spacious and with a wider bed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uneton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

A comfortable, well appointed hotel conveniently located opposite the railway station and close enough to the city centre to sightsee it all. The excellent value airport bus terminus is next to the station as an extra bonus. The hotel has a very attractive old world look internally and the excellent breakfast is taken in a splendid ballroom! The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable and willing to assist. The rooms are comfortable and offer all the necessary facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwilym_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

One of Hotel Seurahuone's key advantage is its location. The Central Station is just across the road, tram stop just in front and the airport bus stand is 4 mins' walk. And Helsinki's main attractions and shopping areas are within walking distance.
The hotel is retro/classic in style, stately and majestic settings mainly in black & gold. Breakfast is plentiful with good choice of smoked meats, fruits, drinks, cereals, nuts ,etc.
We stayed in a standard double room - basic but clean with sufficient space for 2.
I recommend you request for a room facing the courtyard as those facing the main road are noisy throughout the day/night.
Request that they do not place you in a room which requires you to take some steps to/from the lift-inconvient especially if you have many bags, kids & old folks in toll. You should also bring along with you evidence of pre-paid reservations or otherwise. Miscommunication may happen.

Room Tip: Request for room facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 169usj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The hotel is located in a very good location, almost in front of the train station and walking distance to the harbor and the fancy Esplanade street. The hotel is very old but not in a bad way... it reminds you of luxury and ball rooms. The bar is nice and the breakfast is very good.
The bedrooms are confortable, although the bathroom in my room was really tiny. Thank God there are no carpets.
The internet wifi was on the daily basis, so each 24 hours I had to go to the reception to get another token. That was a bit annoying. But if you have a cable, the wired internet is there all the time.
The only thing that I wasn't completely happy was that it doesn't have a fitness room. You can use the sauna in the Holliday In across the square, but I wish it had a fitness room with bikes or treadmills.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinhasL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#40 of 65 in Helsinki
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#19 of 65 in Helsinki
589 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#32 of 65 in Helsinki
1,422 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki

Property: Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
Address: Kaivokatu 12, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki is a high class, tasteful business hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Historically over 170 years old Seurahuone is one of the most traditional hotels in Finland, and can be considered even internationally a state of the art hotel.Filled with a warm atmosphere Hotelli Seurahuone is a combination of the old time sophisticated spirit as well as modern high standard service. In addition to the individually appointed rooms the feeling of quality continues in the restaurant, the bar and the banquet floor.The hotel’s 118 accommodation rooms feature individual alternatives; Standard and Club room classes as well as four different, attractively furnished Junior Suites. Rooms are equipped and decorated in a way that successfully blends current trends and history. The beautiful furniture and surfaces are combined with wellfunctioning, up-to-date services. All rooms are equipped with, among others, a kettle and ironing point, wi-fi, a flatscreen TV, and the Pillow Menu guaranteeing a good night’s sleep.The roof and the attic renovation, as well as the renovation of the courtyard façade and window switching will be carried out in the property during the dec 2013 - Dec 2014. These works are aimed to be done as customer friendly as possible, but may cause some inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing