We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. The interior of the hotel is impressive and you would think the service will be the same...well, it was full of surprises during my stay. At the check-in I wanted to opt for a room in the old wing, they informed me that it will cost me extra 10 EUR per night. So I kept the room in the new wing which is bit of a walk from the reception especially if you are with luggage. The room was tiny and compact, hardly any space for suitcases and clothes. The "wardrobe" takes about 4 hangers but then you cannot close the door properly. You cannot put your suitcase anywhere but the bed when you want to pack / unpack it. Despite all these problems I liked the room with it's modern and simple design. They tidy the room daily and you'll get fresh towels as well. The breakfast is very good, but with the same choice it gets a bit boring after day 3. The WiFi is free in the entire hotel, but do not expect any miracles. Only the basic WiFi is free and it has the speed of the 1990's modem connections. If you want to have something quicker then you have to pay 2-5 EUR per day. I also wanted to use the sauna (we are in Finland, aren't we?) only to find out that it costs 18 EUR and you have to book it 2 hours in advance. The location of the hotel is reasonably good, about 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre / esplanade / train station. Staff is helpful with directions and other things. All in all a pleasant stay however not a very good value for money as you have to pay extra for many things normally included in the price elsewhere.

Room Tip: Not much to choose from in the new wing, I believe rooms are OK on the higher floors as they are ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    671
    213
    61
    22
See reviews for
171
635
133
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

On first impressions Wow - this hotel looks stunning! From the outside it looks like a medievil castle and the inside is very modern scandinavian design - gorgeous. We are a same sex couple and had some strange looks when we checked in and were even asked if we would like to be booked into sepperate rooms as it looked like there had been a mistake on the system and we were booked into a double room. Quite embarrassing to then explain to the front desk staff that we were a couple :/ We were soon given a key and told of instructions etc and walked to our room.

We stayed in a double ensuite room which looked pretty & had a heated floor (much needed in -8 degrees :)) but the room was very very small. The bed did come with a remote and you could move the bed up and down to suit your desired angle but if you like more than a waifer thin pillow bring your own to sleep with as the pillows were tiny and very soft and flat. The room had a flat screen TV with local cable and the room had free wifi however; there were no tea and coffee facilities. The power shower amazing!

The view was rubbish (facing a gym down a dark back street) and I felt that it was a shame the hotel wasnt located somewhere else like at the beautiful water front within the city as the outside of the hotel looked beautiful and the city back streets didn't do the hotel justice.

Breakfast was nice, served in a buffet style with lots of choice. No fry up as was a continental style cold buffet but there was warm scrabbeled eggs and porridge. The cold meat served is rain deer (i found this to be quite common in Finland) which tasted very nice but there are no labels on the food so be warned if you dont want to eat raindeer for breakfast it is the dark red meat :) We did not eat lunch/dinner at the restaurant as we went out.

The hotel was close to local ammenities/bars and the staff were very helpful in giving directions to town (town was a good 20-30min walk away) or advising on the best way to travel around town (by tram)

All in all the hotel looked pretty impressive but very pricy for the tiny rooms, if I were to return to Finland I would stay in a hotel closer to the water front and right in the heart of the city and get a bit more for my money.

Room Tip: The rooms are stunninly beautiful but very very small. Heated floor is deffinately a plus tho :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Psylola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed just one night at the Glo Art Hotel. The staff were excellent, very friendly and efficient. They have a cute little bar right off the registration desk and the breakfast room is down stairs. Many others comment on the layout but it was perfectly fine and the layout was easy to follow once you figured out how and when to use your room card. The room was an OK size; the bed was very comfortable; and the amenities were great. The breakfast was more than satisfying, everything was delicious and there was a huge variety to choose from.

When we checked out we asked if we could check our bags in for the day as we were returning from Tallin and we had several hours in Helsinki before catching out train. We were delighted when we heard they'd be happy to!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. There are a couple of restaurants within a block or you can walk to the harbour front / market area in 15 minutes. There was also a flea market in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

When I arrived there the first time, there were works going on at the entrance, so the reception was a worksite and the improvised reception was quite small, but still they had a swift and professional service. The room was very nice, Design with the big D, but also accommodating enough for a traveller, with a nice desk, a big bed with an excellent mattrass, a lounge chair, and then a most peculiar bathroom, it's like a corridor with at one side a giant mirror and the wash bassins, and then in the back, the shower. Big space! And quite relaxing actually, I loved it.
We didn't use any other of the hotel's services as it was under contruction, but I passed it again a couple of weeks ago, and although I didn't stay there I saw the reception is now really a nice place to go. I would definitely go there again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liteworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay in this very impressive hotel. Staff very helpful. Rooms impressive. Food excellent. Highly recommend this hotel.
The hotel is situated in a area with small boutique shops. With budget restaurants and fine dining in easy reach. So Carers for most budgets. The hotel is kept clean with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was a really good choice of hotel for an overnight stay in Helsinki. My wife and I flew in fairly late to Helsinki Vantaa airport, took the penultimate bus to the city centre and walked to the Glo Art Hotel from the bus terminus. Armed with a really helpful response to an email enquiry we were confident our late arrival would not be a problem. We were warmly welcomed. As one who has real difficulty getting to sleep first night away I needn't have worried, the bed was so comfortable I was delighted to be in slumberland within moments. Next morning, going down to breakfast, I could take in the peculiar architecture at the front of the hotel, with very modern rooms behind. Very interesting. Breakfast was buffet, varied and very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 397Weights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear 397Weights,

Thank you for the review and your kind words. We are extremely happy that you felt you did the right decision when choosing your home in Helsinki. We are also delighted to read that the architecture and design draw your attention. When planning the style of GLO Art, a team of interior designers wanted to create this interesting dialogue of old and new by using the latest furniture and lightning techniques inside the unique and historical property.

Looking forward to have you back in Helsinki!

Behalf of GLOteam,
Enni Asikainen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Tyne and Wear, England
Level Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here for a week to attend our friends' daughter's wedding which was in the hotel. Everything was simply perfect. From arrival and checking in, to the wedding itself and the staff were all so friendly.
The location is a little away from the Stockman's on the main street but only about a 10 minute stroll to the Esplanade and a little further to the harbour but this makes it a great place to stay as it is a quiet area but loads around it.
The room we had was lovely, roomy enough for 2 people for 7 nights. The glass door and frame to the showering facilities was a little odd initially but it didn't bother us.
Our room overlooked the central courtyard which meant it was very quiet and the curtains provided sufficient darkness to aid sleep.
The standard of cleanliness was great and we had clean towels every day. The sheets etc can be changed as frequently as you wish if you leave the small card on top of the bedding.
Breakfasts........ well what can I say? Fantastic choice, great coffee and orange juice. Plenty of scrambled eggs, sausages, hams, cheeses, breads (many varieties), pickled herrings, muesili, yoghurts, jams, croissants, boiled eggs, fresh fruit. You could easily fill up and last for hours on what's on offer. Some people have commented you had to pay for eggs and bacon, yes this is true but to be honest there's so many other delicious things to eat why would you buy a fried egg or slice of bacon? It's not an English breakfast on offer .......the hotel's in Finland!
The only down side about the room is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities. However, my Finnish friend told me that this is very common in Finland. There is a vending machine on floor 3 where you can get a coffee for 1 euro which is handy and the coffee was very nice.

The wedding was a small and intimate affair but the hotel made the ceremony feel unique and very special.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 609 in the main block. A little awkward to get to with luggage, you take one lift to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol&Gerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing